We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel in convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown
Ranked #64 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Hotel is located just of Market Street which is a main shopping area with great transport links.It is just a short walk up Second St to the hotel.Lovely big reception area with comfortable seating areas,a Starbucks and a small shop for snacks and souveniers.We like to not eat breakfast in hotels and instead to eat out and explore the area,so cannot rate the hotel breakfast.The rooms are big and had two huge beds.(Also a comfy armchair and footstool.)Good shower and large bath. The hotel staff were helpful and pleasant,with free maps and comp newspapers each day.There is also a stylish bar area.We were on 18th floor which had good views.We made use of the utility room having stayed in Marriot Hotels previously.We found great places to eat nearby each evening although there is a good bus service on 2nd St to venture further afield.There is an underground stop at bottom of street also,for Bart train to Airport or just for M.U.N.I underground.

Room Tip: We enjoyed the views from the top floor (18th) and the fact the hotel is on a hill
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorac45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2013

Thanks so much for your recent review. I'm so happy you enjoyed your visit with us and that you were able to take advantage of our convenient location. I agree, we have some great dining options both in the hotel and very nearby. Good for you that you got out to enjoy our city! Please let me know if I can be of any help for future stays at our hotel. Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,101 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

Stayed here for the first time. I've stayed at nearly every Marriott property in the city and this one is just average. There is nothing wrong with it, its just not a stand out. Its your typical Courtyard. The rooms are a bit sparse and showing some age but it was clean and comfortable. Valet was quick. Breakfast was good. Rates seemed a bit high. You can stay at other full service Marriott properties for the same or a bit more.

Room Tip: 18th floor is the top. Get a city view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucycan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for your kind review of our hotel. I am happy to hear you found your room accommodations very comfortable and clean. I will also pass along your kind comments to our Valet staff. I know Downtown San Francisco prices can discourage travelers. Please know we are making every effort to keep our hotel up to date and competitive within this market. Again, many thanks for taking the time to send us your review! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I took a last minute weekend trip to San Fran to catch the Diamondbacks play the Giants. The hotel is excellent with great service and a shuttle to the airport for only $16 a person. It is centrally located so if you don't mind walking, you can get to most places fairly easily. Don't forget about the hills though! We would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: The higher the room, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherK1023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for your kind review! Having lived in downtown San Francisco for 10 years I still have to watch out for the hills! Again, many thanks for taking the time to send us your review! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Conveniently located in the Financial District. Close enough to the pier, At&t ballpark and walking distance to Union Square, which is the prime place to go for pictures and sites. Downfall to this hotel is that on the weekends many of the surrounding restaurants are closed since the offices are closed.

The room was very clean with all the necessities. Couch for sitting, desk area, flat screen tv, king sized bed, hairdryer and nice toiletries. However, I think that it needs to be updated a bit, possibly a vanity mirror on the desk. But overall great experience. Starbucks located in the lobby and hotel key entry after dark.

Room Tip: view of the bay bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jchua143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review of our hotel. I am happy to hear you enjoyed our location to all the wonderful sites of San Francisco. We look forward to having you as our guest again! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at this particular hotel to be close to the AT&T park to attend a Giants game. From the time we stepped into the hotel and checked out three days later...we were happy. We would stay again in a heartbeat! Great staff, rooms, breakfasts. It is clean, friendly and walking distance (trolley) to everything! Perfect!

Room Tip: Enjoy your stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chile4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

I was thrilled to read your very kind review of our hotel! I am very happy you enjoyed your 3 day stay with us. We look forward to your next visit to San Francisco! Until then...Go Giants! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We only stayed one night, but had a great room with couch. The room was clean and well appointed and even though we were downtown, the hotel was quiet. It was also nice, but expensive, to have the valet parking service so we didn't have to worry about finding parking. Staff was courteous and helpful. We chose the location for its proximity to AT&T field.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of our hotel. I am happy our location close to AT&T Park was exactly what you were looking for. I will share your kind remarks about the quality of our hotel with my team. They will be thrilled! Debbie Bonafede, General Manager, 415-486-6401.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Perfect location to visit San Francisco. Nice staff; we arrived quite late and we got good advice on open restaurants in the surrounding.
The room was comfortable, big enough for four people and clean. Breakfast was not included but there is a Starbucks inside which is quite convenient.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frazag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie B, General Manager at Courtyard San Francisco Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2013

Thanks so much for your kind review! I was so happy to see that your enjoyed our location. San Francisco is such a wonderful city with so much to see and our hotel is certainly convenient to many of the more popular sites. Please be assured I will pass along your wonderful feedback on the service you received to the staff. Thanks again for taking time to give us your feedback! Sincerely, Debbie Bonafede, General Manager 415-486-6401

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#24 of 230 in San Francisco
5,904 reviews
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#62 of 230 in San Francisco
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,034 reviews
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
2,650 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard San Francisco Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard San Francisco Downtown

Address: 299 2nd St, San Francisco, CA 94105-3123
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#35 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#45 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#68 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $160 - $558 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Courtyard San Francisco Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 405
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard San Francisco Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard San Francisco Downtown Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Marriott
San Francisco Courtyard

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing