We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most vibrant San Francisco neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Mission District

Mission District
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.00*
and up
Mission District Culinary Experience with Alcohol Pairing
Ranked #76 of 527 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Berkeley, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The most vibrant San Francisco neighborhood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Uniquely San Francisco. Multi cultural, lively and authentic. Home to the best restaurants and bars in the city.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Erik S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    144
    58
    23
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Carlos
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Cultural Mecca”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

When going to the city one of my favorite areas is the Mission. It is very laid back and relaxed and has a lot of culture and diversity. We went here for the yearly Carnival festivities and had a great time! There are a lot of places to have brunch on the weekends. After brunch and a few mimosas you can walk over to Dolores Park and sprawl on the grass and people watch. BART drops you off right in the heart of it all as well which is convenient. Will be making another trip there soon!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank krstymsty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mission District”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Rich in history, amazing restaurants. For some people it may be a little overwhelming in that you will see the human condition i.e. addicts, yuppies, drunks, homeless, families etc. Can be a bit intimiding to some people.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank greenthumb25th
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Talk about diversity”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

From food to art to music to the people, this place has it all, night clubs day clubs street art, a mishmash of cultures, just open your mind and enjy

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cool area, new to me”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have been a visitor to San Fran numerous times , but I didn't even know this area existed until a local told me about it. Well first , it's far , not walking distance from the main touristy parts of the city. Second , the weather here is a world apart , normal summer weather, hot and sunny ! Really great. It's a funny , different , hip place to walk around. Some other people said there are druggies etc here , I walked a bit off the main area to take pictures and I did see some sketchy types . I am a middle aged lady on my own , and i didnt feel scared , i just got out of that area and went back to the main street . So just stay within the restaurant and shops section and have the number for a cab to pick you up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maddiehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission District also viewed

 

Been to Mission District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing