We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
da Vinci Villa
Ranked #117 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed September 23, 2013

This hotel is in a very good location and is within walking distance of many of the attractions of San Francisco. The hotel itself is clean and the staff friendly and attentive. The breakfast is good for an American hotel as we discovered in subsequent hotels we visited on our 3 week trip. Only gripe is there is no bar on the premises.

Room Tip: Front of hotel can be noisy with traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shay55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,072)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

639 - 645 of 1,072 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2013

We needed a place on short notice during a busy week in Francisco. The da Vinci had room, at a price higher that the room warranted at a less busy time.

Our room had no hot water. We complained and the maintenance man said it was because we were on the top floor and at the back so the boiler could not always get water all the way to the room. We complained and were moved to a larger room. It had water, but the lights in the room were barely adequate to read.

Location is good. A short walk to Fisherman's Wharf, and near the top of Lombard St.

The breakfast was free but very modest.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

On first arrival we were disappointed at the location as we thought it was in Fisherman's Wharf & it had the look of a hostel rather than a hotel which were expecting. Despite this it turned out to be a good base for the sight seeing that we went for. The room was basic but comfortable & the breakfast was good & plentiful.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I've spent three nights in the Da Vinci Villa during a family vacation through the US in August 2013. The hotel is within walking distance from the famous "Crooked" street (a segment of Lombard street) one of the most well-known sights of San Francisco and it is also pretty close to Fisherman's wharf. All the other attractions and neighborhoods (such as Castro or Mission) are easily reachable using public transportation. The hotel itself, at the time of our visit, was very clean, with spacious rooms and comfortable beds.
The structure is not very fancy, but if you're not looking for glamour and style (to be honest the Italian-looking paintings on the corridors' walls were kind of tacky), it's a perfect base to explore the city.
The breakfast was ok, but, during "rush hour" (around 8.30/9.00), expect to wait in line for a bit before being seated.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelFab86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

The two stars are for the appearance and location of the hotel which are great. The rest of our stay was a nightmare. Our room on the 5th floor (once they'd issued us with keys that worked) turned out to have a connecting door to another room where you could literally hear every word of the occupants, one of which was very loud. We asked for a change, which to their credit they did without fuss. The keys didn't work to this room either and needed reprogramming. At one point there was a hammering on the door with someone shouting 'security!' while I was sleeping. All he wanted was to hand a piece of info in. The restaurant which advertised lunch and dinner on their website, clearly hadn't done either for a long time; it did a buffet breakfast only. In the morning, for some reason yet again the keys didn't work and were reprogrammed. The standard continental breakfast would have been ok if there had been any plates, although the water for tea was stone cold. The staff were ok, but having become used to Canadian customer service, were comparatively curt. I certainly wouldn't go back.

Room Tip: avoid rooms with connecting doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MRandHF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Before we booked this hotel we had read many reviews about it with varying opinions. We decided to book anyway and are pleased we did. It was a great location, only 10 minutes walk from the waterfront. The staff were polite and helpful. Our room was a Junior suite which was large enough to accommodate our family of 5. Compared to other accommodation in San Francisco for a family it was good value. We didn't need air conditioning, it wasn't warm enough. Our room was overlooking the pool and was quiet. The breakfast was great with a variety of continental-style food including fresh fruit, yoghurt, pastries, cereals, bread and juice. The breakfast room was very busy at certain times but the staff were always refilling and replacing items as needed. We enjoyed our stay here and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our family of 5 were in a Junior Suite, room 325, which was big enough to accommodate us all. It is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

looking at the da Vinci VIllas from the outside you get the impression that you are in for a rather boring run down motel. Dont be fooled. Even the pathway's to the rooms are quite dated and deceiving but once inside your room things change.

Lovely bed with fluffy pillows and a great duvet/doona. Good facilities, great bathroom and once the pool closes at night dead quiet.

The location was amazing and I walked everywhere from there. Polk St one block up and plenty of restaurants and real shops to choose from.

Didnt have breakfast as the restaurant was full and there were queues

I loved it

Room Tip: Mine overlooked the pool and was noisy during the day but once the pool closed it was as quiet as.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank poohtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#93 of 230 in San Francisco
1,201 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cova Hotel
#98 of 230 in San Francisco
1,202 reviews
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Vertigo
#67 of 230 in San Francisco
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1609
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $120 - $410 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — da Vinci Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. We are a Non-Smoking and Non-Pet hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing