We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #40 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Clean, quiet, great location. Very good breakfast and very helpful staff. Would stay here again for sure, it was a short walk to Lombard street, telegraph hill and the wharf, great place to stay. I was very impressed with the room and our one night there was pretty inexpensive compared to other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJA44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco CJA44 and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are glad that you like our breakfast and our staff are all friendly as well. We have upgraded ourselves to have wifi in room as well. Hope to see you again next time in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,604)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,055 - 1,061 of 2,605 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed here for three nights in August and found this to be a great hotel. Very friendly staff, free wifi, ample breakfast in buffet. Room was modern, clean and tidy. Perfectly situated for Wharf Area, Alcatraz, Golden Gate Bridge, Pier 39, Sightseeing Bus Tour. All in all a great stay here and sorry to leave.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Andrew P and thank you for rating us as a great hotel. We just upgraded to have wifi in our guest rooms and our friendly staff and clean rooms would like to invite you back to San Francisco next time you travel to San Francisco. Hope to see you soon.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Stopped at the Holiday Inn, Fisherman's Wharf in June on our recent holiday to the USA - Lovely little hotel, free wifi in lobby and contental breakast! Ideally located, most things were within a close walk and the stram stop is just around the corner....! 5 minute walk to pier 39 and Alcatraz ferry.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krazychick05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Krazychick 05 and we are glad that you loved San Francisco. We are very convenient to pier 39 and Alcatraz ferry as well. We now also have wifi in our guest rooms as well. Hope to see you again in San Francisco.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

This hotel is in the perfect position for accessing all the tourist spots of Fisherman's Wharf on foot and then all the tour buses and boats you could ask for. The hotel it's self could certainly do with an upgrade. The shower/bath in our room had brown spots from age, the carpets and other furnishings were ok. The best part was that we could open the window and let some fresh air in. There is an old tram that goes past but not too frequently and did not bother us. We were on the 3rd floor and the vending machine did not work though the ice machine was fine. Reception seemed ok but not really able to cope well with the number of people arriving on many buses or with foreign speaking clients. The breakfast, if you can get near it, is adequate and typical of these hotels, though when busy, needs a little more staff to keep replenishing the supplies. I would stay here again if I had too but it would be nice if refrigerators were available in the rooms and not for an extra charge $20 a day! Location is what really sells this hotel.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank longtimetravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco longtimetravellers and thank you for the wonderful feedback for our hotel. We will be undergoing renovation at the end of the year and hope this will be able to bring you back to stay with us again when you visit San Francisco. We will also forward this feedback to our F&B manager so we could add more staffing in our breakfast area.

Thank you again
Holiday Inn Express Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

In a 5 week trip to the US with husband and 3 kids this was the worst hotel we encountered. It looked great on the internet but did not live up to the photos and reviews by a long, long way. The room we were given was dull and depressing and led out onto a concrete "yard" which looked like a staff smoking area. No views (except walls). Totally depressing. I complained and was told they were full and could do nothing - and to be honest they did not seem to care. To cheer everyone up we decided to take the kids to the pool. We then discovered it was located next door in the Holiday Inn. This is quite a walk down the street but off we set only to discover that is was closed for "maintenance" - in early August, peak season???? Back to the desk to complain. I was offered free breakfast or a refund..but told I would be unlikely to find a room as Fishermans Wharf was busy everywhere. Found a fabulous room 10 minutes later at the Radisson just a block away - beautiful hotel, caring staff, lovely heated pool close to the room and (wait for it) about $400 dollars cheaper for 4 nights!! Staff at the Holiday Inn Express simply didn't care and I was delighted to move out and leave. When I popped in 3 days later to chase my refund (which I did get in the end) I heard a lady complaining about waiting an hour in line for a very basic breakfast and saying she would never stay there again. I had a very lucky escape and I would not recommend staying here - avoid!

Room Tip: Check you will not be allocated the ground floor room with the smokers yard outside the window....
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank juragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2013

Dear juragirl. We apologize that you had such a bad experience while you were staying with us and i apologize on behalf of the team. Unfortunately, most of our rooms are interior rooms which do not have a view.We definitely value every customers and would like you to reach out to us and talk to any of our manager on duty to invite you back and maybe next time we could try our best to serve you and preblock a room for you. Once again, we apologize for your unhappy stay.

Thank you
Holiday Inn Express Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at lots of HI / Express properties and this is THE WORST !! The rooms are shabby, dirty, very old, and have not been updated for years. The carpets were filthy, the paint was pealing off the wall, etc. When I inform the front deck about their policy of fixing thing or that part of your stay is Free, the answer I received was ...." this is a very busy property". Not sure how that fits in with the problem, except to conclude that they are just taking in the money, and do not care about the client.......... They have all the business that they can handle.The breakfast was minimal, too many people scarfing down the food and no replenishment or service people to clean the tables. A real turn off. This is not the quality one expects from a HI property. GO AT YOU OWN RISK. I wrote a note to put this is in writing for the hotel manager, Mr. Johnson, and it took him 30 plus day to reply, and then only a"white wash" and said that I should return to see the changes. He should be more interested in his clients and the property, than he is. VERY POOR MANAGEMENT. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED !!!

Room Tip: From my experience, look at the room BEFORE you pay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joseph Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brainchip, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2013

Hello,

I am so sorry that you did not have a great stay with us. I do hope you reach out to call any MOD in order to speak about how we could have accomadated you better during your stay. Until then Safe travels and warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I Choose This Hotel Because of Its Location. What A Great Hotel. Clean Rooms And Very Comfortable. Breakfast In The Morning Was Just Right. Walking Distance To FishermansWharf. I Would Not Hesitate To Stay There Again.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coccire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stephen l, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for staying with us at the Holiday inn Express Fisherman Wharf San Francisco Coccire and we are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will see you again in San Francisco.

Holiday Inn Express Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
2,278 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $176 - $529 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing