We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Awesome art work

We took an Uber to and started at Balmy st. and 24th st. From there we just walked west down 24th... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
thebeetleman
,
Winnipeg, Canada
via mobile
The Street Art is just amazing in San Fran in general

We spend a day in the Mission district and hit carnival which was amazing.. the colour and flair... read more

Reviewed June 29, 2018
travellerm68
,
Brisbane, Australia
Read all 21 reviews
  
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
16 results
Traveler rating
7
8
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews street art mission district murals uber talented
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 16 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We took an Uber to and started at Balmy st. and 24th st. From there we just walked west down 24th st. We looked down each road and alley and were able to make it down 4 to 5 side streets. There are some shops and restaurants in the area. You could spend a full day down in this area looking at all the art work.

Thank thebeetleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2018

We spend a day in the Mission district and hit carnival which was amazing.. the colour and flair but along the way we were able to see the most amazing artworks lining the streets... you just have to go and look there are such talented people

Thank travellerm68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2018 via mobile

Beautiful street murals in the alley are well worth the stroll off the main streets. The color work tells stories of the areas history.

Thank meganite2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2018

this particular one is about the 24th street and Harrison.
I went to the one near 17th street which is an alley called Clarion. It was quite impressive. I reminded me of the murals at Bondi Beach, Sydney, AC-DC alley in Melbourne, and Callejon de Hamel in Havana, Cuba. There are a lot talent out there. I did not give a score of five because my vehicle was broken into. I would highly recommend using the BART to get to both of theses place and avoiding parking your vehicle in the area. But, you need to see the murals

Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2017 via mobile

Great mural street art with Balmy Alley definitely worth a visit...but caution...probably best to get an uber. Avoid the 27 bus which stops at the wrong end (Bryant St and 16th Street)!!

Thank Porkpie1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2016

California is chockful of great museums, full of celebrated art from all continents and eras. Want to try a different museum, an outdoor one? Check out San Francisco’s Mission District Murals. If you love art or just want to partake of culture, highly recommended.

Through several blocks (not just on and around the 24th and 25th, but also on the 17th and 18th), the alleys, walls, fences, doors and even homes and buildings, are covered with brilliant murals and graffiti art. All free of course. Most are colourful, with a sprinkling of works in black and white. Styles seem to be divided equally into abstract geometrics and realism. For the figurative art (subjects are recognizable), there are portraits (e.g., Frida Kahlo, Martin Luther King) as well as figures inspired by hispanic and native history, cartoons and fantasy. Most are eye-catching and many I really liked. Many carry political and social messages.

There are tour guides for hire, just google, or, on a sunny day, go on your own. Usual safety rules for busy cities apply. Lots of eating places around. Street parking available.

Thank nerlovestravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2015

Without the back ground it's difficult to make sense of the messages behind the murals. It's quite a shabby area, particularly 16th Misson.

Thank bramble40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2015

Looking for a bit of colour, controvery and coutner culture? Look no further. a stroll thorugh the Mission and its colourful murals will give old and young alike plent of food for thought and conversation. A great way to soak in the vibe - and the hsitory - of San Francisco

1  Thank OnthegokidintowO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2015

Be sure to see the murals before it's too late. The neighborhood is fast becoming gentrified. I felt totally safe and was never bothered by anyone.

Thank KillerB33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2015 via mobile

Love the art, love the colours, love the architecture, love the boutique shops, love the food. A perfect day to spend around walking in the city. Make sure you walk every street as some nice murals may just be hidden in some alley.

Thank Anchal21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews