We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Massive Beer selection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fat Angel

Fat Angel
Ranked #1,482 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Cuisines: Bar, American, Pub, Wine Bar
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
201 reviews
178 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Massive Beer selection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Excellent Beer selection, great selection of wines by the glass, some draft, Cheese, charcuterie, and chicken Pot pie, to name but a few. Just around the corner from State Bird, and a very good option if you don`t fancy the long wait for a table there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank upstairsforthinking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    1
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great beer and wine selection and solid food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Great place to stop for beer or wine if you are in the area. The food is solid as well. Service has been friendly and helpful in my experience. (Although this place does get pretty busy!)

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Somebody wrote good service?”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I thought the service was pretty aggressive as did the others in my party.
Good selection of beer/wine, good flatbread and average potpie.Really got the impression they just want us to move out as fast though, so it can't be a tapa/wine bar then.Aren't they suppose to create an ambience where you want to stay and hang and drink.I asked the waitess, a firery redhead who would cut the hind legs of donkey, what they have on tap and some suggestions, "check the menu" was the answer.Same with another waiter.
Couldn't actually talk/hear the group I was with, come to think of it couldn't hear my own thoughts until I went outside and we walked to Yoshi's lounge were we had a great waiter who had fun with us and created an enviornment where we wanted to actually stay and not pushing us out the door, as the long line of jackals where outside looking in at us.
If you want to wait in line at this place, be my guest.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jude-trang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Nice place, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

small wine/beer bar. They have a wide selection of beers and wine, including their own house wines, in barrels. Super friendly staff, they even came to ask how my dog was doing and brought water for her.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TainoTrails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant and lounge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

We visited Fat Angel by accident waiting to get into State Bird Provisions.
We had to wait an hour and a half for our table so we went looking for a place
to have a glass of wine while we waited. We sat at the bar at Fat Angel, and after
seeing all the food coming out of the kitchen we snacked on a Flatbread.
Very tasty food, reasonable prices for food and wine. Will visit there again for a meal.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank aebcpama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Angel also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Fat Angel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing