We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Orchard Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
$353
$323
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$299
$199
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$196
$183
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$229
$209
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$230
$208
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
$336
$222
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Buchanan(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
$401
$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$279
$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Mystic Hotel(San Francisco)
$225
$210
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,943)
Filter reviews
2,943 results
Traveler rating
1,777
933
169
41
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,777
933
169
41
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable carunion squarepowell and bushgreat locationtwo blocksgood sizelarge bathroomking suitestay there againboutique hotelpowell stfront desk staffstreet sidebed was very comfortablewonderful hotelsmall hotelcontinental breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,916 - 1,921 of 2,943 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2009

Stayed here for a night. Location was great! Hotel was good. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast that came with the package was disappointing.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2009

My husband and I recently spent one night at the Orchard Hotel and had a great experience. Prior to our visit, one of the staff members responded to my email inquiry regarding a nearby car rental location, and sure enough, Hertz was an easy walk (downhill) from the hotel. The staff were extremely courteous, the room and bathroom were spacious and clean, and there was a large collection of DVDs to borrow (free) at the front desk. We especially liked the location of the hotel -- a $40 cab ride from SFO, right at a cable car stop, and close to restaurants and shopping without being too close.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SFlemingGSO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2009

I have been to the city a few times now. Spending a night here and there. Stayed Friday night before flight at the Orchard Hotel on Bush. Very nice staff very friendily. Even the cleaning staff greeted you. While at breakfast Cornell the valet brought our car down and loaded it for us. The bed and bedding were wonderful. Great location just two blocks off Union Square. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calipan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2009

We had selected the Orchard based on the majority of positive reviews and we were not disappointed and cannot find one word of fault in relation to the hotel, the location, the rooms, service or the staff. In terms of value for money this hotel delivered on the price that was paid.

We were celebrating our 30th Wedding anniversary in a trip across the USA and were very fortunate to have been upgraded to a suite and what can I say but WOW the room was fantastic, exceptionally clean and one of the most comfortable beds we have ever slept in during many hotel stays. The bathroom was as big as the room we stayed in Manhattan. We stayed bed and breakfast and would say that the breakfast offered was fair for the price we paid and saved the trouble of having to find somewhere else, service was good.

From arrival to departure the staff were attentive and any request was not too much trouble. A warm welcome from Quinn on reception who was very efficient, and informative and Bob and David the concierges both of whom were very helpful and any request was not too much trouble. First impressions are important and we were very impressed. The use of the laptop at reception to check flight details and print boarding cards was extremely valuable.

Room cleaning was to a high standard as was the general room cleanliness and decor.

The location next to the cable car stop meant that to get to most of the tourist spots was easily achieved, the hotel is also a very short walk downhill to the main shopping area. We did not suffer any noise despite being at the front corner of the hotel at the junction of the roads and the cable car stop.

Ignore the negative reviews you will never please some people.

We would recommend the hotel to any of our friends and relatives. We will return and will not look for anywhere else to stay, why should we?

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chasbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We started our honeymoon at the Orchard Hotel after researching on this site. It lived up to our expectations and the staff were very friendly and helpful and the location is great for just about everything you would want to see in San Francisco. We had requested a room on a high floor as advised to cut down on noise and the hotel accommodated. They did know it was the first day of our honeymoon and a cheap bottle of something or a bowl of fruit in the room would have been nice but maybe I am expecting too much. The bedroom and bathroom were very clean, and the bed very comfortable but the decor is a bit dated and did not have a wow factor. They do have a laptop in reception which is free to use and was very handy to check mails etc on the way out. We would certainly stay again if we visit San Francisco again.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews