We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Rooms, great location and helpful staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #112 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
San Bruno, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice Rooms, great location and helpful staff”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Stayed at the hotel and had a nice time. The rooms were modernly furnished. Wifi was free. The people at the front desk were helpful with questions. The restaurant and bar was lively and convenient. A walk outside takes you to the heart of the shopping and theatre district. Highly recommended. The price was not out of this world, for the room quality and location. Fits the mix!

Room Tip: newer rooms and away from elevators - the higher the floor - the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rlowilongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    444
    307
    126
    84
See reviews for
154
426
94
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was here for an interview and thought that even though the hotel is located in a great area and had a relatively high room rate, it was quite ghetto. Very old, looks like it hadn't been maintained in years, the rooms were VERY small, no room service, all in all a very shoddy and subpar experience. Spend the extra bucks and stay at Zetta!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aniruddhc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel has everything you need and nothing you don't need. It also has a great diner next door. It is also in a great location. When I arrived I found my room was noisy (right on the corner) and I knew with my jet lag it would prevent me sleeping. But one of the managers Randy Millares immediately found me a new room on the quiet side of the hotel. Thanks for everything!

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whittier, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

My company consistently books me at the pickwick due to its location and price. I have had other problems with this hotel. Such as maid service knocking every hour on the hour starting at 545am. Then over charging me for room fee. This latest trip the woman at the desk told me they had my reservation online (pre-paid) however I had to pay the hotel again and submit for a refund from the booking agent Expedia on my own. I refused to pay for the same room twice and the lady at the counter flat out told me your broke and don't have any money so you cannot stay here. Given I was coming off a 30th flight I was a bit disheveled, however I did not smell and clearly I am far from homeless. I showed her my wallet with ample cash and credit cards and asked to speak to a supervisor. It was 10 pm and apparently too late so no supervisor on duty. I was told if I wanted a refund I would have to contact the accounting dept. Amazing. I lost my cool and was extremely tired and upset. I had to walk to a nearby hotel and checked in immediately without incident. The property is old. Smells like smoke and noise if on street side. I will never return to pickwick and advise everyone to not stay there. The best western americania is much better close by and near the same price. Pickwick management does not listen or tend to guest complaints. By far the worst hotel experience I've ever had

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank RobbTaylor777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014

The most run-down hotel I've ever stayed at. The elevators failed so they taped over the button for the floor where it was failing rather than pay for a technician to come out on a Sunday. The room needed a paint job about 10 years ago. The tired mattresses had "Sheraton exclusive" labels -- I didn't even know there was a market in used hotel mattresses. The elevators made noise that could be heard from the room every time they accelerated or stopped. There was no safe in the room. The water pressure was ok but variable, it sometimes dropped to the point of stopping entirely. The sink had no aerator on the faucet so it sprayed water everywhere. Generally it feels like the building hasn't been touched since 1969 except to install money-saving light motion detector light switches that randomly switch off and on every hour or so. (And in the 80s to redo the bathrooms in travertine. All the travertine in SF is here). The location is on a busy road which is a fire route so expect fire trucks every few hours to go racing by.

The free wifi is nice but you have to log in every 30 minutes or so and there are so many access points and they aren't set up properly so they interfere with each other. And it keeps asking for reviews which maybe isn't the best marketing strategy if they don't want to maintain the building.

On the plus side the staff was nice and the housekeep was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street on a higher floor (but not the 8th floor where the elevator moto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank zxzkzkz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I always stay at the Pickwick when in SF, and am very happy each time. The location is perfect; the rooms are clean and have everything I need, albeit a little small. This is to be expected in the city though. The fitness room has everything I want, is well aired and the windows open to the hustle and bustle of the busy street. The staff at the front desk were extremely friendly and helpful. Parking is very expensive on top of the room rate. Complimentary wifi is always welcome.
The restaurant in the hotel used to be Little Joes; and I always ate there and had great meals. It seems to have changed ownership; I went down for dinner and was never given a menu. After 40 minutes I walked over to the Chieftain and had a way better experience.
The one downside to this stay was that only 1 elevator was working the entire time; this made for very long waits every time we wanted to come down/go up to the 6th floor.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank frenchie3880
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Lorenzo, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014

The Pickwick hotel is a gem of a hotel. Located right in downtown San Francisco so close to everything just steps away from the cable car and union square. I stayed here on New Year's Eve because I was attending an event at the Westin st Francis. I've always liked smaller hotels and I must say I was really impressed with the Pickwick hotel. The location was excellent and the staff was so welcoming and friendly.. There was an issue with the power that night but the manager on duty at the time, I think his name was john? Was very professional and really listened to my concerns and did everything in his power to rectify the situation... Overall I really enjoyed my stay and will definitely be back next time I'm I'm San Francisco...

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
537 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 229 in San Francisco
839 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,246 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Property: The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing