We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,617)
Filter reviews
1,617 results
Traveler rating
283
577
417
191
149
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
283
577
417
191
149
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location union square moscone center market street an older hotel short stay cable car central location corner room coffee maker public transportation fisherman's wharf city block bart soma westfield
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
750 - 755 of 1,617 reviews
Reviewed July 22, 2015 via mobile

We have to Good things to say about this Hotel. The location in Downtown and the WiFi. What's not good; Parking extra 45$ a day, rooms were designed in the 80's and VERY worn down. Holes in the furniture vas fixed whit tape. No water on the 8th floor if other guest are using at the same time. Air con loud. Also we stayed on the back side, where propellers from the cooling makes a lot of noise. All together this hotel are way to expensive. The cleaning is fine though. We will never be back.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank allanb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2015

Pros:
-- Location is excellent - close to transit, Westlake, cable cars.
-- Fitness room was unusually spacious; business center PCs and printer both worked well.
-- Our room (which faced the back of the hotel) was very quiet.

Cons:
-- Our room was small (to be expected in a older hotel) but it was also extremely tired (scuffed walls, chipped paint) with a hodge-podge of shabby chic garage sale type furniture.
-- Mattresses were old. How old you ask? Second-hand old - one had "Made exclusively for Four Points by Sheraton" stamped on it.
-- Sheets were clean but well-worn.
-- Hot water in shower was unpredictable.

Had the rate we paid been more reasonable, we'd have been a little bit more forgiving of the flaws. But for what we were charged, we were quite disappointed.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doggone31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2015 via mobile

Great location, all the public transport stops nearby. Staff really helpful. As a solo traveller a lot almost went wrong, tour company had a mix up, travel agent changed my flight check in code to fly to LA. Imelda at the front desk patiently helped sorted it all out. Restaurant is expensive but good at healthy options.

Date of stay: July 2015
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2015

Very close to all public transportation. The bart and cable cars. Easy walk to AT T park 15 minute walk. Older hotel but kept up. Staff very friendly and helpful to clients. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2015
Thank lewismurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

Thank you for your comments and we are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your return.

Allen Allgood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2015

The hotel is an old property but well worth the price. If you're into old historical type buildings, this is perfect for you. My family and I were very comfortable for five days. The hotel manager and staff were very friendly and helpful. You can't ask for a better location as you can walk next door to the mall, movies, as well as conveniently located right by the Bart, Buses, Trolley's etc... The restaurant was nice. The beds were comfortable. My only complaint was the toilets were sort of old. I did speak with the manager and he informed me that the property is currently having pipes and other things updated. We plan to come back again real soon, and will stay in the same place no doubt.

Room tip: The parking garage is attached underground, you may have to circle the block. We were on a higher floor and never heard anyone else.
Date of stay: July 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mzmy2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PickwickManagement, Front Office Manager at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2015

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your kind words and I am happy that we helped make your trip a memorable one. Please let me know when you are returning and we will try to out do our selves and make the next stay even more enjoyable!

Regards,

Allen Allgood
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews