We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just an average disappointment”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Just an average disappointment”
Reviewed December 15, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel. Based on an outstanding experience four years ago, we rebooked for a magical long weekend. The location was still great and the rooms were comfortable but the sense we had is that cost controls are in place despite the fact that this is still a relatively pricey place.

The halls and elevator shaft were frigid with no evidence of heating outside the rooms. The breakfast room/bar was understaffed with one poor staff who struggled to meet customer needs. We got some serious stomach upset from the appetizers that were on offer so that made us wonder how many times they had been reheated. The hotel actually rented out the whole bar and restaurant on the Saturday night to a private party -the heck with the guests apparently.

This hotel has apparently invested in spa facilities but could use work on the main floor. A properly staffed bar and a front desk staffed by people who were more responsive would be a start. Heating in the rest of the hotel in December would help too.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
We appreciate very much your comments of your recent stay at our hotel. We love to have repeat guests. It’s always our # 1 goal to provide our guest with consistent and exceptional services so that they will keep coming back to experience the same level of services they always enjoy. We are indeed very disappointed to hear that we fell short of your expectations during your recent stay. We value guest comments, positive and negative; they could drive us to enhance our offerings to stay competitive; to improve in meeting our guest’s expectations. Please rest assured, we have taken your comments seriously in heart and will begin immediately in rectifying all the issue with concerned departments and personnel for their attentions. On your next trip to San Francisco, I invite you to contact me directly in making your reservation. I will personally assure you of a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Once again, we value your patronage and comments. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in future and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    882
    155
    39
    21
See reviews for
306
1,295
172
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a week while for a conference
Had high expectations based on the reviews but the room was average and we got woken up at 3 every night when the trash was picked up
No amenities associated with luxury hotel
Servers friendly

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Joe D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Consistent and exceptional experiences are our promise to our guests. It has appeared that we fell short of your expectations and our goal during your stay. Guest’s feedback allows us to measure and further improve our service and offerings to meet with guests' expectation. Your review has given us valuable information on the guests’ perspective. We also want to apologize for the inconvenience caused due to the exterior noise factor. In order to regain your faith to Orchard Hotel, I invite you to contact me directly in making your next reservation when you are in town. I will personally assure you a pleasant, enjoyable and quiet stay with us. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Totally impressed
Great location
Exit hotel, go left and head down hill to Union Square!
Union Square has shopping, mall, restaurants, very busy lively area!
Worked at 595 Market St for a week. Easy 20 min walk!
Note: streets are not on a square grid. Get map from hotel.
Drove with town car drivers each morning to work. This may be complimentary or for a small fee. Awesome! Easy walk back late evening!
Hotel staff so friendly and attentive.
Cornell was so helpful on my arrival. Unloaded car, arranged transportation etc! All the others were so attentive and accommodating too! So impressive!
Stayed in room 408. Awesome room. Only issue was slight stains on upholstered bench and chair. I think they tried to clean them but I noticed the discoloration. May be too picky. But they need another cleaning.
Bedroom was large
Bathroom is large with ample counter space
A lot of plush white towels
Nightly turn down service with chocolate. Nice touch!
Available refrigerator packed with pricey snacks and drinks. I didn't use the liquor, soda or snacks. Instead I bought ample snacks and fruits from Walgreens around the corner.
Bed was large and comfy
Large closet
Delivery from nearby restaurant was tasty and inexpensive
Overall a great stay.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KingArtQueenLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience during your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. We have to agree with you, our location suites all travelers. Business, leisure, family vacations…..you name it! We are delighted that we were able to accommodate your needs while staying with us. We are also glad you felt the room lived up to your expectations. We appreciate ever so much your kind words about our staffs. Our team is truly one of a kind. Caring, sincere and always willing to help a guest in any way that we could possibly manage. On this note, I am sharing your word with the entirely team, especially to Cornell, our Concierge/Doorman. Glad to hear that your stay was great and enjoyable. We sincerely hope to welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We have stayed at this comfortable hotel many times over the years. We would not stay at any other hotel in SF. From the moment we arrive at the front door, each time it's like coming home. In fact, when it's time to return to the hotel day or night, we say "let's go home". No matter who is at the front door or front desk, there always are pleasant greetings. Since it's a small hotel, there are no crowds and service from everyone is always efficient and quick. The rooms (and bathrooms) are large, nicely decorated and very comfortable. And quiet. Beds are very comfortable. Bath accessories and the mini-bar are nice. WiFi is free and works well. The location, near Powell St. and its cable car, below Nob Hill, just above Union Square, and near Chinatown, is great for walks, sightseeing, shopping, and restaurants for every taste and budget. Both SOMA and the Financial District are less than a 10 minute walk. This is a perfect place to stay for both business and leisure purposes. And the room rates consistently are the best value in SF.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aschuchter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for your great review. We are thrilled to know that Orchard Hotel becomes your Home away from Home here in San Francisco. Aside from our perfect location for both leisure and business travelers, exceptional guest service is the foundation of our promise to our guests; we strive to provide every guest with a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and product. We are beyond pleased to hear we are consistently meeting and even exceeding your expectations when you stay with us. We would love for you to come back and see us again very soon in future.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Have stayed at this hotel a number of times. Always remembered by Front door person every time. Calls us by name. He is full of information about San Francisco. Very efficient staff at the front desk who check you in and out quickly. Rooms are very nicely appointed with very comfortable beds, nice bath accessories, in room cd and dvd and mini bar. Robes are provided in every room. The hotel is always spotless. It is a great place for business or leisure stay and can be a great place for a romantic interlude. Well placed in San Francisco, within a couple of blocks of Union Square and great shopping and also a number of great restaurants. Cable cars stop on the corner next to the hotel that will take you to Ghiradelli Square where other great restaurants are available. All in all a great place to stay and well priced.

Room Tip: All rooms are very quiet.
See more room tips
Green Features: Has won awards for it's environmental friendly practices.
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for the great review! Reading your words make us feel like we have accomplished what we set out to do, which is keep you coming back! The more you visit, the better we get to know you and what you like. We have guests like you who frequently return to us time and time again. They soon become part of the family, which when they are traveling, they long for the feeling of “home”. We appreciate very much your compliments about the staff. As you have mentioned, our team here is just wonderful. They are caring, sincere, knowledgeable and is always willing to help a guest in any way that they could possible manage. We are happy that you have enjoyed our convenient location and found it all value worth. Once again, thank you for taking the time to do this. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Smaller business hotel. Rooms are clean and the location is great if you want to be close to Union Square. The price is pretty good for the area, not much common area but there is plenty within a block or two to go for drink etc. Rooms are decent size.

Room Tip: Backside is pretty quite although we had a view of another high rise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alexandhoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience, we truly appreciate your feedback. San Francisco is such an amazing city, there is so much to do just outside the door. Union Square has so much to offer from shopping to eating and now with holidays approaching there is an ice skating rink. I cannot help but feel like a kid again slipping on the ice and awwing at the department store window displays. Despite the cooler temperatures the neighborhood feels so alive. We would be delighted to have you stay with us again in the near future.
Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paranaque City
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2013

The location was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful, and the bed was wonderful. Union Square was an easy walk from the hotel, and Westfiled Mall - which can be a most interesting place for those who want to shop - is an easy 6 blocks walk. All around there are diners and cozy restaurants and bars. It is close to Powell St where the cable cars run and of course, there's free WIFI to boot. If I am to visit San Francisco again, I will make Orchard Hotel my first choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pilar G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Thank you so much the wonderful review. We truly appreciate your kind words and feedback. I could not agree more regarding the location. There is so much to do from shopping, sightseeing and my favorite, trying all the different types of cuisine available. I am pleased you enjoyed your San Francisco getaway and that we got to be part of it. We hope to see you again soon.
Cheers
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,163 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,612 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,122 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing