We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location to base yourself from in San Fran!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location to base yourself from in San Fran!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at HIE Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco for 3 nights in Nov 12. Location was great, close proximity to restaurants, transport and sights. Rooms were small and our room was on the first floor with a cable car track right outside our window which was noisy at times, but didn't run throughout the night which was good. At least we had a view of something - our friends looked out their window to a brick wall!!

Beds were very comfortable, room was clean. Free wifi only available in the lobby which was inconvenient but we survived!

Free breakfast was great, hot cakes, cereal, bacon, eggs - good way to start a day if sight seeing.

Guest laundry was located at the neighboring Holiday Inn hotel which was a pain especially due to our busy schedule. We'd make the trek over to Holiday Inn to do laundry, wait for a machine to become available and have to wait for it wash otherwise we had to leave the hotel and come back 30 mins later to collect the washing.. big time waster!

Expensive compared to other hotels we used throughout our stay, but location is good.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    1,103
    357
    69
    41
See reviews for
792
875
87
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chapin, SC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our family of 5 stayed here for 2 nights in one of the family "suites." It was HUGE, clean and very comfortable. I agree that the pillows were not the best, but our beds were very comfortable. We were on the top floor and did hear some street noise, but it was not too bad. We usually turn the AC unit's fan on and leave it on for noise when we sleep. The breakfast was standard fare, but decent. It gets crowded, so I would go early if possible. We were able to walk to everything we wanted to do and had a great view of the city out of our window. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank horsemom29036
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix az
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I've stayed at Holiday Inn Express three times now, and will stay again. The hotel is consistently excellent- clean, courteous, and caring. Location unbeatable. The only down side is room size, which is a bit small even for a big city hotel. It is on par with the more expensive hotel brands such as Hyatt and Sheraton, but at a much friendlier price. By the way, when you go to a big city, don't bring a car. It will cost a FORTUNE to park it. San Fran is a walking/mass transit paradise- if you need a car, walk a block from this hotel to Avis or Hertz and rent one for the day. Holiday Inn Express Fisherman's Wharf is a winner!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelmanaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls
Level Contributor
570 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

This was our first visit to San Francisco and we knew nothing about the city layout. This hotel is so conveniently located to both the F line streetcar and the Powell-Mason Cable Car that it makes transportation to the center of the city a snap.

The hotel itself is immaculate. From the lobby to the rooms the housekeeping staff is superb. The front desk is operated by very friendly and very helpful staff. The daily breakfast is abundant with many choices. We traveled with a child, who is a picky eater, on this visit and he was always happy with breakfast.

We will definitely stay here again on our next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank journeymaid48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Recently returned from a week long stay and have nothing to say but thanks. Thanks for making my stay perfect. I have nothing to complain about, yes the elevators were slow at times, but the hotel is only 4 stories, so we utilized the stairs during peak times. The breakfast was plentiful daily, and is open from 0630--930 daily. If you are expecting the lines to be short at 9am, then I suggest you get there early. We were there normally around 7, and the lines were minimal. Everything is walking distance, from the Embarcadero, to Littly Italy, to Chinatown. Many things to do and see. I will definately book my next stay with the this hotel when visiting Fishermans Wharf!

Room Tip: Stayed on the second floor, no outside noise heard at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony_Gomez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

The HIE Fisherman's Wharf is perfectly located just off Fisherman's Wharf in San Francisco. It is convenient to local transportation and tourist sites, but is also on a quiet street, providing a nice respite after a day of sight-seeing. The room was beautifully maintained and the bathroom was clean and bright with excellent water pressure! I was worried because our room was next to the elevator, but with our door closed, I couldn't hear a thing. The breakfast in the morning exceeded my expectations with eggs, bacon, sausage, and biscuits in addition to what you would normally expect in the way of cereal, bagels, toast, yogurt, cereal, fruit, and cinnamon rolls. The workout room was great and easily accessible from the lobby. The front desk staff was extremely helpful in giving us transportation advice. The only complaint I have is that you had to go to the lobby to get a wireless signal, but the overall experience was so wonderful. Good price for the location. Great experience.

Room Tip: Ask if there is a room with a view available. I had a view of other rooms, but I could see a peek o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shalottlove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights at this hotel during Spring Break 2013. The hotel is PERFECT for families that want to see the Wharf, everything was a short (5-15 minute normal walk) distance from this hotel. Wonderful, fresh crab and sourdough 2 blocks away and we all agreed we would highly recomment this hotel for the price. The staff were EXTREMELY nice, especially Brandy, considering how busy they were with 2 large school groups staying at the hotel also for Spring Break. Our room was bottom floor in the back (#180) and we did not have any problem with noise at all.
We like HIE because of the free breakfast, it was typical like all the others which is enough for us and there was plenty, even with the large groups. The only bad thing was I am gluten-free and not much for me offered at breakfast, but there is a Trader Joe's a block and a half easy walk away that had everything I needed cheap. My teens loved to snack on the fresh sourdough large loaf ($5) I bought each morning at the factory 2 blocks away. We road cable cars ($14 daily pass or multi days for $28), road the antique electric trolley cars (you use the same pass), and went to Alcatraz ($30pp).
The kids thought the Segway tour we did with Electric Tour Company, near Ghiradelli factory, was the best. We had Jasmine as our guide and she made this 2-3 hour tour a blast. You drive on the streets as a group and my kids said "even mom did good" and considering I have have back surgery in the past I was surprised how easy this was. Jasmine gave lots of history and fun facts to our group and even stopped for a quick slice of pizza when traveling through the Italian part of town. It was expensive for us, $70pp, but was well worth the time if this is something you have never done before. We thought about using bikes, but at $50pp for that, we decided to splurge. And again, only 6 blocks from the hotel so again hotel is perfect location.
We had to fly into Oakland airport from where we live. I had read about using Quake Super Shuttle and it was perfect. Again a little pricey, $180 round trip for family of 4, but you schedule before you leave home, they were extremely prompt, and drive you around the LONG traffic jam on the Bay Bridge and got us to our hotel within 30 minutes. Same for the trip back. We saw others using BART and trolleys, and then dragging bags several blocks, and that takes twice as long. Quake was worth the convenience.
Overall, great trip. We booked air and hotel through Allegiant because that is what flew direct for us. With teens, they can make these walks without problems and get to enjoy some of the wierd street people at the same time!!

Room Tip: We had no noise issues with room #180 on bottom floor in the back. Sidewalk and street right outsid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dlrc4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#41 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,545 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#61 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Odigeo, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing