We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location but the rooms could use an upgrade” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #51 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great location but the rooms could use an upgrade”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Pluses: great location, great staff, nice common areas, and free breakfast (although the menu is the same from day to day). Minuses: the rooms could use a deep cleaning- carpet, walls, curtains appear dirty with old stains; wi-fi only available in the lobby; tv in room needs to be upgraded to a flat screen. Good stay but with all the hotels available in the area, not sure if I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sally04olive09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear sally04olive09,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good points of your stay. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed our location and liked our staff. It is our goal to consistently provide superior service and accommodations at our hotel and your comments regarding cleanliness are very much appreciated. This is one of the ways that let us know where we need to improve.

Thank you for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    793
    1,103
    357
    69
    41
See reviews for
792
875
87
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Cesme
Level Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We spent 6 nights in this hotel during our visit to San Francisco. We were very happy with the standards of service and cleanliness. The location is great for the Wharf areas of the city and handy for the trams. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

Everybody will have the exact same review, so ill try to simplify it...

Pros:
- Excellent location, cannot be beat. 5 minute walk to the water and less than 15 minute walk to most of the piers (including alcatraz tours).
5 minute walk to restaurants, souvenirs, bus/trolley routes, bike rentals.
- Extremely nice staff. Really great and well-managed.
- Free breakfast
- Free internet (wired) in room.

Cons:
- No wifi available at all. This is totally unacceptable. I have a $40 plug-in device that turns wired internet into wifi, the hotel should seriously look into this ASAP. WIFI is only in the main lobby.
- Breakfast is free, but eating area fills up quickly. Just get a tray and eat in your room or go to the Hollywood Cafe or Dennys (both attached to building).
- Overnight valet parking is $45+ tax. Expensive, but its not cheap anywhere. The anchorage lot is about 100 yards away and is $32/night.

If you are planning on seeing the wharf or travelling by train/trolley (cheap and easy), there is no better hotel under $250/night.

Room Tip: Depends on what you want, ask for an inside courtyard room for quiet but ZERO view. Ask for a water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank corpedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
204 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel while I competed in a triathlon in San Francisco. I do not know what, but there was just something missing from this hotel compared to what I was expecting. I have used the Holiday Inn brand regularly. I have stayed in some of their 70's throw-backs and some of their newest hotels. This one falls in the middle. The staff were friendly, the room was clean, tidy and comfortable. However, given this hotel's location next to some cool bars and restaurants it just felt stale. That said it has a good locale, close to Fishermen's Wharf, Pier 39, etc. plus it has good public transport links to other parts of the city.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GightRunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Greg G,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding cleanliness.

However, We’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding customer service and our bed. We will look into this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

The Holiday Inn is a great base for exploring the city for the first time. Bedrooms were clean & had everything we needed. Breakfast was good if a little crowded & confusing at points, but covered most standard options.

Nice area & lots of amenities close by. If you are looking for somewhere to stay that you don't plan to spend tons of time in (too busy exploring the amazing city) this is the ideal choice. It was really quiet & got a well needed great nights sleep every night.

Staff were all very helpful & friendly. All in all a great place to stay to explore San Francisco.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicola T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a good location for exploring fisherman's wharf. The cable cars are a short walk. We found the hotel to be very clean and tidy. The staff were very helpful and polite. Bad points: the wifi only really works in the lobby area. There are no views whatsoever. The breakfast buffet is limited and a bit tasteless, you do have the option of going to the Hollywood cafe which is next door and probably one of the best breakfast joints in all of san Francisco.

Helpful?
1 Thank ollymiles
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stay Here and search no more. I got a headache trying to decide on a hotel.The room was clean and spacious, including the bathroom. Ask for an outside room if you want any view at all, even then it may not be that great. The inside rooms face each other yikes! The breakfast area was a crazy place. The food was good and there was plenty for the crowds. Just be prepared to wait in line a while. The location is perfect, about 1 1/2 blocks to the F-line streetcar and 2 blocks to the main fisherman's wharf location. The only thing is that if you take Bart from the airpot you are still miles away from this hotel. You then need to take a cab ($10) or the F-line ($2). THis is what we did and I shished we had just paid the$18pp for the shuttle. Cabs are always out front and will negotiate fares to the airport! This hotel was agreat value and I got a fantastic deal on hotwire mystery hotels. All the other chain hotels on are this same street so no one else is closer to the action!

Room Tip: Request a top floor (4th) floor with outside views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SIMFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#41 of 230 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#42 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#61 of 230 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing