We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #51 of 233 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Salisbury, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

What a great location! Absolutely close to everything for a family! Tours were at that street corner, short walk to grab the cable car, about 2 blocks from the Wharf! The room was clean and had a nice view of Alcatraz... immediately below us was a street and parking area so not a picturesque view there but just sitting at night watching the lighthouse on Alcatraz was GREAT! The staff were so nice... we had planned to spend the last night up near the airport, but we decided to try to stay one more night.. NO PROBLEM.. they worked it out for us and helped us arrange transportation for early the next morning. The front desk staff was very very nice and extremely helpful...one even told us all we needed to know about riding the cable cars since it was our first visit...she rides them once a year just for the practice!! The continental breakfast was all we needed to start our day..really good, but do go early...tour people grab a few extras for their pockets I believe...here are two very important factors about this hotel: NO Bedbugs and wonderful lemonade in the lobby! We enjoyed our stay very much!

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room with a view of Alcatraz...if you like to watch a lighthouse in the fog as you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    792
    1,102
    357
    69
    41
See reviews for
792
874
87
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (374)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seminole, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
151 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

This hotel was in a great location. Walking distance to the wharf, which we spent a lot of time. We stayed for 2 nights. The rooms were nice with lots of pillows. It was a little confusing finding the main lobby as the area that our GPS took us USED to be the main lobby, it is NOW around the block. Fortunately, they had phones at the old location so we could call and get directions.

The one thing we did not like, was they do not offer wi-fi in the rooms, only in the lobby. They do have an Ethernet cable in the room, but the tablet we brought does not have an Ethernet connection, so we were unable to use it in the room.

The breakfast's are great. They include, hard boiled eggs, omelets, danish, bagels, pancakes, cereals, sausage or bacon (alternate days), cereals. So, not your typical continental breakfasts.

I really like the Holiday Inn Express chains, I just wish they would put mini fridges and microwaves in the rooms.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Locust Grove, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

We only were able to stay a couple days but this is one place we will come back to. Great location and close to everythng esp the muni line (transit system). You can get anywhere in the city just from out front if you want or just a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf piers and Ghiradelli Square. From the time we checked in (and they let us in a little early) the staff was very friendly and helpful. Got a room looking toward the wharf and it was clean and nice. Took us a minute with the TV remote because it was an older TV and you had to push the button to turn it on really hard but once we figured that, it was fine. The staff answered our questions any time (even though we probably got a little annoying asking so many) but they helped us with bus routes and places to eat and we thoroughly enjoyed speaking with them. I hate that I didn't get their names because I usually try to so I can give them props but they were all nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was a big plus to help us save money but it was also very good with plenty of choices... eggs, bacon or sausage (changes from day to day), cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy and a variety of beverages. It was very nice and clean area to eat with lots of room! We will be back!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ladybug881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Two family members and I stayed here for two nights in November on our way back to New Zealand from Europe and found the hotel to be excellent, the rooms were nice and clean and quiet, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was fabulous. The location was great, within walking distance to the famous Fisherman's Wharf and Alcatraz.
A great place to stay, would definately come back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 770david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights , from 18th Dec to 24th Dec and i would say it was a rather comfortable stay. It was just a few minutes walk to cable cars, fisherman's wharf, shops, eateries, restaurants and many different piers, making it very convinient indeed . The check in was relatively quick and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. They were always ready to share with us the must-sees and must-dos in the city and even patiently offered us many routes/transport that we could take to reach our destination. The room was relatively clean and free of any stench/insects or whatsoever. The only problem is that the furniture did look a TAD old however it wasn't such an eyesore as the beds were very comfortable and the room was rather spacious. However, i was also quite disturbed by the fact that you could hear the doors of other rooms slamming shut and even intermittently, you can actually hear the cable cars zoom right past the street next to the hotel. It was very bearable though (: We were surprised though by the relatively wide spread of choices for the breakfast, considering the fact that it was free. On the whole, it was a very pleasant experience in this hotel and i would consider coming back here if i were to visit San Francisco again !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bingeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlysville, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent six days 12/6 to 12/11 at the Holiday Inn Express Fishersman's Wharf, San Francisco and it was absolutely GREAT. Great staff, clean room, quiet, wonderful breakfast buffet and outstanding location to visit many great tourist attractions. I would stay there again in a second!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, a room in the back and it was sooo quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tad1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

You could spend more money and probably find a nicer hotel in the same neighborhood, but there is no need. The Holiday Inn Express had everything we needed for our week-long stay in SF. It is perfectly located, within walking distance to Pier 39, Ghiardelli Square, two cable-car rides and all the seafood places. We chose this hotel because it offered a buffet breakfast every day. It's the standard HIE breakfast; not too fancy or anything, but it sure beats shelling out extra bucks in the morning for the same type of food somewhere else. The room was good, but perhaps not the cleanest, especially when we checked in. We had a microwave and a fridge, a big plus. We did not use the microwave since it still had someone else's food splattered on the inside. It was never cleaned while we were there.

The beds were comfortable, we didn't notice any undue noise, and the staff was friendly. We used the exercise room almost every day: 3 treadmills, a bike and a couple other machines. It wasn't too crowded at 5:30 am.

The beds and the room, overall, were comfortable. The free wi-fi is available only in the lobby, which was a little annoying. There are two computers available and they worked well, too.

Overall, there is some room for improvement, but I'd book again.

Room Tip: The mini suite has a fridge and microwave.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Camundongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Camundongo,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherma...
#56 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 975 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
The Tuscan
The Tuscan
#41 of 233 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#44 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,537 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf ...
#61 of 233 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#77 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 3*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing