We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location & staff, bad sheets & toiletries.”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #16 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The ecoPure toiletries were so horrible, I mean my skin burned from the soap and I had to wash the lotion off it was so badly scented. The sheets were scratchy and the bed was not great. I really wanted to like this place, since it's so popular and I want to support environmentally responsible businesses, but I was not happy. Given it's a 3.5 star hotel, I expect the basics to be good at the very least.

Room Tip: Ice is only on floors 3, 6 & 9. The bathroom lights have two choices: off and BRIGHT. Bring a ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Carrie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,904)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,197 - 1,203 of 2,904 reviews

Reviewed February 10, 2013

This is a great hotel that I have stayed in a number of times. Central location, rooms good. WIFI is very frustrating to log on and often drops from a slow connection. I would expect better from a hotel of this standard in San Francisco.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AndyinEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

The location of the Orchard is all you want in a San Francisco location. Right next to the cable car, superb restaurants, and Union Square. While the bed was very comfortable, my carpet had several large dark stains, which I found surprising (Rm 606) in this light Asian themed hotel of caliber. Staff was friendly and gave great recommendations. However, a clean room is paramount, thus my average rating.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mcclungp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdeltoro, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Thank you so much for sharing your experience of the Orchard Hotel on TripAdvisor! I am sorry to hear of the dark stains you found on the carpet in your room. I have shared your comments with our Executive Housekeeper and we have made strides to ensure this doesn't happen to any future guests upon their arrival. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, we look forward to your next stay with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Price in line with what we hoped for. Clean and roomy. Large bathroom. Right by the Mason/Powell, Mason/Hyde cable cars. Staff friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. Good coffee, great robes. No downsides worth a mention.

Room Tip: Facing the bldg., choose left wall room or the rear room to avoid street noise, (traffic, cable cars...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank maxsreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

the service here is what makes orchard hotel stand out among the rest. we were always greeted by our names by the doorman and always asked if we needed directions to anywhere ask we're handed our car keys. the rooms are comfortable and quiet when we stayed (end of jan) and the bathrooms seemed very clean. my husband was especially enthusiastic about how white the grout in our bathroom were.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Convenient location, a friendly and helpful staff, very clean...a really good value in an expensive city. It's right near the trolley line and is within walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, North Beach, and Nob Hill. And the staff (Cornell is a great concierge) can help you find your way anywhere else you'd want to go. Couldn't recommend this hotel more.

Room Tip: The street side has a little more city noise and the alley side is quieter. There's not much of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2013 via mobile

close to Union Square & shopping. Good size rooms, very clean, great breakfast included in our reasonable room rate.
China Town on your door step, cable car at the corner, Bush Street is clean & safe.
Our room was very quite, enjoyed a good nights sleep.


  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cameroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 231 in San Francisco
5,398 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 231 in San Francisco
5,578 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
699 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,813 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $231 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing