We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
49 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2012

Our overall experience with the Orchard Hotel was excellent. The staff were friendly, professional and helpful. The room was well appointed and clean. It was in a good location for walking to Chinatown and Union Square, (we also walked to Fisherman's Warf and Haight/Ashbury, but we like walking), and the trolley was right outside.

Room Tip: We had a high level room facing toward the back which was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treadmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdeltoro, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
First of all, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience of the Orchard Hotel on TripAdvisor! I am so glad to hear the staff was professional and courteous, the rooms were clean & the location was centralized for your needs. I've shared your review with our entire staff and we collectively want to say, "Thank you!" Should you ever find your way back to San Francisco, know that our doors are wide open to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,630
    860
    154
    37
    19
See reviews for
295
1,268
169
417
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville Centre, New York
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2012

Excellent hotel, from the staff, the rooms and the resturant.
Everythng was spotless and well maintained. The staff bent over backwards to assist in every way even follwing up on every comittment offered from dinner reservations to storeing luggage to ensure we wer 100% satisfied. When we go back to SF we will be staying at the Orchard Hotel.
Thank you to the staff for a great experience

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HomeOnceAgain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdeltoro, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience of the Orchard Hotel on TripAdvisor! I must say, after reading such a glowing review, you made me blush! After sharing your review with the entire staff, we all agreed that it's this type of feedback that makes our job that much more enjoyable. I am glad to hear we were able to accommodate your every need. Should you ever find yourself in beautiful San Francisco again, know that your "home away from home" awaits you with open arms!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights at the end of April; from the moment you walk in to the minute you leave the service is top notch and the staff are genuinely friendly and eager to help.
The beds are extremely comfortable - possibly the best night sleep I've ever had.
The hotel is perfectly located - The Powell street cable car stops right outside the hotel and follows a route featuring Lombard street and takes you all the way to Fishermans Wharf!
I really can't wait to come back here not least for the phenomenal cosmopolitian served up at the Bar

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lola s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdeltoro, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
Thank you kindly for taking the time to share your experience of the Orchard Hotel on TripAdvisor! I am absolutely THRILLED to hear how much our you enjoyed your stay with us, from the diligent care provided by our staff to the comforts found in your room and the tasty cosmos served by our bartender in our restaurant, Daffodil! We eagerly anticipate your next visit with us - cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2012

My husband and I visited this superb little hotel over the Easter weekend and absolutely loved it. from arrival to leaving we could not fault the staff, we were always greeted in a friendly manner and we felt we were the only people staying as we heard no noise from any part of the hotel, no lift noises, no banging doors. The hotel was very clean and well presented, the bed was very comfortable and the furniture was of a good quality. The location is excellent for sightseeing, the cable car stop is just outside the door,although we wish you luck catching it there as they are always full, but you can alway walk in a downhill direction and find plenty to see and do. We did not eat here so cannot comment on the food. We will return to this hotel when we visit the city again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hipnhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vdeltoro, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2012
First of all, I would like to graciously thank you for taking the time to share your experience of the Orchard Hotel on TripAdvisor! I am so glad to hear that the staff was consistently amicable throughout your stay and the quality & comfort of our rooms were to your liking. I truly am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2012

Great location in the city, easy walk to Union Square, China Town and beyond. Big rooms, very well maintained and quiet. The staff was helpful and friendly. I would definitely book there again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank silverscreen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
56 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

Spent 2 nights here with another couple and found it totally satisfying. We'd pretty much endorse others' recent comments - nice sized room, king bed with unusually good support. We were on the 5th floor overlooking Bush St. and found it completely quiet. Staff are friendly and eager to help, including making change for the Muni. Wifi was strong in our room. Can't comment on Daffodil (the restaurant) as we didn't eat there. It's an easy walk (in an SF vertical sort of way) to all sorts of dining, Chinatown, etc.
One irritating fact of life is that not only is hotel parking predictably exorbitant ($40/day), the valet requests 30 minutes notice to get the car. No harm done since we walked or took the bus everywhere, but in case you need a further reason not to have a car in SF...

Room Tip: As with most urban hotels, the higher the quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob/Paula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_OH665, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Thank you much for sharing your experience! I am thrilled to hear that your stay was very comfortable. Should you ever find yourself in our neighborhood again, we would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2012

The room was clean, bathroom was nice. The 2 beds we had were small but comfortable. The restaurant is only open for breakfast, but there are many other food options near by. Safe location, 3 blocks from Union Square. The only thing I didn't care for was the walk up the large hill (the last block) to get to the hotel; if you take cabs everywhere it doesn't matter. If you are trying to lose weight then this is the hotel for you. They did allow a late checkout which was great.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreaZ299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM_OH665, Front Office Manager at The Orchard Hotel, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
First & foremost, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor! I'm glad the room and service was to your liking, but I hope the hills surrounding us weren't too bothersome. I've shared your comments with our team & we collectively wanted to say thank you & we are glad you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,909 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#15 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,056 reviews
Chinatown
Orchard Garden Hotel
Orchard Garden Hotel
#13 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,407 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,098 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing