We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, very high standard”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #13 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed for three days and loved it. The room was large, well appointed and the bed was the most comfortable in a hotel that we have slept in! Location wise, the hotel was well placed for getting around San Francisco, great staff (particularly the doormen) and although not cheap, good value for money on the basis that you get what you pay for. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nicegirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Thank you for posting the review. We are delighted to hear that you have a great time here in San Francisco and our hotel is part of that positive experience. I just can’t help but agree with you on our Location. As you have mentioned, getting around the city from our hotel is easy, convenient without any hassles. We are happy that you have liked our room and amenities. We appreciated your kind words about our staffs. Customer service is one of our very best qualities. Hotels in San Francisco could be on the expensive side, and we strive to make sure we provide our guest with excellent value. Thank you for your high recommendations, and look forward to seeing you again.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,860)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,076 - 1,082 of 2,860 reviews

Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I visited the hotel early May as part of our Honeymoon. The difficult part is where to begin? The hotel was just fantastic with lovely staff too.

I wanted start off saying that we visited many hotels throughout our honeymoon and the Orchard Hotel was the only place that did something really nice for us to mark this occasion. i won't say what, but we really were touched by the gesture. Our only disappointment is that I can't remember the kind lady's name who worked on the reception at the time. It MAY have been Victoria but i can't quite remember, but I would like to extend our thanks particularly to her

Location wise it was wonderful. There's a bit of a walk up hill from Union Square but my wife and I loved this after a meal as it definitely helps with fitness. Just around the corner is obviously union square that gives you access to all the fantastic shops San Francisco has to offer. Furthermore it's only a short walk to Chinatown and little further on you will find Fisherman's Warfe etc.

The hotel itself was beautifully maintained, and the rooms were huge. The beds were extremely comfortable and the bathroom was immaculate too. As expected the room contained all essential amenities and more! They even provided Bath robes! Noise wise we barely heard any of the street traffic and had two wonderful night's sleep.

If we come back to San Francisco we would have no hesitation in stopping here again. WONDERFUL PLACE. Thank you Orchard Hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lambyUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Congratulations! Thank you for choosing to stay at the Orchard Hotel to celebrate your honeymoon. We are delighted that you have enjoyed your trip and our hotel was part of the positive experience. We are happy to hear that you have liked our wonderful location; and found most of your point of interests was within walking distance from our door. We are thrilled of your great words about our staff. They are really one of a kind and are some of the most genuine people; always kind, caring, sincere and willing to help our guest in any way that we could possibly manage. We work together as a team with our guest’s experience being the NUMBER ONE goal at all times. On this note, I am passing on your thanks and appreciations to the entire team in particularly to Victoria. Once again, thank you for your patronage and hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed a week at this hotel in Nob Hill and loved it. We found it very easy to get to Fisherman's Wharf and Golden Gate Park from here, especially with our City Pass, which gave us access to all public transport and a few attractions over the week. And it's a short walk to a number of good restaurants and Union Square. The staff were helpful and friendly, especially David the doorman, who's a great guy. The room was large, clean and comfortable, which you'd expect given the room rate of around $260 per night.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bagfromthebay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2013

Thank you for selecting the Orchard Hotel as your choice accommodation during your recent visit to San Francisco. Your review was great. We agree totally with you that our location is JUST fantastic; shops, restaurants, Bart and sightseeing are within a stone’s throw from the hotel. We are thrilled that our staffs made such a great impression and that you have decided to share your experiences. We’ll definitely let the team here know, especially to David. We are glad you also felt the room lived up to your expectations, and most importantly you found the value is indeed worth. Thanks and hope to see you again soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at this hotel, only last week. First impressions were very positive, and this was proved correct with standard and size of room, particularly the spacious bathroom. The reception staff were very helpful, and always ready to please with directions and advice when sought. The location was excellent, with only 5 mins walk to Chinatown and Union Square. The cable car stop is only 30 metres from the hotel front door, so very easy to catch.
All in all highly recommend this hotel for any stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 7th floor, facing away from front, which may have added to the quietness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthWAJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

We are thrilled to hear that your recent experience at the Orchard hotel was excellent and great. Thank you kindly for your great comments on our staffs. We will make it a point to share them with the entire team. We agree 100% with you of our convenient location, with easy access to all means of activities and sightseeing. Also, at the Orchard Hotel, exceptional guest service is the foundation of our promise to our guests; we strive to provide every guest a consistent and exceptional experience, from service to amenities and products…We are simply delighted to hear that you will return and recommend us for any future stay…. As always, safe trip and look forward to welcoming you back.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I found this hotel through Trip Advisor and YELP hotel search results and both sites had consistently strong reviews from a large sample of people. I have to say that I was not disappointed from the moment I walked through the hotel doors to the minute I checked out.

The Orchard Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco city. A perfect location for tourists, especially newbies to the city, as it is surrounded by great cafes and restaurants and within walking distance to Union Square and China Town. This cute and charming hotel is also conveniently located next to a trolley stop and a short walk to Montgomery BART station.

The prices of this hotel are comparable to other boutique hotels in the city. The quality of rooms and the service that you get, especially considering SF is a pretty expensive city, also justifies the amount of money you spend a night to stay here. Book early to get a good rate, otherwise if you wait until the last minute you will be fated with the misfortunate of having to spend a colossal amount on your room or even not get a room at all. I overheard that they were sold out the week that we stayed which was the end of the spring season/beginning of summer and no major events going on in the city (other than a couple of baseball games).

Checking in was hassle free and they even allowed us to have an early check in, free of charge. The room service was always done every day, including turn down service. The hotel was consistently clean in the lobbies, elevators, hallways, and the rooms were thoroughly clean as well. The wifi internet service was the only negative thing I experienced as it was kind of finicky and sometimes slow. There were times I had difficulty connecting to the internet but it did not dampen my overall experience. The hotel prides itself on being very eco-friendly and makes great efforts to live up to their claims being an energy efficient building and using bio-amenities bathroom products (safe, non-toxic, biodegradable, organic based products).

The Orchard Hotel also offers a storage service for your luggage, free of charge. This came in handy for us since our flight did not leave until the evening and we had a few hours to kill before heading out to the airport.

Overall, great service, friendly staff, clean hotel, and decent prices. I would definitely return here again and recommend this hotel to others in search of clean, eco-friendly, and convenient accommodations.

Room Tip: Have an evening flight? Take advantage of their luggage storage service and leave your bags in their...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Once again, Trip Advisor does it..! We are delighted to hear that our ratings have brought you to the Orchard Hotel. Thank you for your detailed reviews. Glad to know that your first trip to San
Francisco was a success; and our hotel was a part of your positive experiences. We must agree with us that this city has so much to offer. It is constantly packed with conventions visitors and leisure travelers. It was so wise of you to make your travelling plan well in advance to void any necessary hassles. We are delighted to hear that you have liked our convenient location; found our staffs friendly and caring. You also loved our room, amenities and services. We will definitely pass on your great words to our entire team for their great efforts to success. Please accept our sincerely apology for the inconveniences caused by the deficiency of hotel WIFI connection during your stay. We can assure you of our immediate attention to correct and improve on this issue. Last but not the least; we appreciated very much your kind recognition on our continued support for a Green Environmental Nature. Thank you for your comments and recommendations. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

We stayed at the Orchard Hotel over a number of nights during one week and found this hotel to be clean, quiet and very comfortable. The Orchard is situated an easy walk away from Union Square and provides ready access to all public transport including trolley cars, the Powell St car stops only metres from the hotel entry. The staff were welcoming and only to happy to help in any way. To top it off the rates were very reasonable and we would be really happy to stay here again!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd, 7th and 9th floor and found all rooms quiet at night. Rooms at the front have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TazTraveller_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 16, 2013

Thanks ever so much for your great comments about the Orchard Hotel. We couldn't have said it better ourselves that our location is simply cannot be beat. Bart for transportation, Shops and restaurants at Union Square, Cable Car for sightseeing…. was all meters from the hotel door. We are happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It is always our # 1 goal to provide every guest with consistent and exceptional experiences, from service to amenities and product. Most importantly, our guests have found the value is indeed worth. Thank you for your patronage, and can’t wait to see again soon in future.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

I booked this hotel after weeks of searching through Expedia/Ebookers to find a reasonable place in San Fran. By the looks of it, it's on the same scale as NYC when trying to find a hotel room for a good price. Anyway, I managed to find this place on Expedia, and got it price matched against hotels.com.
We were placed on the 10th floor of the building, facing the Marriott and towards Union Square. We got the BART from the airport down to Powell & Market ($8 one way) and then walked up the hill on a busy Saturday afternoon. The hotel is right as the hill gets steep, so keep going - it's definitely not worth getting a taxi if you're able to walk.
You are facing the road on this side of the hotel, and the cable cars are relatively noisy, however we were so badly jet lagged to begin with we didn't even notice - it is just a rumble though, and you do get used to it after a while.
Check in was very easy, straight to our room in the slightly dated lifts. The decor is a little dated, but our room was a good size with a decent size bed too. My one complaint would be the shower - I know it's an 'eco' hotel, but they really need to give their showers a bit of power. I ended up washing my hair in the sink after an initial attempt to wash it in the shower, which isn't really what I'm looking for whilst on holiday.
We didn't eat in the hotel, however the fitness centre was VERY small and limited - just cardio, no weights. There is an option to go to a nearby gym but it's $15 a pop so we left it.
So, to conclude, a good value hotel in a really good location - try the sushi place on your left as you come out of the hotel, further up on Bush St. It's a great place and reasonably priced - far enough away from the tourist traps near Union Square. Also, go to Honey Honey Cafe for breakfast, it's SO much better than Roxanne's next door to The Orchard Hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Libsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2013

Considering there are hundreds of hotels to choose from, we want to thank you for giving us a shot during your recent trip to San Francisco. It sounds as though that you have enjoyed very much our convenient locations. It fixed ideally your plan to explore this fabulous city. We are happy to know that your check in experience was present; the size of our room has met with your expectation. However, we are sad to hear that the street noises have somehow troubled you. Please accept our sincere apology for the inconveniences caused due to the deficiency of the low water pressure. We can assure you that we have already addressed to the issue for improvement. We value your patronage and comments. We hope that this unpleasant experience will not prevent you from returning to us. Please contact me directly to arrange your next reservation with us. I will personally assure you a quiet, comfortable and enjoyable stay at the Orchard Hotel. Look forward to serve you again in the nearest future.
Best regards
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,317 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,715 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $209 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing