We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location and included perks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #54 of 236 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and included perks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

I had to book a room for a weeknight at the last minute through Priceline, and saw that this hotel was available at a good price. I have had a great experience in the past with Holiday Inns (especially the Expresses), so I decided to book this one.
I was not disappointed. Even though it is right next to the regular Holiday Inn, it is a completely separate building, and you can tell from the moment you walk in that it is a much newer hotel.

The common space downstairs past the check in is spacious (that is also where breakfast is served) and the hallways were wide and well lit.

We were only there for the evening and breakfast, but the hotel seemed quiet at night until I saw how many people were actually there in the hotel having breakfast the next morning. The rooms must have been over 85% occupied, but the previous evening you would not have guessed that from the noise level.

Breakfast is nothing to write home about but its a nice perk for families and other travelers. The included free wifi is always a bonus.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Hans H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying as well as posting your thoughts on the stay. Cant wait to see you again at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    753
    1,066
    347
    69
    41
See reviews for
762
839
85
109
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Had a family vacation here and liked the quality and cleanliness and location to fishermans warf. Great place to stay. They even helped me call visa to get a huge hold taken off that normally would take 2-3 days. My only negative was the booking phone number I called. I thought I was getting a fold out couch with 2 beds but it didn't fold out.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello thanks so much for staying with us and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We cant wait to see you again at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Can you leave your heart in San Francisco? Does a moonlit walk on the waterfront evoke nostalgia and romance? If your answer is a hopeful yes, and you want to be near Fisherman's Wharf, the Holiday Inn Express might be your stop, especially if traveling with family.

Location: Situated very close to several trolley and bus stops and conveniently near a supermarket plus restaurants and the wharf area. Surrounded by other hotels. View is okay and mostly city street. Rooms are about 200 Sq.Ft. to 270 SF. Lobby is basic and gets crowded during breakfast. Other times there is plenty of room to relax. No pool and limited amenities.

Room: TV plus beds and clean bathroom. Nice but nothing super fancy. Enough room to fit 4 people but we always get 2 rooms (1 for our 3 kids and 1 for parents).

Breakfast: Standard complimentary Holiday Inn breakfast. Eggs okay, waffles, sausages (a bit salty but kids loved it), toast, juice, fruit, yogurt, cereal, milk, coffee. Pay attention to the time. If you show up at peak breakfast time, lots of people trying to eat at the same time. There are tour groups so they tend to eat around 8-9 am so keep this in mind.

Value: We've stayed at the regular Holiday Inn, Marriott, the Sheraton (across the street) and a couple of boutique hotels nearby. If you want to spend more $$$ for a few more amenities (i.e., pool and hotel restaurant), go to the Holiday Inn, Sheraton, or Marriott nearby. If you plan on wandering all over the city and spending some of your time in the room (mostly for naps and sleeping), save the extra $$ for a good meal and cab fare. A a relatively frequent traveler to San Francisco, we've found our family spending most of our time away from the hotel. We've alternated between driving to SF or flying. The advantage of driving is that we save of airfare. The disadvantage of flying is we pay for parking everywhere.

Kid's Museum: Now that the Children's Museum has relocated closer to the Wharf and is just a trolley ride away, the value of this hotel went up :)

Room Tip: Avoid rooms in the middle. The courtyard looks into... nothing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you stay again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Nazaire
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We stayed at the HI EXP Fisherman's Wharf for four nights during mid-June 2014. Our visit was leisure based,a family of four adults on vacation from Europe in California and this was our first stay. Our flight from Paris arrived late lunch time and after passing the formalities our taxi dropped us off at the hotel for the middle of the afternoon, roughly a 30 minute drive from the SFO airport.

Check in was rapid and we were given a room on the third floor facing towards Beach Street and the piers by the sea. The check in area was small so it paid to chose your moment to use it. The room was fine and adequate for four persons although a little more space would have been nice. Access to the room was easy and straight forward via the elevators although being lazy we didn't check the stairs! The breakfast was standard HI EXP fare and quite ok. We were happy with the quality. Although the breakfast room was quite large it did get very busy after 08h30 so the earlier you got there the better, but since we were still partly on European time, an early visit at 07h30 was no problem.

The staff were friendly and helpful any time we needed help. The big advantage of this hotel is its location - it's really perfect for exploring Fisherman's Wharf - approx 10-15 minutes walk along Beach Street from Pier 39 (Eastbound) and 10 minutes or so Westbound to the cable cars at Hyde. There are enough places close by to eat to cater for all tastes and appetites. For down-town you can pick up the tram (vintage ones are great) and in 10-15 minutes you are there although attention it doesn't always seem reliable.

Conclusion a great place to stay for Fisherman's Wharf and a decent hotel for its class - I can recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nblanche, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Stephen B,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco. We are glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay. We appreciate your recommendation. Please come and visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

First hotel in US trip and probably the best (3 night stay). Only really drops points for location as I would have preferred closer to the city centre - but it is great for the Warf and the old style trams which are a must. Free wifi was brilliant (this was the cheapest hotel of our stay and the only one to offer this to our surprise)
Rooms were immaculate - we tipped a couple of dollars each day rather than at the end of the stay (a tip which we learned on local breakfast tv). Bathroom products great and lovely fluffy plentiful towels. Very comfortable bed and I am extremely fussy. Fab free breakfast where you really could eat as much as you wanted. I thought it was a good selection and certainly set us both up for the day really well. Sleep quality slightly reduced due to us having a group of young girls in the room next door - they were a little loud but not rude or any trouble - there was some kind of school trip there and they were a bit excitable - but all very well behaved.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays

Helpful?
2 Thank Shropshire2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nblanche, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Hi Shropshire2014,

We are very glad to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. We really appreciate all the positive feedback and the recommendation. Please come and visit us again next time you visit our lovely city by the bay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

It was our family's first trip to SF. We had wonderful time over there. But when we arrived at another hotel after left this hotel, we found out that we left an small luggage in the underground parking lot. We called the front service desk and security right away, but NO one provided any help!!!

I am 100% sure that we left the luggage beside our car but we forgot to load it into the car before we drove away. However, they DID NOT want to check it for me and just said nothing was there.

Anyone would load strange luggage into their car? I don't think so.

Luckily there is only clothing in that luggage.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Connie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello, Thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts on the stay. I am so glad you had a great stay. I do appoligzie that you forget some luggage when you packed your car while departing and sorry that there aret times we cannot find that needle in a haystack. Well I do hope to see you again and safe travels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We had stayed at the Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf before and we were worried the express would not be as good. We were pleasantly surprised. We recieved a warm and friendly welcome from the reception staff at check in, in fact all the staff were friendly and chatty. The breakfast was included and was really good. There was even a pancake machine that cooked as many pancakes as you wanted. The food was all fresh and tasty and there were paper bags available if you wanted food to go. The hotel is well located within easy walking distance of Fishermans Wharf and pier 39. The room was huge, clean and comfortable. I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PogleSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hello thank you so much for staying with us as well as posting your thoughts on the stay. I am so glad you found it excellent and we look forwrd to seeing you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#52 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 936 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#33 of 236 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#46 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,242 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#39 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 681 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#58 of 236 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing