We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great Find” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #10 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Charlotte, N.C.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

Went to Napa for the week but enjoyed one night in SF at this lovely hotel. Everything you need in a city hotel -- great location, great price, wonderful bed and linens, huge bathroom. The staff is friendly and gracious. Special shout-out to Mason at the front door!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank PJPCharlotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you so much for kind review, we truly value your input and I will make sure to pass the message on to Mason. I’m glad the hotel met your requirements before your Napa getaway; I hope you enjoyed yourself up north. All of us here at the Orchard Hotel are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your next visit.

Cheers
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,544
    808
    147
    34
    19
See reviews for
277
1,199
166
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
lightmoment
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I travel to San Francisco periodically for business and this is my new favorite place. It's just off Union Square, but more reasonably priced. It's clean, well appointed and the service is great. The hotel restaurant is in the process of new management...and we didn't bother with it at all. Breakfast room service was good, but the local restaurants were much more interesting for lunch and dinner.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lightm0ment
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Excellent! I am so happy to hear that the Orchard Hotel is your new home away from home. I can’t wait to share your review with the rest of our team; we truly appreciate your feedback. We are actually just waiting for an exciting revamped menu, which should be coming soon. We look forward to your next visit, thank you for the amazing review.

Sincerely
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

The Orchard is in a great location between Nob Hill and Union Square. The front desk staff was very friendly and professional. I found this hotel on Trip Advisor and they happened to have a discounted rate ($127) since I booked just a few days before Our Saturday arrival. Valet parking was $46 including tax but had fast service with in-and-out privileges.

I took one point off the cleanliness only because when we arrived at 2pm the room smelled pretty heavily of air freshner which always makes me leery of some kind of cover-up... And also it seemed to go against the "green" designation , but it was definitely clean.
Super comfy bed. Old TV with no channel guide. The expected crazy expensive mini fridge items. Very roomy bathroom, although ours was an ADA accessible room, so not sure if they are all that big. The room was pretty small as is the norm for city properties.

I would definitely recommend this hotel and will stay here again when the opportunity comes up.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
We are so excited you enjoined your recent stay at the Orchard Hotel. Although I am thrilled you found our accommodations to your liking, I am so sorry about the lingering smell in your room. I assure you we only use green seal certified cleaning products. I am also very pleased to announce we will be updating all our rooms in April with brand new flat screen televisions.

Thank you for writing a very kind review and we look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
103 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

The hotel is a little out of the way but not a bad option when everything else is sold out or over-priced. It was a little challenging to find on foot the first time walking up on Stockton but then I realized I needed to take the stairs to the overpass above to get to Bush.
The staff were friendly and the room was spacious and clean.

There are not taxi's readily available, so unlike other SF hotels, you have to give yourself 5-10 minutes extra for them to call a taxi over for you.

If you like something in a more neighborhoody feel that is still within walking distance of everything, this is your hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank debdex66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind review. I’m so sorry you got mixed up coming to the Hotel; Stockton St. can be tricky if you are unaware of the two different levels. I’m happy you found the accommodations to be clean and spacious, and staff friendly. We would be thrilled to have you stay with us again.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights at the hotel enroute further north, and while the location was perfect for access to cable cars and Union Square, and shopping, the failure to provide guests with prior information about the virtual closure of the hotel restaurant for dinner was a distinct disappointment. We had chosen the hotel for the location, and particularly because the weather can be unpredictable in San Francisco, and we wished to have access to a restaurant within the hotel in such an event. A few sandwich-style meals could be purchased but nothing as advertised in the hotel web site. Talking to hotel staff, we were told the reason for the restarurant not opening for full service was because the new menu had not yet been finalised - however this situation had been ongoing we were told for many months.

We also wished to have breakfast served in our room, and we were happy to pay for the additional room service charge (and did), notwithstanding the cost of the breakfast was included in the accommodation charge. There was difficulty in explaining to the hotel staff, and confusion occurred over three days until they finally understood our request, which frankly for a CBD hotel In San Francisco our request should have been a non event.

We can recommend the hotel on the basis of its location, but the restaurant and breakfast issues made us think perhaps we should have booked elsewhere as accommodation in the CBD is competitive.

Room Tip: Request a room on the very upper floors for a quiet stay, perhaps facing away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pittjohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you kindly for sharing your experience from your recent stay, we truly appreciate the feedback. Although I’m pleased you found the location convenient, I’m sincerely sorry about the confusion regarding the in room dining. We will happily make the necessary changes to the website; the last thing we want is for our guests to feel miss-lead. We are in the process of making many changes to the restaurant, which is why we are offering a limited menu as of right now. We also have a long list of nearby restaurants that will deliver to the Hotel. As far as the breakfast / room service goes, that should not have been a problem and I will speak with the restaurant manager for further training with staff. Hopefully this experience does not deter you from staying with us again in the future, we would be more than happy to have you return.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We will be back! We came to San Francisco for the ZAP conference for the first time. From the moment we walked in the Orchard Hotel to the time we left, everyone from the door men to the desk staff to the maid service was so friendly and helpful. Our room was immaculate, bathrooms spotless and location, unbelievable. We were in walking distance to great places to eat (the Golden Gate Grill) yum. And Roxanne's cafe's homemade cornbeef hash was to die for. The front desk reccomended a great high end wine shop called the Napa Wine shop. And we felt safe walking at night after dinner. We really enjoyed our total experience. The Orchard Hotel is now our only choice when we come to San Francisco.
Thank you

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ILuvZin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the amazing review, we are thrilled to be your new home away from away. ZAP fest is always a blast, I hope you had an opportunity to visit the Napa / Sonoma area during your stay. I’m glad you felt safe in the neighborhood and that the front desk agents were able to point you in the right direction for dinner. I can’t wait to share your comments with the rest of the staff and we all look forward to your next visit to San Francisco.

Cheers
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights on a stop over on the way back to the UK from being in New Zealand . The staff here, especially Cornell and his colleagues (the doormen) cant do enough for you.

The rooms are spacious, clean and the bed has to be one of the most comfortable beds i have ever slept in (and i can assure you i have sleep in many around the world) with fine bed linen that gave you that Mmmm feeling!

Well located, on Powell and Bush, Tram stop just outside the door that takes you straight to Fisherman's Wharf, China town is just a 2 minute walk away, and Union Square and all its glorious shops is literally a 2 minute walk away too. A great place to stay to explore what is a wonderful city, and i got not a bad bit of advice from anybody in the place, they certainly helped me maximise what i got from what was a great trip.

The Million Dollar question...........would i stay at the Orchard again...........a most definite YES.

Thanks

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quinn M, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Thank you so much for the million dollar review. I look forward to sharing your comments with our staff, especially Cornell and rest of our amazing Concierge team. I’m happy to read how much you enjoyed your room as well as the bedding, both are essential to a good night’s rest. It appears you found the location convenient and I couldn’t agree more. Most areas of interest are in walking distance or it’s extremely easy to jump on public transportation close by.

Thanks again for the review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards
Quinn McEntee
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,408 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 4,804 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
The Fairmont San Francisco
The Fairmont San Francisco
#17 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,406 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#13 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 1,339 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#23 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 2,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing