We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A well located hotel that provides great value” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A well located hotel that provides great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We were recently in San Francisco for ten or so days and stayed at the Orchard Hotel. The location is great, a short walk to Union Square and the service and the amenities of the hotel were very good. The internet access from the room was good and the front desk staff were most gracious in printing numerous documents sent from our office.
A perfect place to stay if you are in San Francisco for business or for pleasure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davidferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,621 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,586
    832
    149
    35
    19
See reviews for
282
1,241
167
389
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

I read the reviews in TripAdvisor before choosing where to stay in San Francisco center and it paid back. The Orchard is really nice with well designed, quiet (better to take one with yard window, as Bush or Powell streets are quite noisy, especially due to trams) rooms and common areas, has all you need for a few days stay. Most important for me (one person on a business trip, but staying over the weekend) was proximity to all places of interest, so I could walk, though the waking was sometimes quite strenuous on hilly SF streets.
Although breakfast were made to order, I did not like this so much, as you have to choose one selection and cannot combine with other items – I prefer buffet in the morning. And they charged 4$ for additional glass of orange juice!

Room Tip: Better choose non-street facing room - cable cars are noisy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

There is no real lobby. My room and bathroom were large by SF standards. There is AC in the room, though I didn't need it (mid-April). The bed was a little too soft but I slept alright. The room and the bathroom were very clean. There was a nice FM/CD player in the room. There is a minibar which keeps really cold but housekeeping apparently took my own beverages out of it. The desk and table were very comfortable. There is some noise from the street that didn't bother me but my colleague in another room was woken up by the garbage truck. The receptionists were very helpful and polite.
It is not too far from Union square but on a rather steep street.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank basarcenik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

Subject heading pretty much covers it all. Easily accessible to public transport. The onsite gym is average to say the least but something you can do without when your on holiday. A safe secure hotel in a good location. We didnt try the restaurant so cannot comment.

Helpful?
Thank pickascreenname090
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking your time to share your experiences with Orchard Hotel. We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay. We strive to provide our guest, a safe, comfortable and friendly accommodation. We are happy that you have liked the convenient location of our hotel, and found it easy access to most public transportation. On your visit with us, I highly recommend you to try our Daffodil Restaurant for breakfast and Dinner. Once again, thank you for staying with us We look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again in future.
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Colorado Springs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is an outstanding value hotel in SF, walk to everything, friendly staff, impeccable and comfortable rooms. We've stayed here a dozen times and always enjoyed everything, and hotel has always gone out of their way to try to accommodate our special requests. This stay received a small gift package with some cool stuff. A special shout out to excellent front desk staff and doorman Cornell.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collins C, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences and your kind review with the Orchard Hotel. It is always nice to hear from our loyal guests. I will assure you to share your comment with our Front Desk Team, in particularly Cornell. We are thrilled to be part of your home away from home. We all look forward to seeing you again in the nearest future.
Collins Chu
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

This is my second stay at this hotel, I returned because of the value, the location (the Powell/Bush cable car stop is nearby), and the quality of the facilities.
No breakfast is provided, but there is a restaurant downstairs, plus several good cafes nearby.
Friendly helpful staff, beautifully furnished rooms, a comfortable base in SF.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I was pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Rooms were large and comfortable, particularly the beds, and there was little traffic noise despite being located a few blocks from Union Square. The location was handy for public transport and for exploring SF on foot. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
The decor of the hallways were dated (think 1950s floral wallpaper), but the rooms themselves were nice.
Would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peechan99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,579 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,906 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,639 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 982 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing