We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Thornton Cleveleys, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Good location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2014

Well presented hotel in convenient location. Our room was a good size and very clean, no noise could be heard from the busy road from the 5th floor. The cable car stops only a matter of a few yards away and it is only a few minutes walk into downtown or China town. The cafe next door is very good and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave1104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you kindly for the great review! You certainly said it best with location. You can't beat where we are centrally positioned downtown. We are also thrilled to hear we did not disappoint you; and equally excited to hear that we have met and possibly exceeded your expectation. We appreciate you taking the time to do this, and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,525
    796
    147
    33
    18
See reviews for
273
1,178
163
376
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tifton, GA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

The Orchard Hotel was everything we expected, and more. As I told the front desk clerk as we were checking out, our bathroom had the best lighting this woman has ever experienced in more than 45 years of traveling the country! Complete with a large magnifying makeup mirror, there was plenty of space and you could SEE to groom. As others have mentioned, we did lots of research and read many reviews before choosing The Orchard. It was a great choice!

We loved having breakfast at the little cafe just one door away, around the corner. There is a hidden gem of a French restaurant just a few doors up the hill on Bush St. that was delightful. Jeanne D'arc, 715 Bush St., downstairs at a boutique hotel, served a 4-course meal for $44, had their famous souffle for dessert. The owner chatted with us for awhile and sent over two glasses of a red wine to accompany our entrees because he thought we would enjoy it more with our meal than the white wine we had ordered with our appetizers--no charge. Charming man who really cares about his guests. Excellent food, very competent service!

Back to The Orchard--as everyone says, the location is perfect for whatever you wish to do. Our room was on the 10th floor and it was the quietest hotel stay ever. Housekeeping was excellent and the bed was very comfortable. The doorman was always attentive and helpful; we were there 4 days and he greeted us by name every day.

San Francisco was the highlight of our trip which began in San Diego, continued through Big Sur, and ended in SF. We saved the best for last and will definitely stay at The Orchard when we return to the City by the Bay. Thanks to all who made our visit so very comfortable and memorable.

Room Tip: We chose the 10th floor room and were very happy. It was large and quiet. Excellent bathroom--spacio...
See more room tips
Green Features: Loved the bath gel and shampoo dispensers in the shower!
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abercrombie-Sheppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Thank you for the great review! We are thrilled to hear our review ratings are what got you in our door, considering there are hundreds of hotels to choose from, As you mentioned the location is pretty stellar with easy access to all kinds of activities. We are happy that you have liked our well-appointed guest room. At the Orchard Hotel, Guest service is one of our very best qualities. We focus on meeting our guests’ needs. By reading your notes, it makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

The hills in San Francisco are an attraction on their own. Luckily, to get to this hotel from Union Square you only have to walk two blocks and the hill isn't too steep. If you're heading down to the Financial District or China Town it's also not too bad. There is a cable car stop just outside the hotel but each time we tried to get on it was full; however, a cab ride was only $10 to Fisherman's Wharf, which actually makes it cheaper if there's more than one of you. We had breakfast in the hotel one day and it was delicious--lots of fresh fruit. The concierge was very helpful and recommended a great restaurant strip just down the street. The room was quiet and had plenty of room for luggage and our new purchases. I looked at many hotels before booking this one and I definitely think it was the right choice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
Helpful?
3 Thank Georginadc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2014
We appreciate your comment of your recent stay at our hotel. We must admit, this city is incredible and has so much to offer. We are happy to hear that you have a great time here in San Francisco. You have found the hotel very convenient located to most of your sightseeing. Thank you for the positive feedback regarding our staffs; and that you have liked our restaurant food and services. We are so glad you have concluded the right choice choosing the Orchard Hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

From the moment we arrived the staff could not have been more helpful. Its location means this hotel is not budget or cheap but it is probably priced at the right point. The rooms are a little dated but they were immaculately kept and clean.
Right on the corner of Powell, you can catch the cable car to Fisherman's Wharf with ease, or just walk to Chinatown or Union Square in less than 5 minutes.
There are plenty of restaurants within easy reach and the doorman will be delighted to recommend something.
Top tip though is to book a parking package if possible as the cost and hassle of self-parking are a nightmare.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for the kind words regarding our staff, they really are a special team. From the doorman, Front Desk staff to Housekeepers… they really do their best to keep our guest as comfortable and happy as they can. We must agree. Our location is pretty hard to beat. You have everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction you stop out of doors. The location of the Orchard Hotel suites all business and leisure travelers; Most importantly our prices are set at the right point to ensure our guests with excellent value. Appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation. We Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis Park, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

We just checked out after 2 nights at this hotel. First, the hotel is really well located. It is right next to the Cable Car stop. However, the cable car can be full, so it's nice that it's only a $10 cab ride to Pier 39/fisherman's wharf. Easy to walk to lots of dinner/shopping options from the front door. Very good staff eager to help. Rooms are pretty basis, bathrooms are OK, but location is great and I felt it was a good value.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you kindly for the great review! You certainly said it best with our location. You can’t beat where we are positioned downtown with easy access to most of the main attractions. We are happy to hear that you have found our staff very eager to help; our room has lived to your standard. Overall you felt it was a good value experiences staying with us. We value your patronage and comments, and look forward to seeing you again in the soonest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calcutta
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Well my review about this hotel is a little mixed. Great Hotel overall, extremely helpful and friendly staff - nice rooms in a central location. I came in from Washington DC via an early morning flight and had requested an early check-in which I got without any additional charge.
But a few details missed out - my coffee cup in the room was chipped at a very dangerous place which could have led to serious injury - thankfully I noticed it. The staff changed it immediately however.

However overall a great place to stay that I would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank no_boundaries94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have liked the hotel location; and found our staff extremely helpful and friendly. We are happy to hear that we are able to accommodate your request for an early check in. We want to thank you for letting us know about the missed out details during your stay. We want to assure you that your comments have been addressed to the concerned personnel and department for the immediate attentions and improvement. We value guest’s feedback, they allow us to better improve our service to not only meet but exceed our guest’s expectations. We are glad that the overall experience of your stay was great and you will definitely recommend the Orchard Hotel. Once again, thank you for writing us the review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014 via mobile

Great stop in San Francisco, the location is close to everything. North Beach, China town, Union Square. Good size rooms and lots of great plug ins. Nice, friendly staff, and extremely clean. Lots of restaurants close at hand. We'll be back.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 24, 2014
Thank you for the gracious review on our property and staff! We love reading guest’s review when they end with a promise to return. It makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do, which is keep our guest coming back…! Glad to hear that you have great time in San Francisco. Hope to see you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,333 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#13 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,749 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#16 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,299 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,315 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing