We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Nearby Hotels
Comfort Inn by the Bay(San Francisco)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of $208/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$375
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$305
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$229
Courtyard
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$263
$236
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of $200/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$226
$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $253/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$299
$254
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$259
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of $257/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,471)
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveler rating
264
545
377
168
117
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
264
545
377
168
117
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssoma restaurantgreat locationunion squarewestfield mallmarket streetan older hotelshort staybart stationcable carcentral locationpowell stcorner roomstayed here for nightsrooms are smallcoffee makeraround the cornerbed was very comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
894 - 899 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2013

The Pickwick is a charming hotel located near Moscone Center in the center of San Francisco. The room and bathroom were very nice. I was pleasantly surprised. I parked in the underground garage, which was very convenient. I will gladly return on an upcoming trip.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rich_R_LA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in hotel for 2 nights good location for down town area and reasonably good area. 5th street. Hotel looks good foyer area, goes down quality wise, as you climb stairs and enter room. Passable though, reasonably clean. Take ear plugs due to position, which us to be expected, so slept well. Had breakfast at hotel, pleasant staff and food quality was good. Price was reasonable, not extortionate.

Thank robert c
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Great location near to Westfield shopping centre and a cable car stop. Room was a little smaller than most we stayed in on our road trip but clean, cosy and quiet (even on new years eve!). We made use of the small gym. Staff were friendly. Only complaint was that the wifi did not work in our room. We enjoyed our stay, thanks Pickwick!

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank LittleSparrow81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

For our budget (which was low/ average) this hotel was perfectly functional. The room we had (ordinary twin) was clean and fit for purpose. The decor is dated, and the room was a little cramped to navigate round the beds. However, we weren't on a trip where we wanted to spend time in the hotel; the location is perfect for downtown San Fran.

Just round the corner is Westfields, the bottom of the tram station and union square. For those wanting a good value hotel with a central location, it is perfect. Unless you are a keen walker around towns, most people do chose to hop on the bus or tram to get to the water front area. We had a 70 year old as part of our trip, so we did have to use transport to get to the tourist areas.

Parking was also good; directly under the hotel.

Yes, if you want a clean, safe hotel and to spend your dollars out in the city. No, if you want to spend time romancing in a modern, trendy hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mademoiselle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

My partner and i stayed here for 2 nights and the welcome we got at the front desk was definitely not what we expected when we arrived. The female staff was rude and snatched our passports when she wanted to check us in. When I asked her a question, she gave me a rude response. If i hadn't paid prior to my arrival, i would have opted for another hotel. When we reached our room, it was definitely value for money with free wifi, comfy bed and a decent bathroom. It's a great base cause its located strategically close to Union Square and just a few doors away from malls and cafes. You can also walk about 5 mins to the tram station to go to the piers. It was a good stay except for the rude staff at the hotel whom we kept seeing for 2 days straight.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamaniB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guest_Assist1, Director of Sales at The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded January 31, 2013

We appreciate your kind words about your room and our convenient location. However, we would like to apologize to you for the less-than-friendly welcome you received at check-in. Although we normally get very high marks for our great customer service, please rest assured that we have addressed this matter directly so that all our guests can expect the excellent customer service we are known for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews