We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced and poorly located” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of da Vinci Villa

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
da Vinci Villa
Ranked #88 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poorly located”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Ended up here instead of down town during a conference in late 2012. Big mistake. The rooms are noisy and there is no security at all before your door. Not a good place for single travelers. Breakfast was pretty poor, unless you like baked goods. Would not stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ReluctantGeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

942 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    290
    332
    176
    92
    52
See reviews for
306
283
40
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 30, 2013

Had a really really good overall experience. The staff were very friendly, patient and helpful (cleaners, waiters, front desk).
The room are beautifully newly renovated, nice modern bathroom. Very comfortable beds.

Breakfast was fine, fruit salad (!!) and lots of breads and patisseries. The thing that was good is that you could order more off a menu such as eggs if you wanted too.
The place was clean, good location, near a street of great restaurants and cafes and only a 10min walk down to the wharf which is really pretty.

Staff were very helpful and attentive. When we arrived there was a miss understanding with the parking and they sorted it out straight away saying sorry and giving us free parking to make up for it.
Room noise however- we were on the 3rd floor and heard everything from the people in the room above us. However when we mentioned this to the front desk they switch our rooms straight away.

The rooms on the 5th floor have a great view of the water and the golden gate bridge.
The building itself is old, but didn't matter as the room was nice, and the suburb was nice. Even has a pool with nice new deck chairs!

For about $100 a night it was great!

Room Tip: Level 5 has a great view of the harbor and golden gate bridge, and as the top floor you wont hear no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZoeAmika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I lost my favoriate bag in the room, when I left San Francisco to Chicago, I never thought I could get it back, however, when I made the call to Ms Tam Mai, who works for the Davinci customer service department, everything settled in one day, she helped me find the bag, and sent it to Chicago, how nice she is, how thankful I am, how lovely the hotel is. The best choice when you are in San Francisco, the best place to stay!!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Titi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

Stayed there in September 2012 ad had an issue with the online company that we booked reservation. But then when they realised what we had ordered was not what they had down the guy on front desk bent over backwards to make it right.
The accommodation was great rooms were good and the pool was nice, very close to bus if you wanted to go into town or else where.
Also walking distance to fisherman's wharf and also Lombard street winding road.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Coopsp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

This hotel is horrible. It is a cheap motel that calls itself a Hotel. The rooms are too hot (83 degrees in January). The room smelled like mold and cheap industrial cleaning liquid. The staff is wierd and not friendly, The breakfast is a nightmare. Rude waiters with some rolls and coffee. One morning at 930 every table was dirty and there was no food at all on the table. They had my motorcycle towed from the lot because they didn't know it was mine. The tow lot said they would release it if the hotel wrote a letter. The hotel gave me a letter but the person who wrote it wouldn't sign it. When i got to the lot they said the letter was no good because no signature. When i had the hotel call the lot, the guy at the hotel said he didn't sign the paper (the guy that did left for the day) and the tow lot said I lied about staying there. When I went back to the hotel they tried to cover up what they did . When I said I would report it to the General Manager, the guy said he was going to call the police and report that my registration had expired. When I complained to the Gen Manager about the incident, including the blackmail threat, she offered me half off of one night. I never got my bike back because the tow lot wanted over $600 to get the bike. When I complained, the Hotel didn't care at all. they were doing construction in the stairwell so to get to the lobby you had to wait ten minutes to take an elevator down one floor. All other exits were alarmed, and they never bothered to open one up so guests didn't have to wait 10 minutes to go down one floor to leave the building. On top of everything else, the place is not even cheap. For the same money you can book a place at a much nicer hotel nearby. AVOID THIS DUMP AT ALL COSTS. IT IS A NIGHTMARE

Room Tip: A good room. Go to another hotel. It would be better to sleep in your cart. avoid this place at all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

First impressions were mixed - definitely not the three and a half stars hotwire listed it at but a brave attempt at being nice. Its basically a converted motel The room was pretty big and OK generally although the furniture was a little IKEA shabby... but when night came sleep was difficult. Not only did I hear all the street noise being in a room facing Van Vess, but the walls are paper thin and I had neighbors who either got up really really early or went to bed very late and I heard everything. The elevator was the slowest I've ever encountered. Although it was too cold to make use of it, the pool and deck area looked very nice. The breakfast buffet is just OK with its breads and muffins, but there was nice fresh fruit. I was preparing for the worst in the neighborhood but actually found it quite charming - lots of nice restaurants on Powell a block away including a great Thai place and a hip German bistro. It was a busy week in SF and hotels were scarce and expensive, so I should probably not mind this place given the reasonable comparative rate.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCfoodman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband and two sons (21 & 23) good value and a good area for the boys to explore at night. Only one Italian restaurant on site which also did buffet style breakfast. Perfectly adequate for our stay. Not the height of luxury but suited our needs!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JMac28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#106 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,097 reviews
Marina District
Lombard Motor Inn
Lombard Motor Inn
#78 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre h...
#32 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 996 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Nob Hill
Castle Inn
Castle Inn
#112 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Property: da Vinci Villa
Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1609
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — da Vinci Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. We are a Non-Smoking and Non-Pet hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing