We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean comfortable good location”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #16 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Australia
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Clean comfortable good location”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for over 6 nights and on 3 occasions as we were travelling in and out San Francisco. Rooms might need updating but were very clean - decor is classic style and sufficient for travellers. Quiet too and we were on the tenth floor and in the back. The only thing is the fridge seems to have a low alarm sound in the night which might be disturbing. Overall it's recommended stay as its mainly clean comfortable and friendly staff . Might help with more hot water kettles . Unsure why this is not common in America as in Europe or Australia.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank eyoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,764 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,664
    885
    155
    39
    21
See reviews for
307
1,297
173
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
northfield, ct
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel was terrific. We were there Sept. 11 to Sept. 16. It was our first trip to San Francisco. Found the hotel on TA. What a great choice. The staff was genuine; friendly, smart, competent, and helpful. Example, one of the doormen offered us tickets to the theater because he couldn't go. We went
The mattress was so comfortable we called when we got home and the main desk was more than willing to share the mattress info. We now have new mattresses. After we left and headed south Irealized I left a sweater in the room. A phone call to he hotel resulted in the sweater being in the mail when we got home. Cornell? From the start he was tremendous. We needed a good cup of coffee after the trip. He sent us down the hill and well ask him where you can get a good cup of coffee. Hint: it's not Starbucks. Thanks Cornell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank litman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose The Orchard Hotel based on Trip Advisor. A great decision. The Orchard Hotel is located on the corner of Powell and Bush - a perfect location. Our room was located on the seventh floor - very quiet. Never heard any street noise. The room was nicely appointed and very clean. The bed was fantastic and we had a great nights sleep for the three days we were there. The bathroom was large and had the usual niceties. The hotel is eco-friendly and to our amusement found a half-flush and full-flush for the toilet. There is a small safe in the room for valuables. The concierge and front desk were extremely helpful and the housekeeping staff kept our room very clean. The hotel is located two blocks away from Chinatown and three blocks away from Union Square. The famed San Francisco Cablecar is right on the corner of Powell and Bush making it very easy to travel from downtown to Fishermans Wharf with plenty of interesting stops in-between. We would definitely return to the Orchard Hotel - excellent value, excellent location and a great nights sleep.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nycnative1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Nice size room, good location, clean and comfortable. Added amenities aren't important to me, so I was pleased. Doormen great, but desk service not as great. Didn't seem to know any answers to my questions regarding the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ellen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I just finished staying 5 nights at this hotel. The room was attractive with high a quality bed and linens. Even on the 3rd floor facing the street it was quiet every night, except for Oct 28 after the giants won the series which was forgivable. The location is outstanding, literally a few steps or blocks from some of the best neighborhoods and attractions, and about 5 blocks from both the muni and bart public transportation systems which I used often. Breakfast is not included in the room charge and expensive to buy in the hotel restaurant, but there are cafes in the area and a coffee maker plus a small refridgerator in the room. The staff were friendly and helpful the few times I needed anything.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downers Grove, Illinois
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Spent two nights in San Francisco on our way to the wine country. It was a wonderful hotel. The staff was very helpful, great recommendations on restaurants. The location of the hotel is perfect, right next to the cable cars and almost around the corner to Union Square. The beds were very comfortable. I would definately recommend this hotel. They had a great AAA rate too!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This is a great "city break" hotel well located in San Francisco, unable to offer the facilities which a larger hotel might have (pool etc.) but with some charm and good location. The hotel itself is relatively small and homely. Some might find the rooms old fashioned but to others, us included, they were just more conservatively styled than some one might find. We didn't try the restaurant as there are so many great options within a short walk. Staff were helpful when called upon - they arranged a transfer to the airport for us with ease. This is San Francisco so the room prices are relatively expensive but in that context the prices charged are fair. The key attraction here is the location - on from Bush Street one can pretty easily access all parts of the city or, if you'd prefer not to stray too far, you have plenty of options for eating and drinking. Essentially just a very good all-rounder.

Room Tip: We faced onto Bush St and suffered no disruption from noisy neighbours so I wouldn't worry too m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DC_UKtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,180 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
5,201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,615 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#23 of 229 in San Francisco
3,136 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#37 of 229 in San Francisco
4,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing