We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location in SF”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #117 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Silverlake (Los Angeles), CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best location in SF”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

San Francisco is a small manageable city to get around in, but it's still nice to find a reasonably priced place to stay that is so comfortable and convenient to transportation, shopping and entertainment. I can't imagine a hotel here with a better combination of comfort, value and location. The staff was so helpful and attentive, especially front desk clerk Lisa. I plan to make this my home base whenever I travel to San Francisco.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LenWh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,021 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    401
    275
    109
    78
See reviews for
131
368
82
241
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2013

If you are attending a convention you can't beat this hotel for its location and its fairly moderate price for San Francisco. Located next to Bloomingdales and the Westfield shopping center you have plenty of places to shop. It's a few blocks to Union Square and the cable cars, BART and great restaurants. Although its an older hotel the room was clean and housekeeping was very responsive to my 2 issues. The staff was wonderful especially Louie and John the two concierges who gave me great information on dining options, directions to get places and cabs.

If you have stayed in other hotels in any of the top cities (Chicago, New York, Las Vegas, Miami) you know that any hotel amenities are overpriced - from the mini bar to the water. Since there was a mini fridge in the room I walked to the Walgreens and bought my own Figi water at $1.69 vs the $3 bucks - just like the wine/drinks at bars you have to pay for the convenience of having it in your room vs walking and getting it yourself.

If you expect 5 star experience then stay at the Nikko where the only difference was a larger bathroom and updated decor. The Nikko had the same desk chair as the Pickwick which I thought was funny. I visited my son who had a special rate of $450+ a night..... My location was much better since there were 2 Starbucks, Mel's Diner across the street, a 24 hr. Denny's within 2 minutes from the hotel.

Another plus is that its the last stop if you take a shuttle - so no waiting to get on the road to the airport! I would definitely stay here again! Yes there are homeless people on the street but this is San Francisco and they are everywhere even at the 5 star hotel locations!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dynamicbroker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a conference. The best location for those who need the Moscone center and want to include some signtseeings and city center buzz into her travels. Great shopping in the area, restaurants and bars. My room was little bit outdated and the cleaning service was not the best but beds are very comfortable. Shower gel and shampoo kit was not replaced every day. The consierge was amazingly helpful and gave good advice on where to eat and how to get. Free wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie35805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Room in need of decoration/update. Very disappointing to be asked to pay 3 dollars for a small bottle of water. Very expensive. Good location, a few minutes walk from union square.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We were booked here for the Realtor convention, unknowingly of its condition. Upon checking in my room had another persons socks in it as well as extensive peeling paint, and worn materials. I was moved to another room where the paint was in better shape and no one else's socks there. Both rooms were tiny! About a foot on the sides of the beds.
The whole floor smelled (floor 2) terribly like a funeral home, or the like, as did the rooms. The extra storm windows were missing latches to reduce road noise in both rooms.
Location was great, staff was fine, bathroom was extremely tiny and the water pressure was a joke. The pipes were very loud when others showering nearby. Also there was a bulge in the ceiling where the bath above was leaking. It had not broken through the paint, yet.
Prefer Days Inn and La Quinta over this place, any day. Pretty sad to say.
Nice character building however given its age.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

The Pickwick was really close to Yerba Buena Center, Union Square and a lot of good restaurants. The service and hotel room was nice. the only problem I had was with hot water so basically the second day I had to take a cold shower, and the was this really loud scary sound comming from the bathroom after turning if the shower that lasted like 20 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Renata Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

This might have been the worst hotel my husband & I have stayed at. The room was small, old and smelled like a funeral parlor. Paint was chipping in several areas of the room, the bed needed a new box spring, the pipes rattled when you took a shower, pedestal sink left no room for storage, bathroom door would not shut or lock and toilet is something I would only expect to see in a public restroom. Ice machine was out of ice the 3 times I tried to use it. We didn't deal with the staff so I can't speak on how their service was. The location is probably the only decent thing about the hotel. I would never stay here again, even for free.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jbarthlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#97 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#59 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#129 of 228 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,277 reviews
SoMa
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
Park Central Hotel San Francisco
#61 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Property: The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing