We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #12 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 13, 2011

A charming little hotel on the doorstep of Chinatown. Staff were very welcoming and always smiling, no matter what time we came back at night. Quick valet service allowed us to get our car within usually under 5 minutes of requesting it. Rooms are large with a nice view to the street. Great coffee (and nice French cuisine) just across the road. Good to know they are environmentally conscious too.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heston55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,864)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,864 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2011

After checking reviews on trip-advisor and much deliberation we choose The Orchard Hotel for our San Francisco vacation. It turned out to be an excellent choice. The location was ideal, within walking distance of Union Square, Chinatown, the North End and the Powell Street Trolley, Bart and Muni.
The staff, without exception, were extremely helpful and friendly. The hotel was attractive, clean and the rooms were more than an adequate size. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend the Orchard Hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3Bucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

My husband and I traveled to San Francisco along with my sister and her husband for a lovely few days of child free time. After much research and debate I selected the Orchard Hotel. I booked our rooms directly through the hotel to insure that we got the exact room type we were looking for. The rates were comparable to what I found on line.

We stayed in a standard king room. The room was on the smaller side, but well decorated and had all we were looking for. The bathroom was quite large and had a nice selection of toiletries. The bed was very comfortable and the room was nice and quiet.

The location of this hotel is the real stand out for me. Very close to Union Square and walking distance to just about everything. Having said that we knew we didn't want to walk to and from the wharf so we took the cable car when it was quiet in the morning and walked back to the hotel in the evening. Since the hotel is on a quieter street, street noise was not a problem in our room.

Staff was helpful and friendly and check in/out was efficient. We made use of the house car for our trip to the airport. For $45 it was a steal.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

I stayed in the Orchard Hotel for seven nights during Aug 3 to Aug 10 for a conference, and I have to say it's a very good experience.

The Orchard Hotel is right at the center of downtown San Francisco. Its location gives her lots advantage. You can access to most attractions by walk within 30 mins. Cable car stop is around the corner, Chinatown gate is 5 mins away, and Union Square is just two blocks away. SFMOMA, ferry building, BART, and countless restaurants are in walking distance. The only thing bothered me is the noise of trash truck in 3:00 AM. My room faces the back alley and unfortunately I am a shallow sleeper, so I was woke up every night. It lasts about 10 mins and goes back to quietness.

The room is quite spacious with appropriate decoration. Air condition can helps you feel warm in the morning and late night. Staffs are very friendly and helpful.

Here are some tips which can protect your knees in San Francisco:
1. If you wanna go to Fishermen's Wharf, DO NOT take cable car, TAKE F LINE! It's faster, not so crowded, and it has stops for each pier.
2. If you stay in downtown hotels and wanna head to Lombard St., DO NOT take cable car. You should take Line 45 on the Stockton St. and get off at Union & Hyde. Walk along the Hyde and you will find that you are right on the top of Lombard St.. You can take cable car (Powell-Mason line) at the intersection of Columbus & Mason (walk down to the slope, about 300 yards away) back to downtown or for Fishermen's Wharf. Powell-Mason is not crowded but has same fun.
3. Buy Muni Passport or CityPass, they can save you lots money.

Room Tip: View is not important, take high-level rooms, it will be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank CMYang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Once again TripAdvisor’s recommendations were spot on. My wife and I had a fabulous time staying at the Orchard Hotel. The hotel deserves its high rating.

Location Location Location- you're walking minutes away from Union Square, Chinatown and the Westfield shopping centre. The cable car stops right at the intersection of Bush and Powell, so access to Fisherman’s Wharf is easy. My wife and I took a day trip to Sonoma/Napa Valley and the Avis location to pick up a car was just a few blocks from the hotel. Although parking at any hotel is very expensive in San Francisco, this was offset by parking just a block away at the Stockton garage.

The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We requested via e-mail a high room and away from Powell Street. We were very pleasantly surprised upon check-in that not only did they acknowledge the request, but that that they were able to accommodate it as well. The bathroom was huge and clean. There is a mini-fridge in the room as well. Also, wi-fi is available in the room, which was important to us as we have a phone that is wi-fi enabled but without a data plan, meaning that we have access to internet and e-mail only via free wi-fi.

The front staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The cleaning staff did a fantastic job every day. The doorman, Cornell, was exceptionally professional, courteous and full of great suggestions as to what bus to take, where to eat and where to visit.

One of the best things we did while planning our trip to SF was to buy a CityPass. It gave us unlimited use of Muni & Cable Car for 7 days plus admission to the California Academy of Sciences, Blue & Gold Fleet Bay Cruise, Aquarium of the Bay at Fisherman’s Wharf, the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) and the de Young Museum (which we chose over the Exploratorium). The CityPass is well worth the $69, but a really good tip for you is that if you purchase it directly from alcatrazcruises.com, for the same price you can exchange the Blue & Gold Fleet Bay Cruise for an actual tour of Alcatraz prison. Also, if you want to visit Alcatraz, book it in advance as you will probably not be able to get a ticket if you just show up to the ticket counter. It can sell out several weeks in advance.

We would definitely go back to the Orchard Hotel as the location was fantastic and the room and staff were impeccable.

Room Tip: High floor away from Powell Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

After doing a ton of research on Trip Advisor I decided to book with Orchard Hotel (it didn't hurt they had a room sale for the dates I wanted to stay). Aside from a few minor annoyances (noted below), we had a great time staying here.

Pros:
Location location - you're blocks away from Union Square and Westfield shopping centre, and there's a street car stop literally outside the hotel. Another bonus for us was the Walgreens a block away, as well as the Starbucks across the street from it. Convenience is a huge plus
Staff - all very nice. Front desk clerk cleared up an error that was made with my room rate on my reservation. We were always greeted with a smile and a hello whenever we got out of the elevator, and never had any issues or problems with anyone who worked there.
Comfort - rooms were big and spacious, the bed and sheets/pillows were very comfy (many naps were taken after shopping trips) and the bathroom was clean and definitely large enough for both of us to get ready.

Cons:
Noise - Walls seemed kind of thin, we could hear noises from the room beside ours. Also, there was this strange beeping noise that would constantly go off in the middle of the night. Definitely didn't come from our electronics, seemed like it was the walls or ceilings. Lots of street noise as well, even though we requested a quiet room.

Cost of parking - This was almost a dealbreaker for me, it's $45 per 24 hours and that's pretty steep. 4 nights there added $180 to our bill, but what can you do?


Overall I would definitely go back. It was nice actually being a few blocks away from Union Square, but close enough to walk down when we wanted to. It was a very pleasant time and other than the things I noted above, I didn't have any issues at all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwm_2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Location was excellent right on the tram network. The staff were very attentive and helpful especially as we had to drop off our bags in a hurry and take the hire car back. The doorman was the best of our whole trip and couldn't do enough for us. I do like the odd suggestion without being asked, especially with the limo to the airport at the end of our stay, which worked out cheaper than a cab.

The room was large with a view, very clean and well appointed with plenty of facilities. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a few leaving drinks in the bar. The barman and excellent service extended to the bar area and reception.

Can't think of any faults here, give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdixey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,321 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,719 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $206 - $450 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing