We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Comfortable, Friendly Stay in Pleasant Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Friendly Stay in Pleasant Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

A lovely boutique-type hotel 3 mins from Chinatown, Nob Hill right next to the Hyde-Powell cable car stop. Was here for 3 days on business and got upgraded to a suite (room 301). Great space and a gargantuan bathroom. Hotel staff were wonderful, pleasant greeting from door staff through to the cleaners, really top notch. They couldn't have been more helpful.

The hotel is very central and on my one day off, was a great starting place to walk through Chinatown to North Beach and Fisherman's Wharf.

Room itself was clean, tidy, well decorated and the bed was fantastic, if I could've sneaked it out of the room and to my house, I would have. Would definitely come back again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank toodlepip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,585
    832
    149
    35
    19
See reviews for
282
1,240
167
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

We stayed at The Orchard Hotel for a week in early October and loved it. This was our second visit to this hotel and both times the staff were friendly and helpful; room and bed were comfortable and the location was convenient.
The restaurant was also very nice-- the meatloaf was great! Didn't have time for breakfast most days but it looked nice enough.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jadedem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Level Contributor
84 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Booked a two day stay based on TA reviews. On arrival we were told that some guests had not booked out of their rooms and there was no availability for us, and as a result they had arranged for us to stay one night at the Club Quarters and they would refund us the cost of one night's stay in compensation for the inconvenience. There was not a lot that could be done about the situation although it was fairly annoying as we had chosen the Orchard for its proximity to Union Square and Club Quarters is in the Financial District. Upon checking in to the Club Quarters we were given a tiny room with a queen bed, - apparently CQ does not have rooms with two beds or so they claim. This was certainly the smallest hotel room I have stayed in and the bathroom was similarly minute.

The following day around 2.30 pm we duly turned up at the Orchard to check in, to be told that rooms were still being made up. When eventually we got a room, the wireless internet did not work. After spending half an hour talking to the wireless service provider without any solution, I then found that the issue was due to our room being too far from the wireless node for a strong enough signal to be detected by the laptop. Some time later another network was set up which worked.

On checking out of the hotel, I enquired as to how the refund for the first night's stay was going to be made as I had booked through a travel web site and pre-paid. I was then told that no refund would be forthcoming as I had booked online and that was that. Needless to say I was less than amused that they had reneged on their word.

We also had a maid come barging in to our room despite there being a Do Not Disturb sign hung on the doorknob. She wanted to check the minibar fridge and when I said we had not used anything she then left, grumbling away in her dialect.

Putting all those issues aside, I would say that the staff are not overly friendly, the service (what little we saw of it) was average, the room, furnishings, TV and bathroom were dated. I won't be bothering them again in the future.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 1North
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

The Orchard Hotel is a favorite in San Francisco. I've stayed at the Park 55, the Hyatt, the ANA, and others and have found this smaller property is a jewel that can stand up to any of the major hotels. The service is first class, the rooms elegantly maintained and larger than most SF properties. The bathrooms are spacious and beautifully done in marble with contemporary fixtures, etc.

I frequently travel alone on business and the dining experience provides attentive service and excellent food. The friendly wait staff alleviate any awkwardness that a woman dining alone may feel.

I'd recommend this property for business or pleasure. It has the connectivity you need for business, conveniently located near Union Square and within walking distance to the financial district, and it has all the comforts for a very relaxing vacation stay.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buddy1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, UK
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2009

Husband and I stayed for one week at the end of september/beginning of October. We booked based on the reviews here and we weren't disappointed. It was our first visit to San Fran and found it quite hard to get our bearings after catching the BART, but eventually got where we needed to be. The hotel is in an excellent location, just about 2 blocks from Union Square (Go to the cheesecake factory for lunch - in our opinion, the best value meals), and literally on the corner of the cable car stop. China town is 5 minutes walk away, and so too is the Westfield shopping centre.

Our room was very big and had a very large bathroom. We couldn't fault anything. It was very clean and housekeeping did an excellent job. The bed was huge (compared to our standard double back home!) and was actually the comfiest bed I've ever slept in!

We stayed on a room only basis so didn't get the breakfast option, however, we ate in Roxanne's (on the corner, next to the hotel) and in the Cable Car Cafe (on Powell street, almost opposite to the entrance to Roxanne's). The cable car cafe was very good value for money - Bagels, crepes and healthier options were very good.

Reception staff were always very friendly and the concierges were brilliant - we asked for restaurant recommendations a couple of times and they were spot on. (For excellent Pizzas you have to visit Uncle Vitos, opposite corner of the intersection - it doesn't look too inviting, but is the best pizza we've ever tasted).

Wireless internet is free and more than adequate for our needs. There's also a laptop in reception and you can print for a modest fee (handy if you want to check-in online and print your boarding passes).

If you want to travel about a bit the cable car works well but can be very busy with tourists. We found it easy enough to use our 7 day muni pass and caught the buses and F-line wherever we wanted to go.

We could sit here and sing the praises of this hotel all day, but that would make this review too long and boring!

In short, if you want a great hotel, in a great location, with great staff then this should be your first choice. Overall, we found San Francisco quite an expensive place (maybe because Sterling just isn't as strong as it used to be) but there are gems worth paying for and this is one of them.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

I can't remember when I stayed in a nicer place. The staff was very pleasant, and the hotel is perfectly located for my purposes. My room was soooo comfortable, I wish I could stay for a few weeks.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank b0b333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bennington, VT
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2009

I chose The Orchard Hotel based on the reviews in tripadvisor. The hotel is everything good said about it previously. The room and bed was so comfortable and the front desk personnel pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jprocter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,580 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing