We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,076)
Filter reviews
3,076 results
Traveler rating
1,864
971
175
42
24
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,864
971
175
42
24
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable carunion squarepowell and bushgreat locationtwo blocksgood sizelarge bathroomstay there againking suiteboutique hotelpowell stfront desk staffstreet sidebed was very comfortablewonderful hotelvalet parkingwould highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
477 - 482 of 3,076 reviews
Reviewed September 14, 2016

The Orchard is ideally located to give you easy access to the city. Take the Bart from the airport and pull your bags up from Powell (10 mins) and your there. The hotel is of a high standard overall and the staff very helpful. We had breakfast there which was very good and good value when compared to local external offerings. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Go for higher room away from lift area
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2016

Thanks for the top marks across the board, Edward! It's wonderful to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back next time you're exploring San Francisco.

All the best,
Collins C., Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016

This was our first stay at the Orchard Hotel, having stayed at the sister property, Orchard Garden, on several occasions. The rates were better at the Orchard, so we gave it a try. It's located well, easy to find, rooms perhaps slightly larger than average. Staff was competent, not as friendly overall as at Orchard Garden. When first arrived in room, found that the robes hung in the closet were dirty, which wasn't a great start. The staff sent replacements right away. We had also been initially assigned a room very close to the elevator and next to the storage/maids' closet, which was unacceptable due to the noise generated by both. Once settled in the room, the bed was comfortable and bathroom bright and clean. Overall, however, I prefer the Orchard Garden - not that different, but enough to give a more favorable impression.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from elevators and storage/maids' closets
  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MjsAjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

We want to do everything we can to make guests feel comfortable and well-cared for during their stay, and I apologize for any small issues that made your visit with us less than perfect. We know that every guest looks for a little something different in their stay, so we look forward to welcoming you back to the Orchard Garden next time you're in San Francisco.

All the best,
Collins C., Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2016 via mobile

I arrived early and the staff tagged & kept my bags so that I could wander the city before check-in. Once checked in, the concierge gave me advice on how to get to my desired destination - even throwing in tips for avoiding any unnecessary hill climbs.
The hotel was charming and very clean. My room faced the courtyard (so...no views) but the bed was luxurious and cozy.
The Green efforts here are very cool - during turndown service there were no linens removed or added unnecessarily.
Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: September 2016, traveled solo
Thank efranks22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 14, 2016

Constantly climbing those San Francisco hills can definitely wear you out, so I'm glad the team could help you avoid some unnecessary hikes during your explorations! It's great to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we look forward to welcoming you back again next time you're in the city.

All the best,
Collins C., Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2016 via mobile

Stayed five nights in September 16 and found this hotel easily after a short walk from Union Square San Francisco. It is centrally located and only 10-20 minutes walk to many attractions including Union Square, China town, the financial district and more. But be aware as there are some steep hills that beat going to a gym for a workout.
The room was clean and comfortable with a nice King bed and good quality sheets. However, it can be a bit noisy at night, due to I suspect the cable car which runs near the hotel. The staff are friendly and the concierge is extra nice and helpful.
From the hotel it is easy to walk to lots of good eating places, or catch all modes of transport eg taxi, cable cars, trolley bus, trams, and BART - SF underground trains. Be sure to visit the coit tower, and the ferry terminal for a fun time out.
Overall a nice hotel and happy to stay here again.

Ahmad
Regards
Sent from my iPhone

Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Ahmad M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 13, 2016

Thanks for staying with us while you were visiting San Francisco, Ahmad! It sounds like you got to experience all methods of transportation while visiting the city, and I'm glad our place was a comfortable spot to call home during your travels. We look forward to having you back again next time you're visiting the area!

All the best,
Collins C., Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2016

Great stay. Reasonably priced especially for the location, cleanliness, and very friendly staff. The door men are very knowledgeable about the areas attractions and restaurants. It is in union square area, and a cable car runs just outside the hotel. It's an easy walk to most anywhere if you don't mind trudging up and down a few hills. 30 min to fisherman's Wharf was a bit of a trek, but not terrible if you are in shape. Bathrooms are very clean but could use some updating. We requested a higher floor/quiet room when booking (thanks to other TA reviews). Ask for something away from the elevators! Even 3 rooms away like we were, it was muffled, but still sounded like a small train going back and forth. Either way... noise is something you just deal with in San Francisco. We would still stay in that room (704 I think) again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Higher floors for less street noise, stay away from rooms near the elevator.
  • Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanShaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2016

As you noted, CanShaun, a certain amount of noise can be expected when staying in a big city, but I hope this wasn't too much of a disturbance during your visit. It sounds like you had a great time discovering the city, and I'm glad we could help you feel comfortable during your stay. We'd love to host you again if you're ever back in the Bay Area!

All the best,
Collins C., Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews