We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about the value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #113 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“It's all about the value and location”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

I'm a firm believer that you get what you pay for. In this case you get a brilliant location at a very good price. There's a lot of good things about this hotel, the location is brilliant, there's free wifi although its far from quick and you will struggle to stream Netflix on it. There's a business centre in the mezzanine consisting of a couple of computers for you to use. I didn't use them so cannot comment further about them. The aircon was good and the coffee machine was a nice feature. The bed quality was also decent and the room was very large. All in all it made for a decent hotel however we never managed a good night sleep due to the amount of noise from the road outside. I would expect a little noise however this was excessive to say the least and was a massive shame. Other more minor bug bears consisted of the paintwork either being chipped on the corner in our room where people had obviously caught it with their bags. Beige paint on the white coving or white gloss on the beige paint, no mirror on the desk (my girlfriend did say it would have been an amazing dressing table had there been one), and the shower being fixed at a short height meaning that I had to crouch to wash my face (I'm 6ft). Like I say, you get what you pay for. Overall I would have Given the room 3*. I have added an extra * due to the fact that you can order items of the Internet to be delivered to the hotel for them to store prior to arrival. The hotel did that at no extra charge and I thought that that was a brilliant feature. Having said that, I wouldn't recommend getting much information from the concierge about getting from a to b as most of the time it was either incorrect or they tried selling the use of their van.

Room Tip: Get the BART from the airport (Oakland or SFO) to Powell and exit via the 5th street exit. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    445
    309
    128
    85
See reviews for
156
428
94
270
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Checked into another hotel first which was disgusting. Went here in the hope of something better and wasn't disappointed. So much better for not much more money. Clean spacious room. 2 double beds fridge tv hair dryer. Everything you need and really friendly helpful staff. Saved us from a horrible night in a grotty hostel. Great nights sleep in comfort instead!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollyann75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Florida
Level 6 Contributor
66 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

The Pickwick is south of market by about a block directly across from the old Mint (which is now a museum). It is a "classic' hotel though seems to be totally redone. The rooms are of medium size, very clean and have everything one would need. The internet is free and they have guest computers for use. The staff is very helpful. There is a small workout area with decent machines, but for those serious it is probably better to pay a guest fee at the gym nearby. The hotel is quite convenient to the Moscone convention center. While the attached restaurant is very average, there are a number of good places nearby - for breakfast, lunch or dinner. The lobby bar fits the bill - a quiet haven after a hectic day.

My one complaint is that the rooms facing 5th street can get very noisy. Choose a room away from 5th street for some quiet. Even with earplugs, it was a challenge. Surely the hotel can't do much about this but it is good to be aware. Also, thankfully, the hotel does have heat and airco in the rooms -- something that is not typical in most "classic" hotels in the city.

The bart station is quite close (Powell) making connections to the airport simple (~$9 each way per person) versus a quite expansive cab ($40-45). Bus transit in the area is excellent. You can get a day or multi-day Muni pass that covers all buses, muni trains and cable cars. Just for the cable cars this beats $6 each way.

I would definitely return. It was a good choice in a city full of hotel options.

Room Tip: Take the rooms not facing 5th street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FLA_Islandr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Pickwick is a charming hotel located near Moscone Center in the center of San Francisco. The room and bathroom were very nice. I was pleasantly surprised. I parked in the underground garage, which was very convenient. I will gladly return on an upcoming trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rich_R_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights good location for down town area and reasonably good area. 5th street. Hotel looks good foyer area, goes down quality wise, as you climb stairs and enter room. Passable though, reasonably clean. Take ear plugs due to position, which us to be expected, so slept well. Had breakfast at hotel, pleasant staff and food quality was good. Price was reasonable, not extortionate.

Helpful?
Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location near to Westfield shopping centre and a cable car stop. Room was a little smaller than most we stayed in on our road trip but clean, cosy and quiet (even on new years eve!). We made use of the small gym. Staff were friendly. Only complaint was that the wifi did not work in our room. We enjoyed our stay, thanks Pickwick!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank LittleSparrow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2013

For our budget (which was low/ average) this hotel was perfectly functional. The room we had (ordinary twin) was clean and fit for purpose. The decor is dated, and the room was a little cramped to navigate round the beds. However, we weren't on a trip where we wanted to spend time in the hotel; the location is perfect for downtown San Fran.

Just round the corner is Westfields, the bottom of the tram station and union square. For those wanting a good value hotel with a central location, it is perfect. Unless you are a keen walker around towns, most people do chose to hop on the bus or tram to get to the water front area. We had a 70 year old as part of our trip, so we did have to use transport to get to the tourist areas.

Parking was also good; directly under the hotel.

Yes, if you want a clean, safe hotel and to spend your dollars out in the city. No, if you want to spend time romancing in a modern, trendy hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mademoiselle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#100 of 229 in San Francisco
540 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#96 of 229 in San Francisco
2,324 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#19 of 229 in San Francisco
844 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#122 of 229 in San Francisco
1,247 reviews
Union Square
The Herbert Hotel
The Herbert Hotel
#78 of 229 in San Francisco
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Property: The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #113 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing