We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool area, new to me”
Review of Mission District

Mission District
Book In Advance
More Info
$102.00*
and up
Mission District Culinary Experience with Alcohol Pairing
Ranked #78 of 534 things to do in San Francisco
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: No
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Cool area, new to me”
Reviewed October 3, 2012

I have been a visitor to San Fran numerous times , but I didn't even know this area existed until a local told me about it. Well first , it's far , not walking distance from the main touristy parts of the city. Second , the weather here is a world apart , normal summer weather, hot and sunny ! Really great. It's a funny , different , hip place to walk around. Some other people said there are druggies etc here , I walked a bit off the main area to take pictures and I did see some sketchy types . I am a middle aged lady on my own , and i didnt feel scared , i just got out of that area and went back to the main street . So just stay within the restaurant and shops section and have the number for a cab to pick you up.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank maddiehawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    144
    59
    24
    14
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Caution: Hipster Zone”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

A plethora of businesses and street art. I had the best grilled chicken salad period, here on Valencia Street.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Snouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Avoid Mission St.”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I've lived in big cities before, but the amount of meth head prostitutes on Mission street blew me away. Avoid mission street and hit up the side streets only. What a scuzzy part of the neighborhood on mission street between 24th and 18th. Valencia street is a better way to go.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
9 Thank lmstreitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“See the Mexican neighbourhood”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Take a free CityWalk tour [check the internet]. Their guides show you around and explain what you are seeing. I took the Art walk. See the scenes painted on schools, public buildings and especially the 25- 30 murals on the garage doors in Balmy Alley. The guides point out details that you wouldn't notice on your own. Then have an authentic burrito or taco at one of the many neighbourhood restaurants, especialy the one at the end of Balmy lane.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank food_reviewer45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
185 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“Great food and culture”
Reviewed September 19, 2012

Always a great place to find something to eat with every crusines available from $-$$$$.Easy access with BART transportation stations right on Mission ST.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rickeys-Travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mission District also viewed

 

Been to Mission District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing