We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good central position close to all the major sights & attractions”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good central position close to all the major sights & attractions”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Hotel location is good and well within walking distance of Union Square, Market Street and the surrounding shopping area - Fisherman's wharf is within a 30 minute walk. Chinatown is a short walk away.
There is also a Cable Car stop outside the front door.
The Hotel is, however, on a busy street so if street noise is a concern an alternative Hotel in a quieter area may be preferable.
Friendly staff are very helpful. The rooms are clean, good sized and quiet.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thesheriff89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2014
Thank you for the kind review! You certainly said it best with location. As our guests are enjoying the benefits of the hotel’s convenient location, with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing, under such circumstance, noise issues are sometimes regrettably understandable. We do have rooms that are located in the quiet side of the building and is away from the busy traffic. Please indicate your preference of a quiet room on your next visit with us. We will do our best to accommodate your needs. We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,778 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,671
    890
    156
    39
    22
See reviews for
310
1,304
173
431
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tomball, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2014

The Orchard Hotel is a really nice boutique Hotel in the Union Square area of San Francisco. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The Valet parking was a little pricey at $42, but everything in San Francisco is a little pricey. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend it. Overall, very nice.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dlc143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
We are pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As we all know, everything in San Francisco can be on the expensive side compared to some other cities. Our goal is to make sure we provide our guest with excellent value. We are glad to know that we have met up with your expectation; and you will recommend our hotel. Thanks for taking the time to do this. We look forward to having the chance to see you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2014

From the doorman and reception staff through to the rooms themselves, we've nothing but praise for this hotel.

Quite apart from its excellent location, it succeeds in the rare achievement of combining grand hotel quality of rooms with friendly, small-hotel atmosphere. Sure, it's not the cheapest in SF (take the city tour if you want to see those....), but in terms of bang-for-your-buck, I can think of nowhere to match it, anywhere.

Room was well air conditioned (surprisingly uncommon in SF), and very well decorated; the spacious bathroom almost made it a pleasure to get out of bed. Beyond the room, everything was very well maintained.

Only regret was that we were on a short visit so didn't have an opportunity to try out the restaurant.

Would return to this gem in a heartbeat.

PS: Suggestion to management to make rooms even better: would be handy to have some cupboard space under the dual sinks to put stuff out of the way.

Room Tip: As the hotel is conveniently central, we were concerned about noise so asked for a quiet room, and g...
See more room tips
Green Features: We appreciated these. It's all too easy for those of us coming from different countries to forget how desperate for water, power etc other places are - esp. California.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerbilator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We love reading reviews when the guests end with a promise to return. It makes us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do. Appreciate very much of your compliments about our staff. We must admit, we are lucky to have a team of employee’s that sincerely care about our guest and their experiences. From the Front Desk, Doorman to Housekeepers.. We all work together as a team with one goal in mind, your satisfaction! We are pleased to hear we have met, even exceeded your expectations. Come back and see us again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was our first time staying at The Orchard Hotel but definitely won't be the last. We reserved a suite which was quite large, nicely decorated and very accommodating. The location is very good and within walking distance to Union Square, Market Street and surrounding shopping area. It is on a busy street so if street noise is a concern, ask for a room on the quiet side of the bldg. Although suites face the street, we really weren't bothered by noise at all... Suites are not cheap but not overpriced for what you get. Regular sleeping rooms are considerably less if you're on a budget.

We loved our stay and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: The suites are lovely. Although I didn't see a regular sleeping room, I was told they are nice...
See more room tips
Green Features: this is a "green" hotel and is very environmentally friendly. Read more about their practices on their website.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. While we are happy to hear that you have liked our tastefully appointed guest suite. As you have mentioned, our location is pretty hard to beat. You have almost everything quintessential San Francisco in any direction once you step out of doors. We are delighted that we were able to accommodate your needs during your stay; and equally excited to hear that you will return to stay with us in future. Thanks again for your patronage; we look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Randolph, NJ
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2014

This was a very nice boutique hotel experience. Comfy beds - helpful staff - great location. I would stay here again. the cable car goes up Powell, right around corner from hotel. Walking distance to Union Square.

Green Features: recycling everywhere in San Fran, including the hotel, won't change linens every day. Definitely seemed like a "green" hotel.
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thanks ever so much for the review. We must agree with you. Our location as you mentioned, simply cannot be beat with easy access to all kinds of activities. We are pleased that you have liked our comfy beds and found the staff helpful. We are glad to hear that you will come back to stay with us. Look forward to seeing you again in the soonest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Extremely friendly staff with very helpful advice to navigate the city. The rooms were very clean, good sized and quiet. The location made it easy to walk to all the main tourist attractions or catch tours -or public transportation.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Norm P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Great review! We really appreciate you taking the time to do this. Our location certainly can’t be beat, with most of the major tourist spot so close and accessible to. We are happy that you have found our room clean, spacious and quiet. We do have a wonderful team here really goes above and beyond their duty to making sure your stay is perfect. We are so glad that you have had a lovely stay with us. Hope to see you again in the soonest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I needed a centrally located hotel that wouldn't break the bank - The Orchard was a good choice. Very walkable to Union Square, Chinatown, food and coffee. The staff is extremely nice and professional - especially both doormen. The room I was in was quite spacious and comfortable. There was one cosmetic "blemish" on the bathroom tub, and a small tear in my comforter, but other than those, the room was clean, stylish, quiet and quite nice. Free WiFi worked perfectly. I would recommend this hotel to anyone on a mid-range budget who isn't seeking ultra-posh amenities.

Room Tip: We were in a room that was not overlooking the street, and was not near the elevator. It was nice a...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Orchard walks the walk! Plus, the room was not perfumed, and the bath supplies were of good quality (not stinky, foofy soap) LEED Certified Gold Green Seal Certified Tracks energy use ENERGY STAR guest room appliances Non-toxic pest control
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
We appreciate your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We can’t help but agree with you on our location; very walkable to shopping, the restaurants and the sightseeing…The only decision you really have to make is which direction to go out our front doors? Thank you for your compliments about the staff especially the doorman; will pass on your positive feedback to them. We are so sorry about the findings on the bath tub and the comforter. Please rest assured, we have addressed the issues to the concerned department for their attentions and improvements. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity of seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,241 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 229 in San Francisco
3,214 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing