We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #54 of 235 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Near all the action!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This was our 2nd trip to SFO and our 2nd stay at the Holiday Inn Express Fisherman's Wharf. We choose it for several reasons.
* Location: 2 blocks North is all the action on the Wharf. 2 blocks South is the Powell/Mason cable car turnaround. 4 blocks West is the Powell/Hyde cable car turnaround. So, there is something to do either within walking distance, or you can get on a cable car and be in Chinatown, Union Square, etc. in just a matter of minutes.
* Breakfast: Their selection is superb, and it's just downstairs waiting for you. Pancakes, Eggs, Cinnamon Rolls, Fruit, Cereals, Biscuits & Gravy, Toast, English Muffins, Bagels, Juice, Coffee, Milk, Yogurt, and the list goes on. Having this service in the hotel is a time & money saver. You don't have to find a restaurant, stand in line, or add anything to your travel budget.
* Rooms: It's not the Waldorf but it's all you really need. A bed, television, bathroom, closet, inn room safe, etc. Everything was neat, clean and well kept.
Other positives were that the front desk staff is friendly & helpful. There are 2 computers in the lobby so you can check email or print boarding passes, and free Wi-Fi in the lobby.
If I had to find a fault it would be that I wished there would have been a mini-fridge in the room.
If we should ever go back to SFO for a 3rd time, we will chose this hotel again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BadCoKCMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    766
    1,079
    352
    69
    41
See reviews for
774
851
85
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We stayed here 3 nights in mid-June after visiting the National Parks. We are HI Priority Club members & were given a 4th (top) floor room overlooking the Bay--these rooms are noisy during the day.

Our room had 2 Q beds, closet w/safe, bath w/tub, TV, tele, c/m, table/chairs & A/C -- no balcony if that matters to you.

Free breakfast is offered --pancakes/cereal/eggs/breads/coffee/juice -- seating is limited for the size of the hotel. Valet garage parking is offered @ $45/night. The hotel is a close walk to Fisherman's Wharf, Pier 39 & 33 (Alcatraz boat), Ghiradelli Square, cable cars.

There are several hotels on this same street, but we were happy with our choice.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrugalMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel because we were within walking distance for so many of the attractons and restaurants on Pier 39. The hotel was very comfortable, clean, quiet and had a nice breakfast bar. The only thing that we missed in our room was a microwave and icebox.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Joannewebbavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Johnsbury, Vermont
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Great spot near Fisherman's wharf. Clean rooms, good service at front desk, OK breakfast for a free one, but gets tiring if you are there for more than a few days. Would like to see Wi-Fi in rooms too, not just in lobby. Would also like to see an onsite bar to relax at after a hard day of sightseeing. We usually had a night cap at Knuckles across the street.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Great location (within walking distance to cable cars, Alcatraz and public transport) this hotel had a good hot breakfast and a friendly staff. The views from our small room were nothing to speak of, and the bathroom was rather small and dark, but for what we paid and expected, this place fit the bill completely.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thsteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for two nights. We had an interior room so our view was the other part of the hotel, but the bonus was how quiet it was at night. No street noise. It is $45 for the valet parking, but you can come and go as often as you want. The valet employees were excellent. The front desk employees were very helpful with our questions. You do need to get down early for breakfast, because the breakfast area does fill up.
The location is excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HarleyFamily073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This Deco building houses a standard HIE and that is what you get. The room was clean and linens freshly laundered. we slept well, it was quiet as the room looked into an internal courtyard.

The breakfast was a bunfight - many people not enough seating we chose the banana to go option!

The position of this hotel is perfect for exploring San Francisco - Trolley and trams nearby, the Ocean less than five minutes walk, the tour bus pick up just down the road, Historic ships pier five minutes away, some great restaurants within minutes.

The parking charge -ouch!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank briel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear briel,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I am pleased to know that our location suited your needs and you found our rooms clean and comfortable. I apologize for the inconvenience our breakfast area may have caused. As we continually strive for excellence in customer service, we maintain the ideal of keeping guest satisfaction as our top priority. This feedback will be shared with the appropriate people that can help us make a difference to ensure our valued guests' needs and expectations are met in the future.

Thank you again for your review and I hope to have an opportunity of welcoming you back again soon.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#51 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 948 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#32 of 235 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,843 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,338 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#61 of 235 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing