We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, Great Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #55 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Nice hotel, Great Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2008

We just spent 3 nights here and had a great experience. Two blocks from the Wharf excitement, but far enough from the noise to sleep at night. The rooms were clean, so were the hallways. Front desk staff was very helpful and we enjoyed the free breakfast in the morning. More than enough choices for parents with two teenagers. I was able to use the internet and we printed out our boarding passes for free. Valet parking is pricey, though.

  • Liked — Location, Location, Location
  • Disliked — No restaurant in hotel, just cont. breakfast
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Meere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    817
    1,131
    370
    71
    42
See reviews for
815
890
89
131
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (384)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, Connecticut
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2008

We recently stayed at the Express on North Point Rd and we were very happy with the Hotel.
The rooms were very clean and decorated nicely. Although the rooms were on the smallish side they were more than adequate.
Breakfast was included: a hot buffet eg. omlets or scrambed eggs,sausage or bacon, cereals, fruit, bagels, breads, (a couple of toasters for the bread or bagels), coffee,tea,milk,yogurt,juices(apple,cranberry,orange) and some really nice hot cinnamon buns. We are early risers and the buffet opens at 6:30 which was perfect for our needs. We did come back once around 9:30 and the breakfast dining area was mobbed. Eat breakfast early!
The location of the hotel is perfect for visiting the Wharf area. It's a short walk (2 blocks) to Fisherman's Wharf. The Hyde/Beach cable car is also a short walk and is next to Ghiradelli Square so there's alot to do near the hotel.
There's a nice pub across the street from the hotel (Knuckles) that is part of the Hyatt.
We paid 187 a night but there may be better rates if we had more time to plan. It is located in a safe area to go for a walk at night. We went on a bus trip that returned late (9:30PM) and dropped off passengers around Union Square and the street people were out in force. I wouldn't want to chance a wrong turn in that area.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — view of the courtyard
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank PDWYERConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2008

Stayed here as a family of four. Nice big room, good bathroom and in a great location. Breakfast was good, wasn't too busy and staff were very friendly and helpful. Good value for money. Would definately stay here again.

  • Liked — location
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daisy61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2008

Stayed 3 nights for $89 per night, booked through Hotwire. Great rate considering normal rate was $230 from the web site. Hotel was in a great location within easy walking distance of Fisherman's Wharf. Requested a quiet room and was assigned one at the end of the hotel, facing one of the small courtyards. Breakfast was great - ample food and wide variety. Very happy with the facilities, internet (included in cost) worked fine. In summary, I'd happily recommend this hotel if you get a deal but not at the normal room rate, as you could probably get a better class of hotel in the area for same or slightly more.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank antrimman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales, UK
Level Contributor
123 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2008

Our first time in San Francisco, decided to stay in the Wharf area and from TA hotel reviews decided to stay at Holiday Inn Express.
We stayed for 4 nights, the room was very clean and well supplied. The breakfast fare was very good and plentyful.
It is well situated to use the public transport system either to the Wharf / Pier 39 / Ferry Buildings area or up to Union Square area.

Did not have a car but noted valet parking @ $37 per night which appeared to be the norm for SF.

The staff were very helpful.

I would use this hotel again when returning to this area.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness, breakfast.
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Movingmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, TX
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

My husband and I just returned from a trip to SF and stayed 3 nights at the HI Express FW. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The hotel was extremely clean, had a wonderful breakfast, the staff was nice and the location was perfect. We stayed at another hotel in SF for the first part of our week (wanted to stay in two different areas while we were in the city) and this one far exceeded the other hotel. The breakfast was especially helpful and saved us at least $20-$30/day. The staff was very friendly and helpful; even helped book our shuttle bus ride back to the airport. The location was perfect because it was one or two blocks from the main attractions; close enough to be very convenient yet not too close to all of the hustle and bustle. Overall, this was an excellent hotel and I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank KB08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
147 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2008

It was about what you would expect for this area - overpriced, parking ripoff, noisy accomodations. I thought the room was small and the beds worn out. I did like the breakfast which is a real time & money saver if you are traveling with kids. I asked a couple of questions at the front desk and found the staff apethetic at best. The Marriott across the street is nicer, and if you get the room/park combo it's about $10 less expensive per night.

Stayed June 2008
Helpful?
Thank cinncitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#50 of 227 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#52 of 227 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,996 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Reservation Counter and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing