We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, clean but overall "Average"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #52 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location, clean but overall "Average"”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

First off I'd like to mention that the hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Big Thank you to Brandy for checking us in and sending us in the right direction upon arrival! "Average" but clean hotel with typical, self serve breakfast offerings in the mornings. Great location to everything San Francisco has to offer. Parking is a bit expensive but if you're creative enough you can park for free on the street in the evenings and day park in a local lot for half the price.

Room Tip: Choose a room facing in rather than on the street as road noise can be a drawback.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Breeze8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco 3Breeze8 and we will make sure Brandy, our front desk staff receive your comment about her. We are glad that Brandy gave you the right direction upon arrival. You are correct, parking is expensive here in San Francisco because there is only limited parking space here in San Francisco. We have also upgraded to have wifi in our guest rooms as well.

Hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    848
    1,162
    382
    71
    45
See reviews for
846
919
89
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I have been increasingly impressed with Holiday Inn Express' offerings and the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman's Wharf is no exception. While looking for rooms for the weekend we noticed that the Holiday Inn Express was offering a great rate compared to all of it's neighbors and even included free wifi and breakfast, so we took a chance.

We were pleasantly surprised with everything! We checked in at 9am and even though checkin was at 3PM they gave us a room without any hassle. As a member of IHG rewards they gave us a nice little welcome bag with some moisturizers and stuff to enjoy and told us that the early checkin and a late checkin wouldn't be an issue.

The room was very clean and seemed to be relatively newly renovated. The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was great. Our only complaint was that the doors slam pretty hard so whenever you were in the room you could hear doors slamming up and down the hallway, day and night. Furthermore, we were pretty close to the elevators and we could also hear those 'dinging' day and night... Kind of annoying at 6am when you are trying to sleep.

Breakfast was extremely good for being included with the room rate. Our only complaint was that the breakfast was extremely crowded, and people around free food our not polite... In fact it was mayhem, like hyaenas on a carcass! Whenever new bananas were put out people were lunging at them. People were jockeying (read pushing and shoving) for position at the pancake maker, the bread toaster ovens and at the beverages. It was really out of control. It was also difficult to find seating as the area really was over crowded. God bless the people that have to clean this area up after the breakfast closes because I'm sure it looks like a war zone. All of this said, it was good and it was free so it did serve it's purpose.

The best part about the hotel is that it is extremely convenient to Fisherman's Wharf, less than a 5 minute walk.

Overall it was a pleasant stay and a great value!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Chris U and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us. Thank you for giving us such a detail feedback on your stay and we will be happy to check you in if we have a room available. We always take care of our IHG reward members with gift bags and offer late check out. We will also forward your feedback in regards to the breakfast situation to our General Manager and our Director and Food and Beverage so we can improve both the quality and the quantity of our breakfast area. Hope next time when you visit us again it will be completely different and we will worth a 5 star instead.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The hotel had a nice location, was clean and the room was ok.

It really isn't anything special, however the location is very nice and close to most tourist attractions. We were there only one night.

We tried to get a cab to take us to dinner, when we checked in we were told they had a bellman that would flag the cab for us. That wasn't the case, and it was definitely challenging to get a cab on a very busy and awkwardly situated corner.

If you want to be right in the thick of tourist mecca fisherman's wharf, then this is the spot for you.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Laura S and our location is convenient, located right at Fisherman Wharf. We apologize that you had a hard time trying to get taxi and the misappropriate information you received when you check in, but because we are not a full service hotel, we do not have a bellman facility, no restaurant and a concierge desk at our property. But our front desk will be happy to call taxi for you as well. Hope to see you next time again when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunkeld, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

The location near Fishermans Wharf is the best! Close to the tramways, tour operators an d restaurants. Rooms are a good size do not have fridge or coffee facilities, but are clean. Breakfast is serve yourself, but satisfactory. Staff are helpful, if busy, and keen to assist. We loved the location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear John P.

We would like to thank you for being a valuable guest with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Unfortunately, our standard rooms don't have a fridge and microwave included but if needed one can always be requested. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location and were able to to take full advantage of it. We hope to see you back on you're next trip to San Francisco.
Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was not only my favourite during my recent trip to California but also a delight to stay at.
Upon arrival, we checked into a room located on the second floor; however when we walked into the room, we noticed that the bathroom sink was dirty. At no bother at all, we were relocated to a room on the seventh floor, and everything was fine. There was plenty of space within the room, the bed was comfortable and the shower was very powerful (which I like).
Breakfast was good - we did have to queue for the hot food on some days, but it was worth it as it was so yummy! Breakfast is mainly continental, but scrambled eggs, sausages and bacon were also available. I would also treat myself to a blueberry muffin each morning :-)
The reception staff were really helpful; particularly Howard, who was also very friendly.
The hotel is conveniently located near to Pier 39 and Fisherman's Wharf (about a 5 minute walk). Next door to the hotel is a bike hire centre, which we used to hire bikes to cycle across Golden Gate Bridge (which I thoroughly recommend to do if you visit San Fran).
Overall I think this hotel is great and I would definitely recommend to stay here if you're looking for a hotel which is of good value and located near to Fisherman's Wharf and Pier 39.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank fabulous_lottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear fabulous_lottie
We would like to thank for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Thank you for all the positive feedback it lets us know that we are accomplishing our goals "creating hotels guest love". We hope to see you in youre next visit to San Francisco.
Thank You Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Just got back from a weeks stay at Fishermans Wharf HI. A great location for touring Fishermans Wharf. The room was very clean - not huge but had it all. The morning breakfast was quite good, but seating is still an issue - just not enough tables. Twice we just grabbed fruit and yogurt and headed out the door. The only thing I missed was a room fridge. Being there a week, it would have been nice to have a cold beer, wine or a snack waiting for you when you came back. They are available for $20 a day. I am betting there are other hotels in this area who offer them for free. Might stay here next time, but would look around a bit before I rebooked.

Room Tip: Had an iside room with no view, but it looks like the alternative might be a street view, which migh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tommy777GW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shirleygu, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Dear Tommy777GW,
We would like to thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Express & Suites as you're preferred choiced to stay during you're visit to San Francisco. Being located right at the middle of Fisherman's Wharf it gives our guest a great start on getting to know the city. We truly apologize for the incovenience of the amenities in the room. We hope to better server you on you're next visit.
Thank You
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

One walking block from Fisherman's Wharfs restaurants,shopping,maritime museum,ferries,cable car stop, tour departures etc. Well presented & comfortable room with excellent free wifi, mini kitchenette fridge,microwave and daily breakfast included. Had a room on the 4th floor with a view of Alcatraz. Reception staff extremely helpful & friendly

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Tam59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Tam59 and thank you for giving us such a good rating. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay here with us and you were treated as a VIP from our staff. We strive best to provide the best customer service to all our guests. Also we have upgraded to have wifi in all our guest rooms as well. Hope to see you again next time when you visit San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, IHG, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing