We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Free Breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #43 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2009

Although there are many hotels in the Fisherman's Wharf area, we chose this hotel because we really like the Holiday Inn Express chain and have stayed in many throughout the US. Besides the great location, I guess the biggest draw would be their incredible free breakfast - not just the standard cereals, but scrambed eggs, bacon, etc. Considering we found the restaurants in the area to be fairly expensive, this was definitely a money saver and a nice way to start the day. As to be expected, though, the eating area was always very crowded. Our mini-suite was somewhat disappointing, rather small, compared to others in the Express chain we've stayed at. At night the room was quiet even though the daytime traffic was noisy. Service was friendly. All in all, a very nice hotel. A tip for riding the cable car at the turnaround near the hotel - we went later on in the day and there was hardly a wait. Also, we'd recommend the Night Tour at Alcatraz. Booking online well in advance is a real convenience.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LovesDogs5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,670)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,916 - 1,922 of 2,670 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2009

We were travelling in a largish group - 7 adults 3 kids and the hotel did their best to ensure we were all on the same floor with rooms as close together as possible. Staff were very accommodating. Unfortunately we were only in San Fran for a couple of nights but could not fault the accommodation nor the city......San Fran is a great destination would definitely stay longer next time and would definitely stay back at Holiday Inn Fisherman's Wharf

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carr_Mob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2009

This is an above average hotel near Fisherman's Wharf. This hotel (Holiday Inn Express, opposite the Hyatt and Marriott) should not be confused with the Holiday Inn. The Holiday Inn Express is a modern, clean hotel that has a quick check-in service. I nearly stayed downtown but I'm glad I didn't - Fisherman's Wharf is the area to stay in if visiting San Francisco as a tourist. The room was very quiet even though the room faced North Point Road. If I went back to San Francisco I would choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fun2travelCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2009

Visited the Holiday Inn Express 4/24 - 4/28. Overall, we were happy with the hotel. The location was perfect for us - close to the wharf and local transit. The hotel itself is very nice looking with a modern decor. Our room, single king bed, was more than adequate. Maid service was good. The breakfast was decent for a hotel complimentery breakfast. There was a good selection to get your day started - juice, coffee, tea, milk, cereals, toast, bagels, yogurt, bananas, eggs (either scrambled or omlette which seemed to be prepacked and microwaved), bacon and/or sausage. The hotel was full on the weekend and the breakfast bar was quite busy at times. I felt the hotel did a great job of refilling things and we never had to wait long for anything. We always also managed to find a table for our group of 4.

There were a couple of minor things we noted. While the hotel looked great, it is very basic and didn't have any nice little "extras". I thought it would have been nice to have coffee/tea service in the lobby area throughout the day, not just until 9:30 am - we've had this at other Holiday Inn Express hotels and basic type hotels such as Quality Inns, etc.

Some aspects of service could have been a little better as well. I wanted to have a tea in my room early one evening. I had forgot to take a milk back up to the room in the morning - tea with powdered whitener just isn't that great. I had hoped that the front desk could get me a milk - the breakfast room was just a few steps away - but they were unable to help as their "house man" was not on duty. While I was waiting at the front desk an older man approached and indicated that they had just returned from their day out and their room hadn't been cleaned. The gentleman at the front desk indicated that he "couldn't understand how that could happen, it had never happened before". He asked the guest if he was sure he didn't leave his Do Not Disturb sign on the door. The guest replied he was sure he hadn't. The front desk clerk then proceeded to tell the gentlemant there was nothing he could for him as the cleaning staff were gone for the day and again, the house man was not in. The front desk clerk didn't offer anything to the guest for the inconvenience - he just restated he couldn't understand how that could happen. To me, surely someone could have gone up and emptied the garbages and at least gave them clean towels?

Also, don't forget that parking is very expensive, as is pretty standard with wharf area hotels. We didn't have a vechicle but noticed that the valet parking was over $40 per night.

If we returned to SF, we wouldn't have any hesitation staying at this hotel again as any issues we had were really quite minor.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DebinthePeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2009

Great place to stay and they serve a sumptuous breakfast! Well connected to tourist attractions.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
Thank sharkterritory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2009

I stayed here for 3 nights with my wife, and I really liked it.
Location is great, on Fisherman's Wharf.
The room was pretty big, with free Internet access, and a regular TV. There was no refrigator, but there were ice vending machines in the halls.
Service was ok, but they didn't offer to help us with our bags (we had a lot of luggage) when we arrived. They did have the room available a couple of hours before check in time, which was great for us.
I really recommend this hotel. I really liked it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin_B___9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2009

What a pleasant suprise. We had read mixed reviews about this one but we were happy. The location is fantastic, close to everything. You can walk to get the ferry to Alcatraz, to see sea lions at pier 39, to the cable car, to the crooked street and a bus stops just near the hotel to the city or to the baseball park. The breakfast was fine, yes it was crowded but we always got a seat for 5 and the food had never ran out when we were there. San Francisco is an expensive place to eat so great to fill the kids up before heading out. Front desk were helpful and able to tell us about buses etc that we needed. Room was bigger than we had expected.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trene37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#54 of 231 in San Francisco
2,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf
#28 of 231 in San Francisco
426 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $216 - $520 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing