We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Ranked #125 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here for a conference at Moscone Center. Much cheaper than the official conference hotels. Walking distance to Chinatown and shopping. Free internet, but a little slow. Friendly staff. Initially our door would not lock, but it was fixed. No safe in the room. Located downtown, fairly quiet, but sirens from the street could occasionally be heard.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    389
    273
    105
    79
See reviews for
127
358
80
229
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2012

This is a great hotel! No question about it. For $149/p day (no taxes included) you get an outstanding service. It is located few blocks away (walking distance) from Market St., the Moscone Convention Center, and the Stop of the cable car.
Try it an you won't be dissapinted

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msaenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights during our honeymoon road trip. We where given a complimentary upgrade although it wasn't that special to be honest. I think it was just that we had a king bed instead of two queens.

The bathroom was small but clean. The room was clean too but we did have a bit of a problem - potential bedbugs! This was the last stop for us and we stayed in 6 hotels in 2 weeks so the problem could have been with an of those hotels because apparently bedbug bites can take up to 9 days to appear. After the first night here everything was fine, the coffee machine was good and there was water to buy in the room.

The morning after our second night my husband got out of the shower and pointed out that his bites where showing up on his arms. We looked it up and they did look like bedbug bites. We searched the bed though and couldn't find any trace of bedbugs. There was like a "coffee stain" under the mattress which apparently can be a telltale sign but it could just be a coffee stain. The morning after the third night the same thing happened. For the record I didn't have a single bite - but I generally don't get bit. Or bites don't show up on me!

We did speak to the hotel supervisor about it as we checked out and she seemed shocked and concerned. She assured us that she would get the head of housekeeping to inspect the room. But like I said the room did look clean and we couldn't find any other traces of them!

The hotel location was great. Right near the Bart train station and the trams. It's also walking distance from union square and another shopping centre (can't remember the name!!) we also walked to fishermans wharf - but this took a while!!

There is a little bar / restaurant downstairs in the hotel which was nice. Reasonably prices, nice food and good service. There was a lot of homeless people nearby though but I think that's all of San Francisco to be honest. They didn't bother us though.

The windows in the hotel could probably do with an upgrade to double glazing because there was a bit of a noise problem and we where on the 7th floor. The air con was really quiet though! The quietest from all of the other hotels we'd stayed it and it did work quite well!

Overall ... If it wasn't for the bites on my husband ... I'd probably recommend to a friend but I do think that this was the hotel that he got them in out of the 6 that we'd stayed in but only because they came up in the morning.

Room Tip: Higher floor means less noise!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EJohnno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haifa, Israel
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Stayed there for 1 awsome night. We recieved our room quickly and it was clean with to queen beds inside, an LCD TV and a Keurig coffee machine and coffee capsules ofcourse.

The hotel is located on the 5th street in a walking distance from china town, union square and more tourist attractions.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aviv E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clover, South Carolina
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

Excellent hotel, moderately priced.. Rooms are small but tastefully done. Excellent,friendly, polite service. Would definitely recommend a stay here!! This hotel is old vintage, well preserved, historical. A pleasure to be at this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dmooreblack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Me and my friends did a tour around the west coast of america last month, san francisco was my favourite city along with having a great base location at the hotel, space in the rooms is tight but it was clean and comfortable. Parking is a little expensive especially when you get charged for an extra night and they refuse to refund you.. So be careful about the parking..

Room Tip: Not a room at the front of hotel..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MacKerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
364 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Stayed 4 nights there, I was expect worst than that actually, quite surprised. Nice hotel, in a perfect location + free wifi, 2 minutes from Powell station (BART/MUNI), 2 minutes from Market Street, 10 minutes from the SFMOMA. Just avoid, the little details like lack of paint in some spots in the room, thin wall, no safe. As well, I think it was a bit pricey, I know it was the World Series in SF but it was 190$ a night. I still will recommend the Pickwick Hotel.

PROS:
*Location in central SoMa
*Free wifi
*Confortable bed
*Free ''Keurig'' coffee in the room
*2 minutes from Powell station
*1 minute from Westfield Mall

CONS:
*Lack of paint in some spots, a renovation will be good for the hotel
*thin wall, could hear the people beside my room
*when you turn on the hot water, it's make a loud noise
*no safe to put your valuables
*a bit pricey for what it is

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank JulienF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#96 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
Hotel Zelos San Francisco
#56 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 606 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#95 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
Hotel Zetta San Francisco
#22 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 787 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Fusion
Hotel Fusion
#129 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,208 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#124 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Property: The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco
Address: 85 5th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1812
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pickwick Hotel is close to many popular attractions within walking distance…take a hop on to the historic Cable Car just a block away, a leisurely stroll to Union Square, Museums or Theaters all within 3 blocks. Attending a conference, The Pickwick Hotel is just 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Moscone Convention Center and 2 blocks away from the San Francisco Federal Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Pickwick Hotel San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pickwick San Francisco
Pickwick Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing