We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,851)
Filter reviews
2,851 results
Traveler rating
987
1,318
418
78
50
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
987
1,318
418
78
50
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fisherman's wharf hi express free breakfast great location the breakfast area yogurt family suite cable car within walking distance ghirardelli square around the corner would stay here again f line per night stayed here for nights valet parking two blocks
Filter
Updating list...
1,072 - 1,077 of 2,851 reviews
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a family vacation here and liked the quality and cleanliness and location to fishermans warf. Great place to stay. They even helped me call visa to get a huge hold taken off that normally would take 2-3 days. My only negative was the booking phone number I called. I thought I was getting a fold out couch with 2 beds but it didn't fold out.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Hello thanks so much for staying with us and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We cant wait to see you again at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Can you leave your heart in San Francisco? Does a moonlit walk on the waterfront evoke nostalgia and romance? If your answer is a hopeful yes, and you want to be near Fisherman's Wharf, the Holiday Inn Express might be your stop, especially if traveling with family.

Location: Situated very close to several trolley and bus stops and conveniently near a supermarket plus restaurants and the wharf area. Surrounded by other hotels. View is okay and mostly city street. Rooms are about 200 Sq.Ft. to 270 SF. Lobby is basic and gets crowded during breakfast. Other times there is plenty of room to relax. No pool and limited amenities.

Room: TV plus beds and clean bathroom. Nice but nothing super fancy. Enough room to fit 4 people but we always get 2 rooms (1 for our 3 kids and 1 for parents).

Breakfast: Standard complimentary Holiday Inn breakfast. Eggs okay, waffles, sausages (a bit salty but kids loved it), toast, juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal, milk, coffee. Pay attention to the time. If you show up at peak breakfast time, lots of people trying to eat at the same time. There are tour groups so they tend to eat around 8-9 am so keep this in mind.

Value: We've stayed at the regular Holiday Inn, Marriott, the Sheraton (across the street) and a couple of boutique hotels nearby. If you want to spend more $$$ for a few more amenities (i.e., pool and hotel restaurant), go to the Holiday Inn, Sheraton, or Marriott nearby. If you plan on wandering all over the city and spending some of your time in the room (mostly for naps and sleeping), save the extra $$ for a good meal and cab fare. A a relatively frequent traveler to San Francisco, we've found our family spending most of our time away from the hotel. We've alternated between driving to SF or flying. The advantage of driving is that we save of airfare. The disadvantage of flying is we pay for parking everywhere.

Kid's Museum: Now that the Children's Museum has relocated closer to the Wharf and is just a trolley ride away, the value of this hotel went up :)

Room tip: Avoid rooms in the middle. The courtyard looks into... nothing.
Date of stay: August 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2014

Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay again

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the HI EXP Fisherman's Wharf for four nights during mid-June 2014. Our visit was leisure based,a family of four adults on vacation from Europe in California and this was our first stay. Our flight from Paris arrived late lunch time and after passing the formalities our taxi dropped us off at the hotel for the middle of the afternoon, roughly a 30 minute drive from the SFO airport.

Check in was rapid and we were given a room on the third floor facing towards Beach Street and the piers by the sea. The check in area was small so it paid to chose your moment to use it. The room was fine and adequate for four persons although a little more space would have been nice. Access to the room was easy and straight forward via the elevators although being lazy we didn't check the stairs! The breakfast was standard HI EXP fare and quite ok. We were happy with the quality. Although the breakfast room was quite large it did get very busy after 08h30 so the earlier you got there the better, but since we were still partly on European time, an early visit at 07h30 was no problem.

The staff were friendly and helpful any time we needed help. The big advantage of this hotel is its location - it's really perfect for exploring Fisherman's Wharf - approx 10-15 minutes walk along Beach Street from Pier 39 (Eastbound) and 10 minutes or so Westbound to the cable cars at Hyde. There are enough places close by to eat to cater for all tastes and appetites. For down-town you can pick up the tram (vintage ones are great) and in 10-15 minutes you are there although attention it doesn't always seem reliable.

Conclusion a great place to stay for Fisherman's Wharf and a decent hotel for its class - I can recommend it.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nblanche, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi Stephen B,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your recommendation. Please come and visit us again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

First hotel in US trip and probably the best (3 night stay). Only really drops points for location as I would have preferred closer to the city centre - but it is great for the Warf and the old style trams which are a must. Free wifi was brilliant (this was the cheapest hotel of our stay and the only one to offer this to our surprise)
Rooms were immaculate - we tipped a couple of dollars each day rather than at the end of the stay (a tip which we learned on local breakfast tv). Bathroom products great and lovely fluffy plentiful towels. Very comfortable bed and I am extremely fussy. Fab free breakfast where you really could eat as much as you wanted. I thought it was a good selection and certainly set us both up for the day really well. Sleep quality slightly reduced due to us having a group of young girls in the room next door - they were a little loud but not rude or any trouble - there was some kind of school trip there and they were a bit excitable - but all very well behaved.

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
2  Thank Shropshire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nblanche, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2014

Hi Shropshire2014,

We are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate all the positive feedback and the recommendation. Please come and visit us again next time you visit our lovely city by the bay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was our family's first trip to SF. We had wonderful time over there. But when we arrived at another hotel after left this hotel, we found out that we left an small luggage in the underground parking lot. We called the front service desk and security right away, but NO one provided any help!!!

I am 100% sure that we left the luggage beside our car but we forgot to load it into the car before we drove away. However, they DID NOT want to check it for me and just said nothing was there.

Anyone would load strange luggage into their car? I don't think so.

Luckily there is only clothing in that luggage.

Date of stay: July 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Connie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts on the stay. I am so glad you had a great stay. I do appoligzie that you forget some luggage when you packed your car while departing and sorry that there aret times we cannot find that needle in a haystack. Well I do hope to see you again and safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews