We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is great, Fisherman's Wharf is not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 5, 2006

Like a previous reviewer, my family came for a short visit to San Francisco while spending the majority of our vacation time in beautiful Lake Tahoe. Having not visited the Fisherman's Wharf area for many years, the primary shock was finding the dirty, cheesy state of the wharf. Homeless folks and other unique characters along the streets caused us, my young daughter in particular, to be uncomfortable. But within that disappointing aspect of the neighborhood, we found the Holiday Inn Express a wonderful place to come home to. The hotel seemed quite new and sort of boutique-like in its decor. Rooms and public areas were quite clean and the complimentary continental breakfast was much above average for "budget-style" accomodations. Staff was friendly and always helpful.

The rooms were smallish, and probably not large enough for 4 people, and our room was probably one of many without any view whatsoever. Thankfully we chose this hotel for easy access to the cable cars and other things on our "to do" list. Valet parking was $32.00 per day (before taxes). I felt our car was fairly secure in that lot, however the hotel elevator takes anyone down to the parking area unsupervised.

For our personal tastes, we will likely try a downtown hotel next time we come to San Francisco, not because of the hotel but because of our personal discomfort in the wharf atmosphere. Finding a good rate may be difficult, but location is important to us.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank delledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,605)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,078 - 2,084 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2006

this hotel was as well presented as a 4 star friendly staff. The rooms are just perfect and well kept. Even though we were on a main road we hardly heard any noise or even from other rooms. the breakfast was really good although just the usual toast croissants fresh fruit coffees teas cereals but plentiful. Fully reccommend this hotel. The holiday inn is just a few minutes walk away where there is a Dennys but is in such a good spot for all food outlets and the pier.

6  Thank julieturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2006

We stayed here for one night on a short side trip we took to San Franciso while we were staying at Lake Tahoe. (Good Points) The hotel is located right near the wharf area which would be a plus for most people. It is only a short walk to the cable cars and trolley. The hotel is new and shows no wear and tear yet. The breakfast is the typical Holiday Inn Select breakfast which I believe to be one of the best around. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful. They put out fruit on the counter in the afternoon.

(Needing improvement or that which you may want to be forewarned of) We needed two rooms. The one my son and his friend stayed in was a typical two bed room of adequate size. The one my wife and I stayed in was really small (477 I think). It reminded me of some of the smallish european rooms we have stayed in. It was adequate, but should not have been priced as high as the others. Parking your car here is 32 dollars a pop for one night. I consider that too high even for a large city. I believe you can park it cheaper at some of the local lots. Neither room had a fridge or a micro. As this is a new hotel I would have expected this to have been included. I do not think there is a pool for the kiddies, but I believe you can use the Holiday Inn pool a few doors down.

Would I stay here again? Yes

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank sheltercove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2006

We stayed at the hotel from the 22nd August, the facilities were as described on the website, the room was spotless, the free internet access was very useful, the staff were friendly and the service was good. The location was excellent, there are plenty of things to do locally and the hotel is easily accessible for public transport or to walk to the rest of san francisco (mind the hills!!) i would definitely stay there again, the only thing i would say, is make sure you go for the complimentary breakfast early as it gets busy later on, which we found out due to jet lag!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
7  Thank Tea_Bird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

Although we stayed in the sister hotel above Denny's we found it to be of a good standard. The rooms were kept very clean and the coffee/tea facilities were generously replenished. The entrance through a badly lit car park could potentially be tricky & the management should be aware of this - increased lighting & more visible security at night would give more peace of mind. Some reviewers have questioned the quality of surrounding nearby restaurants, but Holiday Inns can hardly be held responsible for this. We would have no hesitation in staying here again. It was generally good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stuartbuxton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2006

We can only agree with the last couple of reviews. We booked this hotel based on its reviews in tripadvisor and its location. We really liked it: great location with good public transport connections for the rest of downtown, the rooms are modern and clean, beds are great, bathroom is excellent, breakfast is okay, staff is nice and helpfull. I do not for the life of me understand those people who complain about the location. Anyone who informs himself before going to SF knows that Fisherman's Wharf is a tourist trap. Big deal. If you don't want to walk the Pier or see the tourist shops, just head in the other direction. Or book a hotel in another part of town. We did not see any homeless people or beggars while we were there. We took the cable car in the evening to the restaurants in North Beach, came back late at night, no problem. This part of SF felt like our home neighbourhood, we did not feel unsafe or felt that we had to look over our shoulder. Definitely a good place to start your discovery of beautiful San Francisco.

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Mouske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2006

the best holiday inn express eveeeeer! Not exactly great praise, but it sums up this hotel.

All the national chains and two of the major independents -- Argonaut and the Tuscan Inn (even though its technically a Best Western) are all within a few blocks of each other -- its hotel heaven -- so location probably isn't as importtant as it usally is.

Amenities count more. So, if you value a free wine reception at 5 and a complimentary Financial Times, the Argonaut is for you.

We thought a mini suite at $150 was for us, so we stayed here, The name is a misnomer -- the "suite" is really a fair size room, but with a frige, sink, and microwave.

The hotel is new, and there are nice touches. The lobby is designed well and attractively and is actually nicer than the Marriott. The breakfast buffet is at the high end of the cheap category; usual continental items plus hot danish, but no made to order pancakes like the redidence inns, for example.

the back of the hotel backs up to the F line street car, and you can hear it, but just barely. if thats an issue maybe ask for a courtyard room.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,278 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $179 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing