We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed March 24, 2014

Clean, quiet, friendly....great location near Union Square and Chinatown. Comfortable beds....reasonably priced compared to the big boys. Right near trolley to the Wharf too. Would stay again. Pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drewcorey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

We are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us. You certainly said it best with “LOCATION”. You really can’t beat where we are positioned downtown with easy access to all kinds of sightseeing and activities. One thing we keep hearing from our guest is “They like our bed” Ain’t they comfortable?! Glad you said that we are reasonably priced and you also concluded the experience was indeed value worth. Love reading reviews when guest end with a promise to return. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 2,860 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Orchard is a beautiful hotel. I asked for a quiet room, and we got one. The linens are divine, the bed really comfy, and it is SPOTLESSLY CLEAN (important!) and sizable. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Our 6 day stay was also a working vacation for my husband, and we had difficulty with the the wifi. Not only did they send up their engineer two times to help, the manager also gave him a direct number to an individual at the company who manages the wifi! They went out of their way to make sure we were helped and the problem was solved. Location is great- ChinaTown is few blocks away, and the area is full of first rate restaurants, and shopping galore. A real plus? I noticed they used Seventh Generation products to clean and they make recycling bins available in all the rooms. We loved our stay. You will too!

Room Tip: The King rooms have large bathrooms and are located on the 10th floor. Nice and quiet up here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MargieMorningstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Thanks ever so much for the great review. Happy to hear that your request for a quiet room was accommodated; and you have found the room comfortable, spacious and spotlessly clean. Kudos to our Housekeeping team for their excellent job! Thank you for the gracious words on our staffs. We must admit. We are extremely lucky to have a team of employee’s that sincerely care about our guest and their experience. We are so sorry for the inconvenience about the WIFI deficiencies. However, we are pleased to know that the issue was resolved to your satisfaction. Glad that you have enjoyed the hotel location. We truly appreciate your comments of our efforts being a green hotel. Look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fine for your basic hotel needs, but beyond that it's really nothing too great. I do like that writing this review means the hotel contributes to the Plant a Billion project, which is the only reason I'm writing this actually. :)

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
2  Thank Rmccorm2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write us the review. We appreciate very much for the kind words and commending us on our efforts and contributions to the Plant a Billion Project. Being the green property, our goal is to protect our natural resources and to provide a cleaner and environmentally friendly atmosphere to our guest. We are very disappointed to hear that you have not able to experience the very true Orchard Hotel that we offer our guests. I would like to have the opportunity speaking with you to know more in details about your stay with us; and how we could possibly improve our service and offerings to meet with your expectations. Look forward to hearing from you soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights with a delegation from Scotland. The first thing I noticed was how friendly the staff where - always gave a goodbye or a welcome back which was nice. Room was fine and the air-con quiet although the housekeeper constantly turned it off so my room was roasting when I got back each evening.

Great location only two blocks from Union Square and close to many bars and restaurants.

I stayed on a group rate for the first 5 days but had to pay a fair whack for the last 2 nights which was pretty much the rack rate. Would have liked to have stayed for my second week in the city but it was just too expensive.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LolTM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for the review. We are thrilled that our staff here have made such an impression and grateful that you decided to document your experience. As you mentioned the location is pretty stellar, especially if you are on a business travel and you also need to do a little “leisure” while you are here. Being a green hotel, we try our best in every possible way to conserve energy. Turning off the air-con in unattended guest room is one of our policies to achieve our mission. We apologized for any convenience that caused. As we all know, hotels in San Francisco can be on the expensive side compared to some other cities. Do plan ahead and take advantage of any seasonal promotions. You may be surprised finding a very competitive and reasonable deal. We hope to see you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This is a lovely hotel. The staff are friendly and very helpful, especially the doormen. Our room was quiet, clean and the beds were comfortable. We especially appreciated the option of a "green" room, including an air filter. We also like the fact that green products are used and that the linen did not reek of fabric softeners or bleach. We love this hotel and will be back whenever we visit San Francisco.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elizabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you for the great words about our hotel and staff. Our # 1 goal is to provide every guest with a consistent and exceptional experience. Will share your comment with the team here especially to our doormen. We are happy that you have tried and liked our newly launched Pure Room. They are treated with a cutting edge process that cleans the air and surfaces, providing the ultimate comfort level for those sensitive to airborne particles. We appreciate very much your recognition of our efforts as an eco-conscious hotel. Our mission is to provide our guest a cleaner, environmentally friendly and healthier atmosphere. Thanks again for the review and look forward to seeing again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

You can find calm and quite in the middle of the city. Friendly staff, plush room. Walk everywhere in this walkable city and save over $40 a night for parking if you can live without a car. We missed the happy hour deal - being there on Sunday and Monday night. No lack of nearby restaurants - check out the many choices on Belden Place a few blocks to the east just off Bush St. The Powell St, cable car is just around the corner to the west - It may feel like a long ride to Fisherman's Wharf but, the walk back via the North Beach neighborhood that straddles Columbus Ave then through Chinatown is a fun way to spend an afternoon. You will avoid the steep hills and put a load of attractions from your tour book within reach. Back at the Orchard, you will sleep well.

Room Tip: don't worry about noise from a street side room. the windows are well insulated and the traffic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 23, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the experience during your recent stay at our hotel. We agree totally with you, San Francisco is such a great city to visit. . Happy to hear that you have indeed enjoyed the convenient of hotel location. While reading through your notes, it seems you have explored almost all the highlighted sightseeing, shopping and dining points of the city. Thank you for the kind words regarding the stay, will share your feedback with the entire team here. We are sorry for the inconvenience caused due to the restaurant closed on Sunday and Monday nights. Please try our Happy Hours Cocktails Special next time while you are in town during the week days. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2014

As stated in the title, the hotel was pretty good and the room exceeded expectations. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. I stayed here for a week.

My room was right beside the lift/elevator, which was really noisy. Just a minor gripe, though.

However, I had to make a brief phone call to my bank, back in the UK, to cancel a lost card. The call lasted 5 minutes 30 seconds (yes, I timed it on my iPhone). When I checked out I was told the cost of the phone call would be $30.00! Unbelievable! $6 per minute to call an international number, this is simply outrageous and was a pretty sour note to end on. There was nothing in the welcome pack or during the call process to inform me how much this would actually (or even likely) cost. You really need to sort that, i.e. have a list of likely call charges on the phone or in the welcome pack.

Room Tip: make sure it's not beside the lift/elevator shaft
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We appreciate very much your kind words about the property and the staff. Guest service is one of our very best qualities. It’s great to hear we have exceeded your expectations. Please accept our apology for the inconvenience that has caused you due to the noise issue. We do have rooms at the quiet location of the property. Please make sure to mention it on your future reservations. Thank you for your comment about the long distance telephone calls charges. We value guest feedback, positive and negative, allows us to improve our service and offerings to our guests. Please rests assure, we have taken your comments seriously to rectify how we could do better on the guests’ perspective. Once again, thank you for your patronage and comment. We sincerely hope to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,316 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $209 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing