We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Francisco by the Wharf”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #51 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“San Francisco by the Wharf”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

We spent the last 4 days of our holiday in San Francisco and stayed at this hotel. We arrived late afternoon and checked in to our rooms, we had requested that the two rooms be next to each other but we were unable to have this even though we were on the same floor. The hotel is in a great location just two blocks back from the Wharf and about a 10 minute walk from Pier 39. There are lots of souvenir shops in this area with all the tacky souvenirs to remember your time in San Francisco.

Our room had a double bed and the room was quite small but still comfortable as we were only there to sleep. Our room had a window which looked onto a concrete courtyard area with all the other rooms windows overlooking the same view. Our kids in the other room had two double beds and had a view over the street which led down to the Wharf.

The staff were polite but not as personable as at other hotels that we stayed at. They were very happy to look after our luggage after we checked out on our last day, as our flight was not until later in the afternoon.

Breakfast was included in the room rate and started at 6.30am until 9.30am.. There are a few tables in the lobby and some in the actual breakfast room. There was quite a good selection for breakfast such as cereal, bagels, hot food, eggs, waffles and pancakes. Each day there was something different for the hot food. Tea and coffee and juice was also available and youghurt and small cartons of milk. You did have the choice to take breakfast back to your room, which we took some of the yoghurts and milk so we could make a coffee in our room later in the afternoons. Make sure you are there early for breakfast as they close the doors at 9.30 sharp and you cannot get in to get the food.

The hotel is located close to the stop for the Hop-on Hop-off bus which allows you to tour around the city. We purchased the 48 hour ticket which also included a night tour. Make sure you have a jacket and hat if your on this tour during the cooler months as San Francisco is quite a windy city and it can get quite cool if you are sitting up stairs on the double decker buses.

We spent New Years Eve at Pier 39, listening to the Sea Lions because we could not see them in the dark!!!! We watched the fireworks and then headed back to the hotel.

There are plenty of reataurants in this area as long as you like seafood..... Funny seeing as it is called Fisherman's Wharf!!! There are some different types of restaurants like Johnny Rockets and In-Out Burgers and we also had dinner at a very nice Italian restaurant.

Ghiradelli Square is about 3 blocks form this hotel and is a nice way to spend a morning having a nice hot coffee and eating yummy chocolate. There is also a stop for the Cable Cars near the square also. If you are going to go on the Cable Cars make sure you get there early also as the ques get very long and the wait is just as long. We unfortunately missed out on the experience.

All in all this hotel was a good choice for us as it was located close to all the attractions we wanted to see. Alcatraz Wharf is about a 20 minute walk from it. You cannot see the Golden Gate Bridge but are able to get it on the Hop-On Hop-Off bus or hire abike from one of the many hire shops and ride there. Lombard St is also close by and you can walk there if you don't mind a walk up a little hill!!!!!

We would recommend this hotel for the location and would stay here again if we were travelling to San Francisco.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SampaiJumpaLagi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    1,156
    382
    71
    45
See reviews for
840
916
89
142
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked this hotel as a secret hotel on Hotwire and were pleased with what was chosen for our stay. We were in San Francisco for 4 nights all together and the location of this hotel was perfect. The staff were friendly when we checked in and let us know about breakfast. The breakfast was great as it was included in the price and we filled ourselves up every morning. The room was spacious and clean and we slept ok. The only reason I have given the hotel 4/5 is due to it being a little noisy in the mornings. Overall really pleased with our stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
78 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This hotel is two blocks from the attractions of Fisherman's Wharf. Easy to walk around to all the many things to do in San Francisco. You must go to Alcatraz if you come here, but make sure you get tickets in advance.
Very standard HIE quality with nice beds and free breakfast. We actually never ate the breakfast because the lines were too long and there was no more seats. Many breakfast places around the hotel so not an issue for us.
The bathroom in our room could use some updating. Curtain was older and the shower head, which HIE is known for, was an older model. Plus, flushing the toilet was a little weird. It would flush once and then you had to wait a couple of minutes before flushing again. I don't know if this is some San Fran water conservation thing, but it was weird. Or, maybe I like the sound of a flushing toilet too much...
The staff was real nice and helped us when we asked questions.
In all fairness, we did not spend a lot of time in the room because there is so much to do and the weather was perfect.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjgatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Breakfast was good. Unfortunately wifi is only available in lobby, probably it's only downfall. Otherwise it was great. Would stay here again. Easy location for touristy vacation. Close to supermarkets etc.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb2503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porterville
Level Contributor
120 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

the hotel is 2 block from Fisherman's wharf and is within walking distance to all of the attractions in that part of SF. The room was small and had no fridge or microwave. Bed was comfortable and the front desk was pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was standard HIE and VERY crowded both mornings. The room met my expectations for a place to sleep and wash up.
2 things to note if you're considering staying there.
1 - free wireless internet is in the lobby only. Rooms had wired internet but that's not much help if you're using a tablet. I could not find any non password networks nearby.
2 - Parking is valet only at $45/day plus 9% city tax. Add 12% room tax and the published rate of $126/night is very close to $200/day.
I use HIE over 100 nights per year for business, this is not a business traveler's hotel. It was pleasant and safe, and for San Francisco a decent value. However, next time we go we'll try the Holiday Inn one block away. Prices are about the same, but rooms are wireless and you can self park.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lkm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear lkm55,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. I apologize that we're not able to exceed your expectations in a few areas. Your comments are important to the success of our organization, as we rely on you, our guest, to tell us how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs.

We value you as our guest and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed here about a year ago. The clerk I had was on the brusk side. It is like a mega hotel with lots of rooms and they chose to give me one with the worst view in like some dark dusty corner. The rooms were typical Holiday Inn Express style, immaculate, nice, normal new appliances. My dark, dusty, unpleasant corner room was quiet. I felt like they put me in the closet room. I was insulted. Besides this I didn't really need anything during my stay. I asked about laundry and there was a place to do laundry at their sister hotel, a block or two away, the Holiday Inn. Yes, there is a Holiday Inn and a Holiday Inn express right next to each other. I found this laundry situation very complicated and was very annoyed. The free breakfast was normal and fine. However, when I was checking out one of the brusk clerks was hassling this elder, senior person trying to check out as well. There was some issue with them getting their deposit back ( you have to be rough with the clerks there!). I get a little surprised when I see service people hassling the very old, but that is how this hotel was, at least about a year ago. You gotta watch it there.

Room Tip: I don't think it will help. They will do what they want to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PenelopePortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear PenelopePortland,

Thank you so much for your candid review of our hotel. I am deeply sorry for the unacceptable service you have received from our staff. I assure you that this is not the norm you should expect from our hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, canada
Level Contributor
94 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. Its not fancy, but it offers good value in a great location. If you have stayed at a HI Express before, you know what you are going to get. Nice, but dull rooms, a pleasant lobby and a good breakfast buffet. WIfi is only available in the lobby. The great thing about this hotel is the location. Its about a 5 minute walk to the waterfront - and what a waterfront it is! By the way, the waterfront is interesting in both directions. Things get much less touristy and more real going towards the bridge along the waterfront. Of course, there is fishermans wharf, with all the wonderful shlocky tourist stuff that is all around. But, you can walk the waterfront promenede for miles and miles in each direction and, we rented bikes from Blazing Saddles and biked from here over the Golden Gate bridge and back. This is one of the best bike rides we have ever done. Its not very hard and you are on a lane seperated from traffic 95% of the way. Do it - you will love it. There is a historic street car line F (not a cable car, but that is very close by too) that runs right by the hotel all along the water and up Market street (main shopping area) the to the Castro area. Its 2 bucks a ride and very convienient. Budget tips include not taking your car here. At 50.00 per night to park (at the hotel and everywhere else nearby) you are way better off to cab or BART here in advance then rent a car for the day - if you need it. Dont eat anywhere near the real fishermans wharf as the chains there offer average food at high prices (we like Pescetore, nearby the hotel). I signed up for groupons a month before we went and got some good deals. We took 3 free walking tours from San Fransisco City Guides and they were great. They are an hour and a half long and are delivered by volunteers in conjuction with the SF library. There is so much to do here. I must mention the free antique arcade museum - Musée Mécanique - at the waterfront. Its really fun - bring some quarters and play games from 100 years ago. This hotel is a great base to explore a great city. We got a good deal on the room on Hotwire. Enjoy!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrucefromVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#45 of 228 in San Francisco
1,981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, IHG, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing