We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for a small boutique hotel”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #15 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Portland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value for a small boutique hotel”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

This was a great choice for a short business meeting, very convenient to pretty much everything. The hotel was bright and clean, unlike so many boutique hotels that have gotten sort of shabby. If you stay here you should know that, if you use public transportation (other than the cable car), it will require walking up at least one pretty steep hill.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank albertshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,760 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,663
    882
    155
    39
    21
See reviews for
306
1,295
172
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (393)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2012

We stayed in room 801, a suite with separate bedroom, as we were travelling with 3 persons. The hotel itself is ideally located close to Union Square (a ten minute walk down the hill), with the cable car stopping just around the corner. Friendly staff. The hotel provides breakfast if wanted, but there are several diners in the immediate neightboorhood, so we chose to eat just around the corner at Roxeanne, a typical American place serving quite good quality breakfast at reasonable prices (we spent arount 14 USD per person each morning). The room was very clean, it was a very large room (not evident in San Francisco), the decoration was quite classic and there was a verly large bathroom included with bath + separate shower.
Negative points:
We did experience some street noise, but this became less during the night
The main bedroom had a very good bed, but in the other room we had a sofa bed and that one was of extremely bad quality, almost impossible for sleeping any adult person. So if you decide to spend the night at this hotel and you count on this as a second bedroom for a third and/or fourth person, we wouldn't advise this suite, for a good night's rest, take a second room and not the suite!
Otherwise, we can't complain: no noise from the neighbouring rooms and overall a good experience

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I stayed for business but this hotel would be just as good for fun as well.
Location: a few steps from Powell St which is the main corridor for the cable cars and for shopping and restaurants.
Hotel: Decent sized room, especially for this city. Occasionally a little noisy as the dumpster was emptied at 1 or 2 am. Clean. Comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff. No gym. Internet-fair connectivity. had a weird issue with the ethernet cable but maybe it was just my computer.
Hotel Food. Present but not the best option. Around the corner and 1 block down is Starbucks with great breakfast sandwiches. Lori's diner just as close.
Parking: Don't rent or drive a car unless you want to pay $48 for parking. Some cheaper options a little further from the hotel.
Good price for a decent location and clean, safe hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kim90210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

My friend and I only stayed here one night, as SF was a pit stop before heading off to Wine Country. Customer service at The Orchard was fantastic and the location is great! There is a trolley line that runs past the hotel and the hotel is located within walking distance of restaurants, coffee shops, shopping...
The hotel was very clean, however, I can't say it was quiet, but our room was located next to the elevator and maid closet- big mistake!
Valet is $40 per day with in and out privileges.
I would stay here again!

Room Tip: Don't stay next to the elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cincygirl24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We found the hotel to be adequate and clean, the staff was courteous and friendly. Our
Room was average size, but too close to the elevator, which we could here constantly "swooshing" up and down. The restaurant was nice but quite expensive; there is a simple cafe next door for breakfast. Parking is valet only, and $40 a day, but they were very responsive about getting the car whenever we needed it.

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms close to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eileen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed at the Orchard the first week of Sept., 2012. We were pleasantly surprised when we checked into the hotel. The front desk staff was extremely helpful, offering us a choice of floors. We found our room to be very comfortable, clean, cozy and quiet. The bed was very comfortable. The location of the hotel is very good, located on the cable car line to Fisherman's Wharf. Also, it is only 2 blocks to the California St. cable car. Two blocks from Union Square and the hop on/hopoff buses. After just a few hours in the hotel, the staff were greeting us like old friends. As this was a first trip to San Francisco, we had no idea of what to expect either from the hotel or the location of the hotel. We were not disappointed and would recommend this hotel to anyone. We did not try the restaurant as there are many other locations that seemed to be more interesting that the hotel restaurant.

Room Tip: We had a room on the backside of the hotel and it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wayne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We chose the hotel based on reviews and were very happy. The location of the hotel is great, close to Union Square and the cable car line. No problem with noise from the street. Very clean rooms with large bathroom. Excellent staff and friendly doorman/concierge.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjw60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
5,160 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
5,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#4 of 229 in San Francisco
1,611 reviews
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#22 of 229 in San Francisco
3,118 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#39 of 229 in San Francisco
4,611 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing