We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Average hotel basic great if your always out exploring great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #54 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Average hotel basic great if your always out exploring great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on a multi trip with virgin holidays great location everything is around you it is a quite hotel considering its location friendly helpful staff average rooms basic but if your just getting up an shooting off out exploring its fine an your right in the middle of the action amazing restaurants all around defo stay there again love San Fran :)

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMangoTree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear MrMangoTree,

We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests and it makes us happy to read we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to our establishment. Once again thank you for the wonderful and kind words of praise.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    1,042
    339
    66
    41
See reviews for
731
828
83
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Saddle River NJ
Level Contributor
300 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Come outside and you are right near the pier. My only disappointment is that our room faced a alcove where all rooms share this space and you don 't see outside. Sad
However, the breakfast was good room was very clean, and amenities, were lovely down to the fact we asked for a longer checkout and a luggage stay in their concierge room which they accommodated for us.
Take the shuttle they recommend it was cash at 17 per person.really worth it in this crazy city.
they do add on a tourism associations district tax to your room rate, we did just find booking it on line with holiday inn.

Room Tip: stay on the top floor they do accomodate a lot of families, with small kids strollers etc, you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fitterSaddleRiverNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
400 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

We found the Holiday Inn Express in Fisherman's Wharf to be an excellent value and a great place to stay. The room was very clean which is my #1 priority. The room may not be huge, but you shouldn't be spending alot of time in your room during a vacation anyway. It was certainly large enough for my wife and I. The king bed was comfy. All of the staff were very friendly. The breakfast was more than adequate. The location is amazing.

If you're a Priority Club member, you get a free bottle of water at checkin and also late checkout (14:00) on the last day. Nice touch.

Room Tip: 4th floor, Non-Smoking King was very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JetBlueDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at the hotel for 6 nights and was very impressed. Front desk staff, especially Ady were super friendly and helpful. We booked the basic room and then we realised that they don't have a fridge so I would recommend upgrading if you need one. Rooms are quite spacious and had free cable Internet. Free breaky is a bit hectic but after some cereal, toast and eggs you are ready to start your day! Great location with only a 3 minute walk to Powell -Mason cable car line. Take this line instead of Hyde as loads less people. Get a Muni passport from the kiosk ($28 for a 7 day pass) near the cable car turn around and you are set. Saves you loads of $$ and its $6 each way otherwise! Safeway is two locks away and loads of restaurants close by. Another plug is for Plugz bike hire right next door to the hotel. OMG, I know it sounds strange to ride an electric bike but believe me you will be laughing as you go up the hills to the Golden Gate Bridge while everyone else is puffing. $10 more per day but its so worth it.
You can pay loads more for other hotels in the area but just remember that your going to be spending most of your day out n about. We got a super deal on Webjet and felt like we got our $ worth.
P.s...Quake Super shuttle does door to door from the airport at $17 a head and ask them for a business card for the return which is $13 a person. No mucking about and not loads of stops.

Room Tip: If you need a fridge then go Junior Suite. Our room faced Beach Rd and you can hear general street n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Candi72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Me & my husband always try new place to spend our anniversary, 1st time in San Francisco, I booked 3 times and change until I decided to book in Holiday Inn because I trust them & I'm right the place was clean & staff were very helpful, it is near to everything, love to walk & enjoy the Fisherman's wharf, catch the hop on & hop off bus. I always stay in Holiday inn

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCgage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

It was my guy and I on a rare trip and he found this room last minute for a great price. We loved the location, walked to Ghirardelli Square, the Wharf, bicycle rentals! Fantastic free breakfast which shocked me because this hotel seems to have a large capacity!

He was terribly unhappy with the comfort of the bed (I give it a mark for uncomfortable but not horrible) and the gunshot-loudness of the toilet flush and bathroom fan (I am always grateful for a bathroom fan, so I'll take it!). My only complaint was the microscopic pillows and television-most name-brand properties have upgraded these items so it was surprising to have a decade-old box TV and tiny, barely there pillows.

The front desk could have been better staffed, we always had to wait , luckily everyone was very nice and knowledgeable . We learned next time we can take a door-to-door shuttle from SFO to the hotel for $15, only a couple dollars more than using the Bart and F-line!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Checked into this property late on a Friday night. Inquired about wi-fi for Priority Club members, and was told that it was available only in the lobby. Haven't stayed anywhere over the past few years (and we travel extensively) that do not provide wi-fi in guestrooms, especially if you're a member of their reward program.

As I went to draw the curtains, I noticed a pair of soiled socks on the floor, that remained there during our three night stay. The first morning, I purposefully left the curtains pulled in order that housekeeping staff may see and remove them, but no such luck.

Positives included the convenient location, knowledgeable front desk staff and bagels, cereal and fresh bananas for breakfast. Cons included the $45 per night parking fee, slow elevators (there are only two), the bed pillows that were either extra firm or so soft that it was as if there wasn't anything under your head, and the interior decor that was either in-your-face as in the common areas and the sleeping room that was drab and in desperate need of an update.

Would I stay there again? Probably not. But for someone looking for a great location at a average hotel, this just may be for you.

Room Tip: An FYI that the majority of rooms face other rooms due to the layout of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank awaywego123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear awaywego123,

Thank you for providing us with a very considerate review and thank you for staying with us. I am happy that you found our location to be convenient for your needs. I am very disappointed to read about your experience with the room accommodations you were allocated and if the Wifi connectivity was also a let down. Your comments will be forwarded to the ownership of the hotel to take into consideration for future upgrades.

Once again, thank you for your stay and I do apologize and regret that this impacted your stay with us.

Sincerely,

Pam G.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Tuscan
#29 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 stars 3,741 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#51 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#48 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#55 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 522 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Whar...
#35 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 stars 577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing