We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty basic but good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #112 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Pretty basic but good”
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Great location close to Market St and Powell St. Short cable car or walk to Union Square and Nob Hill. Easy cable car ride to Fishermans Wharf from Powell St.

The bar/restaurant next door run by friendly Turkish people. Opened up early and let me watch football (soccer!) on their telly.

Would recommend but don't expect modern amenities apart from free Internet.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank argo17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    444
    307
    127
    84
See reviews for
154
426
94
267
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2013

hotel is located close to local transportation, shopping, restaurants, attractions and night life. the rooms are very clean and appealing, as for the staff they are all very attentive to guest needs and proactive to guest concerns. I will definitely stay at this property over other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: "any room on southside, on any floor", "higher floored room have better view of city...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank robertgdavid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We stayed in room 801 which was really nice, spacious and clean. Very appreciated after >24H non-stop traveling. We got a good nights sleep, however you do hear the sirens of the numerous firetrucks/ambulances driving down the road at night. So light sleepers , this can get a bit frustrating.
Very central location which is great for shopping. and the sushi restaurant just around the corner from the hotel is a MUST for sushi fans.
The hotel staff were really kind and helped us get around town with discount cards for bike hires, and tips for trams ect..
We will definitely return to this hotel on our next trip to SF.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Danielle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

I stayed in room 418 while attending an event at Moscone - a short walk away. This room faces inward so I had almost no road noise. I never heard my neighbors. This was a clean, comfortable room with a small but up to date bathroom. The baseboard in the room needed touch up paint. Wifi worked fine for me and I had no trouble with water pressure. I did not eat there or even enter the bar so I can't comment on that.

The room had 2 sets of windows - the original, old windows and then inside of those windows was set of modern windows. Closing the modern windows really helped block any outside noise.

The front desk staff was very helpful at check in and later with directions.

The location was good for the 3-day event at the Moscone I attended, the BART was very close for easy access to the airport.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skrobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, LA
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I are driving through the West and make our hotel reservations the day of our arrival, because we are never sure how far we will get in our travels. We booked the Pickwick because it was the lowest price we found in the area in which we wanted to stay. We didn't expect much, so were very pleasantly surprised by the hotel. The front desk personnel were very friendly. Our room was small, but well appointed and adequate for our needs. The bathroom was small, but clean. The towels were wonderful, large and thick! There was a restaurant, Soma, attached to the hotel, that had Happy Hour from 3-7 every day. Great prices and good drinks/food! Parking was kind of a pain. You have to unload in front, take your luggage up to your room, and then move the car around the block to a garage under the hotel. We were on the 8th floor, so the street noise was minimal. The hotel is just a block from Market St. where Nordstrom's and Bloomingdales are located. Very close to Union Square. We loved it!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank marmc60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
County Cork, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at the Pickwick and overall we found it a very positive experience!negatives first, (which to be fair werent many and would only matter if you were a real nitpicker!) The room was fine,a bit small and cramped and could do with being painted. The wifi was terrible and the staff on reception weren't the friendliest! However, the room was very clean, the bed was enormous and REALLY comfortable, the bathroom was clean and tidy- the staff cleaning the rooms did a great job and were very friendly - the fitness room although small was adequate and the aircon in the room was amazing!The location was perfect for exploring San Francisco- just around the corner from union square, the Westfield shopping centre is just next door which has every shop you could think of and the hotel really is in the middle of everything! Due to the location and the fact that it was clean,tidy and comfortable I would definitely recommend this hotel,after all most of your time is spent exploring this amazing city and all you want at the end of the day is to climb into a comfortable bed!

Room Tip: Maybe choose a room nearer to the back of the hotel as there was a quiet a bit of noise from the str...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J_Keane1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Pickwick Hotel is a clean and elegant hotel. The rooms are a decent size and decorated very nicely. The bathrooms are good but the "very good" rating comes from the lack of water pressure. Other than offering breakfast and good water pressure for showers, this hotel is a great place to stay if you want to be in the center of San Francisco. The price is right and the location couldn't be better (unless you want to pay a lot near the water).

Room Tip: Book through an indirect travel site and you will save.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
537 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#97 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 229 in San Francisco
840 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,246 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#79 of 229 in San Francisco
1,326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Property: The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #112 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing