We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel; great location”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 14, 2014

This is a nice small hotel located very close to Union Sq, many restaurants and other attractions. The rooms are very clean, although the furniture and the rugs are a bit outdated. The staff are very friendly and had great suggestions for restaurants, etc. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luxtraveler123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us the review. We are delighted to hear that you have liked the hotel location finding it very close to most of the main attractions. We are happy you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. Thanks for the kind words about our service and staffs, will share them with the team here. Appreciate your high recommendation, we hope to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,824)
There are newer reviews for The Orchard Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 2,824 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2014

The hotel is in amazingly clean, customer service is excellent and the location can't be beat. You are far enough away from Union Square that you don't get the huge crowds and all the street noise, but is only minutes to walk there. The rooms were spacious, beds comfortable and very quiet (could not hear anything in the hallway or from adjacent rooms and very little street noise). There is a cable car stop right by the hotel, but we never used it. There are also amazing diners and restaurants very close to the hotel (Scala's Bistro was our favorite and recommended by the hotel staff - they had the best french fries we have ever had!! And the pizza at Uncle Vito's was fantastic too!). We will definitely stay here again when we come back to SF.

Room Tip: We got a Grand Deluxe King Room which guarantees you a room on the top two floors - this would reduc...
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lesliewens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. I completely agree with you regarding our rooms, aren't they comfortable considering they are one of the most important elements we offer our guests. As you mentioned, our location is just fantastic! You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside the hotel doors. At the Orchard Hotel, an exceptional customer service is our promise to our guests. We are delighted to hear that you will come back to stay with us. Thanks again for your time, we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2014

The hotel is very well located, just a few blocks from Union Square. Rooms are large, very clean and beds are very comfortable. The team has been so nice with us during our 5 days stay ! A perfect "home" in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank stoullieux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Perfection is definitely what we strive for! We are beyond pleased to hear we have met or even exceeded your expectations. We are pleased that we have made your stay an enjoyable one and you have commented on us a Perfect Home in San Francisco. We appreciate ever so much of your time in writing the review. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

San Francisco was dirty then it got clean and pretty, but now it is becoming dirty pissy-smelling , bum filled and nasty again (Union Square area) that being said, this hotel was a great place as it was high on the hill far enough from the insanity but close enough to walk into it. It was like leaving the scummy Union Square bums and hawkers and entering a completely other world. A nice comfortable quiet and clean one. Awesome furniture everything is comfortable and the bathroom is huge. Views are great, road noise, which in San Fran can get upwards of obnoxious in the morning, was not bad at all. There were four of us in the room and we could have fit more comfortably. Front desk folks super helpful. Didn't eat in the hotel restaurant so cannot comment on that. Where we did eat...Uncle Vitos! You have to eat here. If you stay at the Orchard hotel and do not eat at Uncle Vitos, you have missed out. The mushroom burger is the bomb and the pizza is awesome. It is nearly right outside the door, along with one of San Francisco's 932 Walgreens. Great place in what used to be a great city that is going the way of a weed smoke smelling, piss in every single public place and on every single public surface, super expensive marked up then marked half off stores that cater to the affluent asian tourist. I hope San Fran does not turn into New York. It seems to be going that way. This hotel will make you forget that there is even a city outside and youll want to hang out with your family and friends in the room.

Room Tip: Eat at Uncle Vitos Be prepared to feel so at home in your room you truly wouldn't mind just sta...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LAJoe2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experiences of your recent trip to San Francisco and at our hotel. As lot of guest s commented, San Francisco is such an interesting and great city to visit. We are happy to hear that you have liked our well-appointed guest room; and find it comfortable, clean, and quiet and lived up to your expectation. We are glad that you have enjoyed the easy and fine dining options closed by the hotel. We sincerely hope that you will try and experience the food and atmosphere of our restaurant next time when you stay with us. Appreciate your compliments about our staffs, will make sure to share your kind words with them. Thanks again for your patronage and comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to San Francisco and the Orchard Hotel in the soonest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hotel location is good and well within walking distance of Union Square, Market Street and the surrounding shopping area - Fisherman's wharf is within a 30 minute walk. Chinatown is a short walk away.
There is also a Cable Car stop outside the front door.
The Hotel is, however, on a busy street so if street noise is a concern an alternative Hotel in a quieter area may be preferable.
Friendly staff are very helpful. The rooms are clean, good sized and quiet.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank thesheriff89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 16, 2014

Thank you for the kind review! You certainly said it best with location. As our guests are enjoying the benefits of the hotel’s convenient location, with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing, under such circumstance, noise issues are sometimes regrettably understandable. We do have rooms that are located in the quiet side of the building and is away from the busy traffic. Please indicate your preference of a quiet room on your next visit with us. We will do our best to accommodate your needs. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Orchard Hotel is a really nice boutique Hotel in the Union Square area of San Francisco. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Valet parking was a little pricey at $42, but everything in San Francisco is a little pricey. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. Overall, very nice.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dlc143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2014

We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As we all know, everything in San Francisco can be on the expensive side compared to some other cities. Our goal is to make sure we provide our guest with excellent value. We are glad to know that we have met up with your expectation; and you will recommend our hotel. Thanks for taking the time to do this. We look forward to having the chance to see you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2014

From the doorman and reception staff through to the rooms themselves, we've nothing but praise for this hotel.

Quite apart from its excellent location, it succeeds in the rare achievement of combining grand hotel quality of rooms with friendly, small-hotel atmosphere. Sure, it's not the cheapest in SF (take the city tour if you want to see those....), but in terms of bang-for-your-buck, I can think of nowhere to match it, anywhere.

Room was well air conditioned (surprisingly uncommon in SF), and very well decorated; the spacious bathroom almost made it a pleasure to get out of bed. Beyond the room, everything was very well maintained.

Only regret was that we were on a short visit so didn't have an opportunity to try out the restaurant.

Would return to this gem in a heartbeat.

PS: Suggestion to management to make rooms even better: would be handy to have some cupboard space under the dual sinks to put stuff out of the way.

Room Tip: As the hotel is conveniently central, we were concerned about noise so asked for a quiet room, and g...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerbilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2014

We love reading reviews when the guests end with a promise to return. It makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do. Appreciate very much of your compliments about our staff. We must admit, we are lucky to have a team of employee’s that sincerely care about our guest and their experiences. From the Front Desk, Doorman to Housekeepers.. We all work together as a team with one goal in mind, your satisfaction! We are pleased to hear we have met, even exceeded your expectations. Come back and see us again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,315 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
5,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
3,288 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
4,764 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $225 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing