We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT a luxury boutique hotel”
Review of da Vinci Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
da Vinci Villa
Ranked #105 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed August 20, 2011

I live in hotels nearly half of my life being in the travel industry. My employer pays for my hotels so I use it as an opportunity to find neat places that I would want to come back and visit on my own time and dollar. They claim that they are a luxury boutique hotel. That is far from the truth. It is an old building that has been slightly updated. They have their own parking area behind the hotel which is watched by a security guard. It seems that they spent most of the budget on the lobby to lure you in. The elevator was very old and creaky. The very first experience was my partner going to a empty room with just bunk beds and no linnin. Come to find out they house some of the Academy of the Arts kids here. The staff does not know which rooms are guest rooms and which rooms are student rooms. It appears to be more of a youth hostel than a hotel at this point. The room was painted solid white from top to bottom with no decor whatever to break it up. The picture on thier website does not accuratly depict the room. The room had decent carpet that seemed clean. The bed was newer and appeared to have come right from IKEA. The towels were clean as well as the tiny bathroom. The cheap vertical blinds were broken and had black paint spilled on them. The window was the original single pane that was very noisey. I had to have the TV on all night just to drown out the outside noise. Much more money should have been spent on the rooms in this place.
Our travel plans had changed and we had to check out early after one night stay. When I saw the bill they charged me for 2 nights. I asked about it and they said they had a 72 hour cancellation policy. The same girl I had talked to on the phone told me the policy is on their website. I told her I didn't book through the website-I called you directly and you never told me of this or I would have only booked one night. Then they just got quiet and would pay me no more attention. So be it- lesson learned. I have found that hotels with 72 hour cancellation policy's are either very high in demand or they know you will leave after one night. The latter appears to be true here. Thank you for reaffiming my loyalty to Hilton and Marriott brand hotels. There are so many better hotels in San Fran so don't waste your time or money here..

Room Tip: Bait & Switch with pictures online.
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pylot135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daVinciVilla, General Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience from your past stay with us. I understand your visit was a disappointment, and I would appreciate the opportunity of discussing this with you.

Please contact me at your convenience. I would like to fully understand what happened and how we may improve to earn your confidence in our hotel. My contact information is: mwinn@davincivilla.com or phone is (415) 529-2500.

Best regards,
Michaela Winn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,033)
There are newer reviews for da Vinci Villa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

802 - 808 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2011

Found a great place to stay this weekend. The Place is called the Da Vinci Villa… The service was wonderful. Everyone was friendly and always wanted to help. The charm of the place was the fact that they have a out door pool, and a souna.. (now where in San Francisco can you find that) like I said a Gem … They Hotel is also attached to a great Italian Restaurant. We had a fantastic breakfast.. Eggs benedit (yum) and my husband had Brioche French Toast.. (Stawberry butter) While the place is great, the Hotel is still under minor construction… It was a little noise.. but over all the exerience was a great one.. I can't wait till my next visit.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gary J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daVinciVilla, General Manager at da Vinci Villa, responded to this reviewResponded September 11, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review of our new property. We are happy to lean you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you in the future.
If I may be of assistance to you or your family and friends, please do contact me. My email is --------- or -------- ----.
Kind regards,
Michaela Winn
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank juanmitarey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lionello123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andros12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
Thank Ananthi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Théo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Marina District
Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Marina District
Comfort Inn by the Bay
Comfort Inn by the Bay
#97 of 230 in San Francisco
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to da Vinci Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about da Vinci Villa

Address: 2550 Van Ness Avenue, San Francisco, CA 94109-1609
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Russian Hill
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#66 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#69 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $154 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — da Vinci Villa 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find yourself in the center of San Francisco's most sought-after destinations at da Vinci Villa, an upscale San Francisco boutique hotel newly opened in Summer 2011. Ideally located between the Golden Gate Bridge and Fisherman's Wharf, da Vinci Villa is just a short walk to the area's most exquisite San Francisco dining, shopping and Fisherman's Wharf entertainment. We're also just around the corner from Russian Hill, Ghirardelli Square, Golden Gate Park, the ferry to Alcatraz Island, Pier 39 and the University of San Francisco. Whether you're in town for a weekend getaway, business meeting, family vacation or group trip, you'll love the luxuriously spacious San Francisco boutique hotel accommodations and competitive rates at our boutique hotel in San Francisco. We are a Non-Smoking and Non-Pet hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your da Vinci Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Da Vinci Villa Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing