We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect mini-vacation”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Fremont, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect mini-vacation”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

Every year my family takes a mini-vacation (2 days) in San Francisco during Xmas time. We book a hotel near Union Square so we can walk around and enjoy the decorations, carolers, restaurants and shopping. This was our first year at the Orchard and it was fabulous, In previous years we have stayed at major chain hotels in the area. We all agreed that the Orchard was far superior. The rooms were larger and more beautifully decorated and furnished. The bed was huge and the many pillows and down comforter were amazing. The staff was available and attentive. It was refreshing to stay in a smaller, peaceful venue where the elevator was immediately available and neither the lobby nor elevator were crowded and noisy. The location was terrific, close to everything we wanted to see and do. I booked the room using Priceline and I was initially disappointed not to "win" a room in one of the major chains. Boy was I wrong. We lucked out with the Orchard Hotel. We highly recommend it.

Room Tip: I don't think there are any bad rooms. All the ones I peaked in (during cleaning time) looked gr...
See more room tips
Green Features: The Orchard had literature around that showed they take environmentally friendly practices seriously. For example, they plant a tree in a rain forest for every review (good or bad) that someone writes.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kacyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Orchard Hotel during your recent mini-vacation here in San Francisco. We are happy to hear we did not disappoint; and is equally excited to hear that you have enjoyed our unique character of the boutique hotel. We couldn’t have said it better ourselves. Our location as you mentioned is simply cannot be beat; with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations. Thank you for the kind words about the staff. They really do their best to keep our guest as comfortable and happy as they can. We appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    882
    155
    39
    21
See reviews for
306
1,295
172
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

From the moment we pulled up outside the hotel great experiences followed one another. Staff at the door and reception were super friendly and efficient. It was so nice to be wished a pleasant day as we left each morning and then to be welcomed back on our return. The room was spacious and well equipped and spotless. The bed one of the most comfortable we have experienced. The location a few blocks from Union Square and adjacent to the cable car and bus routes is super convenient.

Room Tip: Our room on the second floor was quiet although we did get occasional traffic noise. Recommend askin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan_and_Marion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
What a fantastic review regarding our hotel and staff, which is music to our ears. Perfection is definitely what we strive for. Aside from the convenient location and our well-appointed guest rooms, exceptional customer services are also our promise to our guest. We are extremely lucky to have a team of employees that sincerely care about our guest and their experiences. From your notes, we are thrilled to hear that we have met, even exceeded your expectation. We appreciate very much your high recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
Reviewed December 19, 2013

Not sure why the ratings are so high on this hotel, I stayed there last week and was disappointed with the place. First of all, not enough elevators, Super cold hallways and lobby - Room felt old, dark and beds were small. Lobby restaurant was closed for a private event and vibe was depressing. Positives, tv worked great and staff was friendly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RD S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard hotel during your receipt trip to San Francisco. While we are happy to hear that you have found our staff friendly. Here we work together with one “GOAL”; our guest satisfaction from service to amenities and product. It has appeared that we fell short of your expectations this time. We want to assure that we have taken your feedback very seriously. They have given us valuable information on the guests’ perspective and to that, we are grateful. In order to regain your faith to the Orchard Hotel, please contact me directly in making your next reservation when you are in town. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2013

I also stayed here for a week while attending a conference. Found it a very quiet place even though the hotel is located very central and just minutes by feet to a variety of great restaurants. Also prime location for strolls in the city centre and to the nearby coast. For SF, the hotel offers large rooms with all amenities that are needed for a pleasant extended stay. The staff were very friendly and helpful at any time. Certainly will come back.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nakluswa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. Yet, to hear that you will come back to stay with us again makes us even more grateful. We couldn’t agree with you more regarding our location. You literally have everything quintessential San Francisco outside our doors. Our location suites all business and leisure travelers no matter what nature of your visit are here in the city. We are happy to hear that you have also liked our well-appointed guest room; and found our staff friendly and helpful to assist you at all time. We appreciate ever so much of your high recommendation. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel. Based on an outstanding experience four years ago, we rebooked for a magical long weekend. The location was still great and the rooms were comfortable but the sense we had is that cost controls are in place despite the fact that this is still a relatively pricey place.

The halls and elevator shaft were frigid with no evidence of heating outside the rooms. The breakfast room/bar was understaffed with one poor staff who struggled to meet customer needs. We got some serious stomach upset from the appetizers that were on offer so that made us wonder how many times they had been reheated. The hotel actually rented out the whole bar and restaurant on the Saturday night to a private party -the heck with the guests apparently.

This hotel has apparently invested in spa facilities but could use work on the main floor. A properly staffed bar and a front desk staffed by people who were more responsive would be a start. Heating in the rest of the hotel in December would help too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We appreciate very much your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We love to have repeat guests. It’s always our # 1 goal to provide our guest with consistent and exceptional services so that they will keep coming back to experience the same level of services they always enjoy. We are indeed very disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations during your recent stay. We value guest comments, positive and negative; they could drive us to enhance our offerings to stay competitive; to improve in meeting our guest’s expectations. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously in heart and will begin immediately in rectifying all the issue with concerned departments and personnel for their attentions. On your next trip to San Francisco, I invite you to contact me directly in making your reservation. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in future and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week while for a conference
Had high expectations based on the reviews but the room was average and we got woken up at 3 every night when the trash was picked up
No amenities associated with luxury hotel
Servers friendly

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Consistent and exceptional experiences are our promise to our guests. It has appeared that we fell short of your expectations and our goal during your stay. Guest’s feedback allows us to measure and further improve our service and offerings to meet with guests' expectation. Your review has given us valuable information on the guests’ perspective. We also want to apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the exterior noise factor. In order to regain your faith to Orchard Hotel, I invite you to contact me directly in making your next reservation when you are in town. I will personally assure you a pleasant, enjoyable and quiet stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Totally impressed
Great location
Exit hotel, go left and head down hill to Union Square!
Union Square has shopping, mall, restaurants, very busy lively area!
Worked at 595 Market St for a week. Easy 20 min walk!
Note: streets are not on a square grid. Get map from hotel.
Drove with town car drivers each morning to work. This may be complimentary or for a small fee. Awesome! Easy walk back late evening!
Hotel staff so friendly and attentive.
Cornell was so helpful on my arrival. Unloaded car, arranged transportation etc! All the others were so attentive and accommodating too! So impressive!
Stayed in room 408. Awesome room. Only issue was slight stains on upholstered bench and chair. I think they tried to clean them but I noticed the discoloration. May be too picky. But they need another cleaning.
Bedroom was large
Bathroom is large with ample counter space
A lot of plush white towels
Nightly turn down service with chocolate. Nice touch!
Available refrigerator packed with pricey snacks and drinks. I didn't use the liquor, soda or snacks. Instead I bought ample snacks and fruits from Walgreens around the corner.
Bed was large and comfy
Large closet
Delivery from nearby restaurant was tasty and inexpensive
Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingArtQueenLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. We have to agree with you, our location suites all travelers. Business, leisure, family vacations…..you name it! We are delighted that we were able to accommodate your needs while staying with us. We are also glad you felt the room lived up to your expectations. We appreciate ever so much your kind words about our staffs. Our team is truly one of a kind. Caring, sincere and always willing to help a guest in any way that we could possibly manage. On this note, I am sharing your word with the entirely team, especially to Cornell, our Concierge/Doorman. Glad to hear that your stay was great and enjoyable. We sincerely hope to welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,165 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,124 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing