We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place when you visit San Francisco”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Excellent location, within walking distance from Union Square and all the attractions; many restaurants and bars close by, plenty of choices for entertainment, shopping and dining.
Elegant hotel, good size rooms and bathrooms, all very clean and top level service.
Personnel is very friendly, professional and helpful.
Breakfast was great, fresh, crispy fruit, good coffee, fresh squeezed orange juice and a variety of choices of food, from oatmeal and fruit to delicious omelet, pancakes or waffles.
Really appreciated the free parking and free breakfast package.
We will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We stayed on a higher floor, and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoveNewPlaces58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for the great review! Glad to hear that you have taken advantage of our promotion package to include parking and breakfast. It is really a good deal! As you mention, our location really doesn't get any better. The shopping, the restaurants, the sightseeing… The only decision you have to make is which direction to gout our front doors? Appreciate ever so much of your complements about the staffs. We are glad to know that you have tried and loved the food and services at our Daffodil Restaurant. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you to come back very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,852)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

807 - 813 of 2,855 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2014

An excellent hotel in a perfect location for seeing the usual sights. We had a suite which was very comfortable and spacious with a lovely mattress too! The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly. If I had to criticize something it would be the breakfast. The scrambled egg was rubbery and small oval plates were impractical for large pieces of toast. But that's it. we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a little noise from the cable of the passing trams, so I suppose higher up is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carol_chintz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. While we are happy to hear that you have liked our tastefully appointed guest suite. We couldn't agree with you more regarding our hotel where we are positioned downtown with easy access to most of the major attractions. Appreciate your compliments about the staffs, will share your words with the team here. We are so sorry to hear of your unpleasant experiences with the breakfast at our restaurant. We assure that your feedback has been addressed to the concerned departments and personnel for the immediate attentions and improvement. We value your comment and indeed so glad to hear that you will come back to stay with us again. Look forward to seeing you very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Orchard Hotel for 5 nights on our way to Vancouver where I had to go for business. We arrived from Dubai where we stayed in a suite at the Hilton for a couple of nights. I was therefore concerned that I may be disappointed with the Orchard Hotel. The Orchard Hotel is a great hotel if you do not want to stay in one of the big chain/business hotels. The hotel is very centrally located close to Union Square and China town and is walking distance from the Ferry Building and other tourist attractions. The cable car stops at the corner next to the hotel.

The hotel staff was very friendly and very helpful with giving directions and proposing sites to see and restaurants. Our room was quite large and was very tastefully decorated with all standard amenities, clean and with a very comfortable king size bed. Our room was quiet with no sounds from outside (we faced the back and not the street - not much of a view therefore).

I will recommend this hotel if you want to stay for a couple of days on holiday and want to explore San Francisco on foot, and do not want to stay in the hotel all day where you would require the amenities of a business hotel/resort.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wviviers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience. As you mention, we are not the chained hotel with ton of amenities to offer their guest. We anticipate our unique character of the boutique hotel to provide our guest with consistent and personal experiences. We couldn’t have said it better ourselves. Our location is just stellar. Shops, restaurants, sightseeing and transportation are within a stone’s throw from our front doors. We are also glad that you have liked our tastefully appointed room. Appreciate very much your kind words regarding the staff, will share them with the team here. Once again, thank you for your recommendation and look forward to having the opportunity to see you again in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My stay at the Orchard Hotel was fabulous! I was only in San Francisco for a weekend and wanted to stay in a central location. The hotel is very centrally located but on a relatively quiet street. It was easy to get anywhere and the hotel staff was incredibly friendly and helpful in giving directions. My room was spotless and very cozy. I truly felt at home. I received nightly turndown service which was a nice touch. There was a fully-stocked, and tasteful, minibar in the room. I never heard a sound from the hotel inside my room. I had a delicious breakfast in the restaurant and the waitstaff was super-friendly. I was traveling alone and I felt so at home and very safe. I would definitely stay here again. Big big bonus that the hotel is eco-friendly!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandS_NYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to San Francisco. We are thrilled to hear that we did not disappoint you, and equally excited to hear that you will come back to stay with us again in future. You certainly said it best with “location”. You can’t beat where we are positioned downtown, while you also find it very safe with the feel of home away from home. Pleased to hear that you have tried our Daffodil Restaurant, and that you are happy with the foods and services. Appreciate of your kind words on our efforts being an Eco-conscious hotel. Thanks again for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2014

My wife and I stayed at The Orchard Hotel after reviewing many positive reviews posted on tripadvisor. We stayed in a Grand Deluxe King located on the 10th floor and the suite was as promised...beautiful, well-appointed and quiet. Since we used a rental car traveling to SF we parked it in the Sutter-Stockton Garage on Bush (the same block as The Orchard) and adventured to Fisherman's Wharf using the easily accessible cable car mere steps from The Orchards' front door. The front desk attendant was very friendly when we checked in and provided assistance in mapping out the local transportation routes (cable car and F line) before we trekked out. A final few words - the bed was Amazing, the staff (including the gentleman attending the 10th floor) were outstanding, and the eco-friendly low-flow Niagara shower made for a great start in the morning! The Orchard will definitely be our place to stay when we visit SF again this fall.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 1004 on the 10th floor facing Bush Street. Super quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scott t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Tripadvisor does it again! We are thrilled to hear our ratings and reviews are what got you in our door, considering there are hundreds of hotels to choose from-so thank you! We are so happy that you have liked our well appointed, beautiful and quiet room. Aside from the location, I would say our staff is what makes our hotel so special. They are caring, sincere and always willing to go an extra step to help our guest in any way they could possible manage. Thank you for the kind words and commending us on our efforts as an eco-conscious hotel. Glad to hear that the Orchard Hotel will be your place to stay when you visit San Francisco in future. We look forward welcoming you back very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2014

My best friend and I recently took a girls' trip to San Francisco. I had not been there in over 30 years. Found The Orchard Hotel through tripadvisor and it was everything we hoped it would be. The rooms were spacious, clean and extremely comfortable. I have never met such friendly and helpful hotel staff. Housekeeping left us more towels than we could use and turned down the beds every night. The restaurants they recommended exceeded our expectations and they answered all of our questions concerning transportation around the city. The location is perfect - just steps to the cable car line and just down the street from the gate to China Town and an easy walk to Union Square and the Financial District. We discovered a wonderful little cafe called Roxanne's Cafe right next door and ate breakfast there every morning. The waitresses were delightful and the food excellent. The Orchard Hotel is not your typical large chain hotel. It is truly a boutique hotel and worth every dime, which we considered very reasonable. We honestly felt like we were home every time we walked through the door after a very busy day enjoying the tremendous city of San Francisco. I would recommend it to anyone and everyone and will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaryW5430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you again Tripadvisor !! We are so happy that the girl’s trip to San Francisco was a success; this is such a great city. We are also thrilled to hear that our hotel was a part of that positive experience. We truly believe that we have a lot to offer our guests when they stay with us. We strive to provide every guest with a consistent and exceptional service, from services to amenities. I think they are unique and well worth the value. We must admit, we are extremely lucky to have a team of employee’s that sincerely care about our guest and their experience. We love reading guest’s review with a promise to return. Appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation, we look forward to welcoming back very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We were lucky to be spoiled with a king-sized suite, which was fantastic - the bathroom was enormous and we had a large lounge area. The bed was the comfiest I have ever slept in. It's a relatively small hotel in a great location near Union Square, so it's handy for the cable car, shopping and all the sights. There are some nice little extras such as the cosy dressing gowns in the room, which are lightweight but still warm inside, free chocolates when the cleaners come to turn the bed down and complimentary water bottles. The staff were all polite and friendly and when we had a slight issue when we arrived, they were very quick to sort it out. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandJYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 8, 2014

Thank you for the great review! While we are happy to hear that you have liked our tastefully appointed guest suite and the amenities. As lot of our guests commented, our bed is the comfiest they have ever slept in. We couldn't agree with you more regarding our location. You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside our doors. Appreciate your compliments about the staffs. Guest service is one of our very best qualities. We focus on meeting our guest needs. Our goal is your satisfaction. Glad to hear we made your stay a great one. Look forward to seeing you again.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,313 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,713 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $209 - $451 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing