We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown
Ranked #62 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

This is a very comfortable Marriott property located in SOMA, close to the Financial District and many tourist sites. The rooms are large and and my room on the seventh floor had a very nice view of the city. The staff are very professional and courteous. It's more expensive than Courtyard properties in many other cities, but hey, this is San Francisco!

Oh, don't eat breakfast there - it's an extra $18.95. You have a Starbucks just off the lobby as well as several restaurants around the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aru90015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your kind reveiw. I'm so glad you enjoyed our location! We have the best of both worlds...only a couple of blocks from all the great San Francisco attactions but with a neighborhood feel. I'm so glad you were able to enjoy the City. Please come visit us again soon! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,015 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    496
    160
    29
    15
See reviews for
255
178
66
370
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norcal
Level Contributor
333 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2013

Booked a room at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown for my stay during a meeting in August of this year. It is a short two or three block walk to the Moscone South Convention Center and convenient to many South of Market (SOMA) restaurants and attractions.
The room was clean, quiet and convenient. The bed was very comfortable and I had a restful sleep for the two nights that I was there.
I made my reservation to include their valet parking.... a pretty good deal, considering the normal costs of parking in San Francisco. The valet attendants were quick.
The front desk was friendly and efficient.
There is a Starbucks in the lobby to help get your day going, if you need it....
I will seriously consider this property if I should need to stay in The City again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lwj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am thrilled our location, close to Moscone Convention Center, worked well for you! Thanks, also for your kind feedback on our hotel amenities and service. We look forward to seeing you again soon! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel is located just of Market Street which is a main shopping area with great transport links.It is just a short walk up Second St to the hotel.Lovely big reception area with comfortable seating areas,a Starbucks and a small shop for snacks and souveniers.We like to not eat breakfast in hotels and instead to eat out and explore the area,so cannot rate the hotel breakfast.The rooms are big and had two huge beds.(Also a comfy armchair and footstool.)Good shower and large bath. The hotel staff were helpful and pleasant,with free maps and comp newspapers each day.There is also a stylish bar area.We were on 18th floor which had good views.We made use of the utility room having stayed in Marriot Hotels previously.We found great places to eat nearby each evening although there is a good bus service on 2nd St to venture further afield.There is an underground stop at bottom of street also,for Bart train to Airport or just for M.U.N.I underground.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the views from the top floor (18th) and the fact the hotel is on a hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lorac45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thanks so much for your recent review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. I agree, we have some great dining options both in the hotel and very nearby. Good for you that you got out to enjoy our city! Please let me know if I can be of any help for future stays at our hotel. Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
1,667 reviews
270 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 675 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for the first time. I've stayed at nearly every Marriott property in the city and this one is just average. There is nothing wrong with it, its just not a stand out. Its your typical Courtyard. The rooms are a bit sparse and showing some age but it was clean and comfortable. Valet was quick. Breakfast was good. Rates seemed a bit high. You can stay at other full service Marriott properties for the same or a bit more.

Room Tip: 18th floor is the top. Get a city view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I am happy to hear you found your room accommodations very comfortable and clean. I will also pass along your kind comments to our Valet staff. I know Downtown San Francisco prices can discourage travelers. Please know we are making every effort to keep our hotel up to date and competitive within this market. Again, many thanks for taking the time to send us your review! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I took a last minute weekend trip to San Fran to catch the Diamondbacks play the Giants. The hotel is excellent with great service and a shuttle to the airport for only $16 a person. It is centrally located so if you don't mind walking, you can get to most places fairly easily. Don't forget about the hills though! We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeatherK1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review! Having lived in downtown San Francisco for 10 years I still have to watch out for the hills! Again, many thanks for taking the time to send us your review! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jchua143
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Conveniently located in the Financial District. Close enough to the pier, At&t ballpark and walking distance to Union Square, which is the prime place to go for pictures and sites. Downfall to this hotel is that on the weekends many of the surrounding restaurants are closed since the offices are closed.

The room was very clean with all the necessities. Couch for sitting, desk area, flat screen tv, king sized bed, hairdryer and nice toiletries. However, I think that it needs to be updated a bit, possibly a vanity mirror on the desk. But overall great experience. Starbucks located in the lobby and hotel key entry after dark.

Room Tip: view of the bay bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jchua143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location to all the wonderful sites of San Francisco. We look forward to having you as our guest again! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington, New Mexico
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this particular hotel to be close to the AT&T park to attend a Giants game. From the time we stepped into the hotel and checked out three days later...we were happy. We would stay again in a heartbeat! Great staff, rooms, breakfasts. It is clean, friendly and walking distance (trolley) to everything! Perfect!

Room Tip: Enjoy your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chile4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
I was thrilled to read your very kind review of our hotel! I am very happy you enjoyed your 3 day stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to San Francisco! Until then...Go Giants! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#33 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,549 reviews
SoMa
W San Francisco
W San Francisco
#69 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#60 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,451 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#51 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,248 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Francisco Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Downtown

Property: Courtyard San Francisco Downtown
Address: 299 2nd St, San Francisco, CA 94105-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#72 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Francisco Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
San Francisco Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing