We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Convenient”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Convenient”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This boutique hotel is conveniently located, with very comfortable beds, spacious but plain rooms, so don't understand where the "charming" part comes from in other reviews.
The dining room for breakfast I think would more aptly be called "The Apple or Peach Cafe" considering this is The Orchard Hotel. However, regardless of the name, the breakfasts are wonderful and so is the service! Especially recommended is the vegetarian breakfast with roasted baby vegetables.

One thing I feel would add some "charm" and "warmth" to the dining and the reception area would be to replace the large tired and formal silk flower arrangements with natural greens
or floral bouquets. At the prices charged here, that would be a great investment and improvement to the ambiance of both restaurant and lobby.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms facing front of hotel, on Bush Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reinaruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are disappointed you have not experienced the charming part of the hotel as other guests do. While we are pleased to hear that you have liked the convenient location; and you found our breakfast and services at the restaurant were wonderful. We value every guest’s feedback, positive and negative, allows us to improve our service and offerings to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectation. Your review has given us valuable information on the guests perspective and to that, we are grateful. We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in the nearest future, and your experience of true Orchard Hotel in time.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,747 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,657
    877
    154
    39
    20
See reviews for
304
1,288
172
425
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We just got back from our first visit to San Francisco and had a fabulous time. What made our holiday so special was the great choice of the Orchard Hotel as our base. After reading so many positive Tripadvisor reviews, we settled on the location at 665 Bush Ave because of its proximity to all the tourist favourites. It is just a few blocks to Chinatown and Union Square and the Westfield Mall. The Orchard is within walking distance to the Ferry Building, Fisherman's Wharf, the Embarcadero and a lovely 50 minute hike back from watching the Giants play at the AT&T Stadium. The cablecar on Powell Street stops a few minutes away. Our room was a quiet sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of the city at any time in the day or night.

The people who work at the Orchard are all extremely helpful, friendly and professional. Dave the Doorman was especially affable ,knowledgeable and willing to answer any questions about the city, as well as Grace on the desk who very attentive to the needs of guests. Our room was on the eighth floor because we asked to be away from the street sounds. You couldn't even hear the other guests in the hall or adjoining room. It was clean,spacious ( the bathroom as well), and the beds were the most comfortable we've ever slept in in any hotel.

The menu at the hotel restaurant The Daffodil was a bit pricey for our budget, so we had breakfast at Roxanne's, the cafe next door or the Cablecar Cafe and ordered delicious pizzas and sandwiches at Uncle Vito's across the street. We highly recommend the Orchard Hotel to all visitors to San Francisco and would stay there again!

Room Tip: The higher floors are quieter. We had one at the end of the hall, away from the elevator traffic.
See more room tips
Green Features: We always like to stay in places with a green policy and the Orchard has a high rating.
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Canadians_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Trip Advisor does it AGAIN….! We are thrilled to hear our ratings are what got you in our door, considering there are hundreds of hotels to choose from – so thank you. We are so happy to hear your first trip to San Francisco was a success; this is such a great city. We are pleased to hear our hotel was a part of that positive experience. We believe we really have a lot to offer our guest when they stay with us. Aside from our convenient location, we would say our staff is what makes our hotel so special. We say it all the time. At the Orchard Hotel, we strive to provide every guest an exceptional experience, from service to amenities and products. It has appeared from your review that we have achieved our goal and our promise to our guests. Thank you again for your great words regarding the staff. We will share them with the entire team especially to David, our Doorman/Concierge, and also to Grace, our Guest Service Agent. We value very much your patronage and comments. We glad to hear that you will return to stay with us again in future. Appreciate your high recommendations and look forward to seeing you soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Orchard Hotel, San Francisco is a wonderful, boutique hotel, with phenomenal service. We stayed there over Labor Day weekend and we were so impressed with how quiet and comfortable the hotel was. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and the doorman was very personable and knowledgeable about the city. We would leave our room in the morning for our daily sight-seeing, and when we returned in the evening our room was always impeccably cleaned with turn-down service and chocolates on the bed side table. The hotel has free Wifi which is an amazing additional feature to an already amazing hotel. The location of the hotel is excellent, a short distance to Union Square and not very far from Fisherman's Wharf. Coming from Florida where everything is FLAT, I had hoped the hotel wouldn't be at the top of a hill, and if it had been just one block closer to Union Square it would have been the ultimate location I could have hoped for - but nonetheless, it was a great workout walking up the hill each evening to the hotel. And of course there are the Street Cars that you can take that go right by the hotel, but we were only there for 3 days and the wait time for the Street Cars were rather long, so we didn't choose that option. Overall, I was extremely happy with our stay at the Orchard Hotel... the beds were so comfortable, great staff, amazing housekeeping, free Wifi, and there was absolutely zero noise. We will definitely stay there again!

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 809 which faced Bush Ave. No view, but also the best nights sleep I have experien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skiizy0101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel and the kinds words regarding our staff. It sounds like you have a wonderful Labor Day Weekend here in San Francisco. On your note, we can’t help but agree with you 100% on our location. It is so convenient access to all kinds of activities and sightseeing. We appreciate so much your compliments pointing out the service that our staffs give our guest. They are caring, sincere and always willing to help guest in any way that they could possibly manage. We are also happy that you felt the room lived up to your expectation. Thank you kindly for the high recommendation. We can’t wait to welcome you back.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I got this hotel for a really good price on Expedia. The hotel is located in great location close to shopping and restaurants. The rooms are quiet and the staff is very nice and friendly. The wifi works great as well as the beds are very comfortable. The breakfast is a little pricey $23.00 but you're better off eating at one of the restaurants nearby which is less expensive.

Room Tip: The beds are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shareca D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write the review. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. You have liked our convenient location, and felt our room quiet and comfortable. Aside from the location, we would say our staff is indeed outstanding. Our goal is to make sure we provide our guest with excellent service. Glad to know that you have found alternate dining options that met your expectations. Once again, thank you for your patronage and comment. Look forward to seeing again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Nice historic building. Clean, nice big bathroom. All of the doormen were extremely helpful. I realize the hotel is in San Francisco, but I just don't think it was worth what we paid for it ($400/night on Priceline). I think we went at a busy time, but still. It was better than average, but not what I expected for the money. Carrie at the Front Desk was also a gem, although the others left a little personality to be desired. Overall, not bad.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkycouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Thank you for the great review, really appreciate your feedback regarding your stay. As we all know, hotels in San Francisco can be on the expensive side comparing to some other cities. Our goal is to re-assure our guest that the value is indeed worth. All of the complimentary extras that you have described are part of that effort. We appreciate the comments regarding our staff. We will share them with the entire team especially to Carrie, our Guest Service Agent. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I have just come back from San Francisco where we spent three nights at the Orchard Hotel. First, if you are looking for tourist-type activities, especially shopping, this is a perfect location. It is on the corner of Powell which has all the major shops, as well as two blocks from Grant which has Chinatown and other major boutiques. Being that it's a busy place, the Orchard was north enough on Powell/Bush to be slightly removed from the hustle and bustle. We never were bothered by traffic or noise - and keep in mind we were there on the Labour Day weekend.

Regarding the room and hotel itself, the room was excellent. We book a single king bed and were very pleased with our sleep each nice. Bathroom was nice and large; service was excellent. There is a fully stocked mini bar, but it's extremely overpriced. There are a hundred liquor stores within a few blocks, so if you want some wine for your room, make a quick trip.

Overall we were very satisfied with our stay. Great location, friendly staff, and perfect room for a reasonable price. When we return to San Francisco we definitely will stay at the Orchard Hotel again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank brenmiller85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
A wonderful experience is what we are all about. Thank you so much for the great review. We couldn't have said it better ourselves. Our location as you mentioned in you review, simply cannot be beat. All tourist type activities, shopping, restaurants and transportation are only minutes away. The only decision you need to make is whether if you turn right or light from our doors. We are pleased that you have liked our room, considering they are one of the most important elements we offer our guest. Thank you for your kind words regarding our staff. We are not only wanting you to enjoy your stay here in the hotel; we also want you to love this city as much as we do. Glad to hear that you will be coming back. Look forward to seeing again soon.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

If location is your main concern, this hotel should be one of those to consider. We read Tripadvisor's review and decide to stay there for 6 nights for our vacation. Make sure you book directly through hotel website and sometimes, you get discount through Tripadvisor.

Location was great! Couple blocks away from union square and china town. Cable car stop is right outside of hotel. Bus stop is couple blocks away. We were 1st timer in SF. We got 7 days passes for $28 per person: that includes unlimited cable car, buses, street cars and some BART access. Great deal for transportation for tourist.

First 4 nights, we stayed on 9th flor on street side. I can hear street noise occasionally at early nite and after midnite, it quieted down. Our room and bath room are quite spacious and clean. The only thing I can think of is I can use more holders in the shower for bottles. Then, we left for Lake Tahoe and came back to stay another 2 nights. This time we stayed on 10th floor on non-street side. The only noise I heard was our neighbor. but The air conditioning was a bit louder. Wifi could get slow at the time, guess some peak time.

Service was really nice. Front desk gentleman (didn't get his name) was very nice and the lady Suki was really attentive and friendly. We are very happy for our choice, thanks to TripAdvisor. We will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for higher up floor and not on the street side
See more room tips
Green Features: Can use recycling bin and European style light switch: key entry for light which will ensure the light off when you are not in the room
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoldTeamJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Wow.. Tripadvisor does it again! We are thrilled to heat that our ratings are what got you in our door. As you mentioned the location is pretty stellar, with easy access to all kinds of activities and sightseeing. The only decision you really have to make is which direction to go out our front doors? We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the comfy room and found it clean and spacious. Our sincere apology for inconvenience you’re experienced during your returned visit from Lake Tahoe. Rest assure, we have taken your comments seriously and will begin to rectify the issue for improvements. Thank you for your kind words about the staff. It is always our # 1 goal to provide our guest an exceptional experience. We will share your feedback to the entire team especially to Suki, our Guest Service Agent. Feedback, positive and negative, allows us to improve our service and offering to not only meet but exceed our guests’ expectations. We value your comments and glad to hear that you will be back saying with us again.
Regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
5,076 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 228 in San Francisco
5,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
1,598 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#18 of 228 in San Francisco
1,429 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#21 of 228 in San Francisco
3,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing