We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We highly recommend the Orchard Hotel”
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #14 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Once again TripAdvisor’s recommendations were spot on. My wife and I had a fabulous time staying at the Orchard Hotel. The hotel deserves its high rating.

Location Location Location- you're walking minutes away from Union Square, Chinatown and the Westfield shopping centre. The cable car stops right at the intersection of Bush and Powell, so access to Fisherman’s Wharf is easy. My wife and I took a day trip to Sonoma/Napa Valley and the Avis location to pick up a car was just a few blocks from the hotel. Although parking at any hotel is very expensive in San Francisco, this was offset by parking just a block away at the Stockton garage.

The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. We requested via e-mail a high room and away from Powell Street. We were very pleasantly surprised upon check-in that not only did they acknowledge the request, but that that they were able to accommodate it as well. The bathroom was huge and clean. There is a mini-fridge in the room as well. Also, wi-fi is available in the room, which was important to us as we have a phone that is wi-fi enabled but without a data plan, meaning that we have access to internet and e-mail only via free wi-fi.

The front staff was very friendly and knowledgeable. The cleaning staff did a fantastic job every day. The doorman, Cornell, was exceptionally professional, courteous and full of great suggestions as to what bus to take, where to eat and where to visit.

One of the best things we did while planning our trip to SF was to buy a CityPass. It gave us unlimited use of Muni & Cable Car for 7 days plus admission to the California Academy of Sciences, Blue & Gold Fleet Bay Cruise, Aquarium of the Bay at Fisherman’s Wharf, the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art (SFMOMA) and the de Young Museum (which we chose over the Exploratorium). The CityPass is well worth the $69, but a really good tip for you is that if you purchase it directly from alcatrazcruises.com, for the same price you can exchange the Blue & Gold Fleet Bay Cruise for an actual tour of Alcatraz prison. Also, if you want to visit Alcatraz, book it in advance as you will probably not be able to get a ticket if you just show up to the ticket counter. It can sell out several weeks in advance.

We would definitely go back to the Orchard Hotel as the location was fantastic and the room and staff were impeccable.

Room Tip: High floor away from Powell Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandPToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,882)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,462 of 2,882 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

After doing a ton of research on Trip Advisor I decided to book with Orchard Hotel (it didn't hurt they had a room sale for the dates I wanted to stay). Aside from a few minor annoyances (noted below), we had a great time staying here.

Pros:
Location location - you're blocks away from Union Square and Westfield shopping centre, and there's a street car stop literally outside the hotel. Another bonus for us was the Walgreens a block away, as well as the Starbucks across the street from it. Convenience is a huge plus
Staff - all very nice. Front desk clerk cleared up an error that was made with my room rate on my reservation. We were always greeted with a smile and a hello whenever we got out of the elevator, and never had any issues or problems with anyone who worked there.
Comfort - rooms were big and spacious, the bed and sheets/pillows were very comfy (many naps were taken after shopping trips) and the bathroom was clean and definitely large enough for both of us to get ready.

Cons:
Noise - Walls seemed kind of thin, we could hear noises from the room beside ours. Also, there was this strange beeping noise that would constantly go off in the middle of the night. Definitely didn't come from our electronics, seemed like it was the walls or ceilings. Lots of street noise as well, even though we requested a quiet room.

Cost of parking - This was almost a dealbreaker for me, it's $45 per 24 hours and that's pretty steep. 4 nights there added $180 to our bill, but what can you do?


Overall I would definitely go back. It was nice actually being a few blocks away from Union Square, but close enough to walk down when we wanted to. It was a very pleasant time and other than the things I noted above, I didn't have any issues at all.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwm_2355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Location was excellent right on the tram network. The staff were very attentive and helpful especially as we had to drop off our bags in a hurry and take the hire car back. The doorman was the best of our whole trip and couldn't do enough for us. I do like the odd suggestion without being asked, especially with the limo to the airport at the end of our stay, which worked out cheaper than a cab.

The room was large with a view, very clean and well appointed with plenty of facilities. We didn't eat in the restaurant but had a few leaving drinks in the bar. The barman and excellent service extended to the bar area and reception.

Can't think of any faults here, give it a try, you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank samdixey2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

The hotel was clean, the staff friendly, and the location can't be beat.

If visiting the city use the Muni. Get a 3 or 7 day pass. Ride the cable car at least once and then ditch it for the F-line, bus, train - anything. You'll save a lot of time.

Surrounded by diverse opportunities for a unique culinary experience.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnaaronmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

I always like staying at the Orchard! It's close to Union Square without being in the middle of the throng of tourists, and within easy walking distance to BART, Muni and pretty much everything else you would need.

We had an issue with our reservation that was booked through Booking.com (who wouldn't help us at all), and the reservation manager and the front desk manager did everything they could to make sure things were taken care of. The bar had a super friendly bartender named Jen that chatted with us, recommended nice wines and made the experience that much better.

The beds are very comfortable, the rooms are quiet and wifi is free (as it should be!) I highly recommend :)

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank screwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

We stayed here end of July/early Aug, as a family. We had two interconnecting rooms, one with a king bed and one with two doubles. As mentioned in other reviews here, the rooms are very comfortable, beds are very cosy and the hypo-allergenic pillows are the comfiest I have ever met. We chose this hotel really for its location - 2 blocks from Union Square, right on the edge of China Town, and close to all the transport links for getting everywhere else. The staff are very friendly and efficient, door staff especially coming forward with suggestions of places to go, nice bars to visit etc. We didn't eat at the hotel - we did have a breakfast at Sears, as per one of the reviews here and that was very good, but we preferred the Cafe de la Presse (more expensive than Sears which is saying something) as they offer a good range of French bakery as well as the American classics for breakfast. We loved the tour of Alcatraz, do take the audio tour - it is truly excellent even if you don't normally like audio tours, and we were lucky enough to be there on a day when they had an ex-inmate giving a talk about life in the prison.
If we come back to San Francisco, we would stay here again.

Room Tip: We had rooms on 6th floor, could still hear the street noise although not intrusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MumTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We were very pleased with our recent stay in the Orchard Hotel. Rooms are spacious with very comfortable bed. Bathroom was larger than average with walk in shower and very nice toiletries. Hotel was spotlessley clean and in a great location for Union square, shopping etc., although it is situated at the top of a hill. There is a trolley stop close by. Front desk staff and especially concierge were very helpful and pleasent. We would certainly stay here again. Tip: Fantastic breakfast in Sears two blocks from hotel. Enjoyed tour of Alcatraz and pier 39.

Room Tip: Room with King bed had nicer bathroom than one with two queens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#32 of 230 in San Francisco
3,760 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#17 of 230 in San Francisco
5,360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,476 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $176 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing