We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed April 25, 2013

The Good:
Cant beat the location of this hotel. It's in the city (Union square), close to pretty much everything. Nordstrom and Bloomingdale is right next door. Great restaurants nearby. The hotel has its own parking garage. The cost is $40 per night.
Very clean rooms, decent internet speed.

The bad:
Room is small.
Small bathroom, but don't let it discourage you. It's adequate for the purpose.

Overall a very nice hotel for the short stay in SFO, especially for the price, comparing to the other ones around the area. Definitely would stay there again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michsyw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,359)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

780 - 786 of 1,359 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

My husband arrived at the Pickwick on April 16, working at the Convention Center, and will check out on the 26th. It was everything we read it would be. The location is the best. He worked very early and very late hours. Mel's Diner was close, and served very early and very late. I joined him for 3 days. The room was a little cramped for two, but perfect for him. Very comfortable bed, good lighting in bath, a frig.........all nice. We listened to comments, and "stayed 5th floor or higher, not directly facing the street, and not next to the elevators", so it was quiet. Lobby was attractive and everyone very courteous. One complaint was service at Soma's bar. I am writing another Trip Advisor about Soma's service. But we were told the restaurant is separate from the hotel, so that experience does not reflect on the hotel.
With the convenience of walking to the Convention Center, it was great for the price. Otherwise you need to book at a Hilton or Marriott.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank z_bob3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Four of us stayed at The Pickwick for two nights. The hotel is old but remodeled and very charming with super customer service. They know San Francisco! Our room was small but clean with lots of extras

Room Tip: Rooms facing 5th Street are a little noisier due to city traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2013

Pickwick is a clean hotel with fair service. They are probably biased or too busy to give the service I get in suburban hotels but the rooms are good and the staff will be helpful once you get their attention.

Rooms are good and the public areas attractive.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SWEngineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. It is 2-3 blocks away from union square. Cozy and comfortable hotel to stay. The staff is nice. The hotel has a restaurant but not many options. There is a nice cafe next block.. have breakfast there.. The hotel has good services of baggage storage and taxi calling.. Ask for normal cab.. else they will have a Cadillac! (Airport $45)

Room Tip: Pick up a room on the road side.. you have a nice view of the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pushkar K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Hotels position is excellent. Right near the BART for arriving from the airport. Also right at the start of the cable car lines. Any transport is easy from here. Union square and shops nearby. Couple of nice cafes for breakfast nearby too. Rooms comfortable. Only thing that was not so good was WiFi. Poor signal most of the time which was unexpected in the city. However they did have some pcs if you wanted to use them.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Georgina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Although a short stay (3 nights), the service from the parking attendant, to the front desk staff, and especially the housekeeping staff, was excellent! The room was clean, nicely supplied with essentials and very comfortable.  I made the reservation using the special.parking package which was a great value. The package included the room with complimentary parking and in and out privileges.

Unfortunately, when I left Hawaii I was fighting a bad cold which got progressively worse during my stay (later discovered I had pneumonia when I returned from my trip) and never had the opportunity to sleep on the comfortable bed (tried it out for a brief moment to check it out and was impressed with its comfort). I did sleep quite well in the recliner which provided the right amount of support & comfort. 

The housekeeping staff were also respectful and caring of my stay as they knew I was sick from my frequent coughing. When I needed something, they were quick to provide and always ended their interaction with me with niceties and courtesies.  I came by myself on this trip to visit my oldest son who flew in from Japan to attend the 2013 GDC at the Mosconi Center.  In fact I chose this hotel simply because my son was already booked at this hotel.

My husband and I are returning to the San Francisco in August and we are planning to return to The Pickwick Hotel.  Mahalo & Aloha for everything you do!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtlee808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#86 of 230 in San Francisco
2,380 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#91 of 230 in San Francisco
1,868 reviews
Tilden Hotel
#101 of 230 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Kensington Park Hotel
The Kensington Park Hotel
#75 of 230 in San Francisco
1,204 reviews
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
745 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#123 of 230 in San Francisco
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #119 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range: $123 - $392 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing