We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place with friendly staff and great breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Ranked #45 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 11, 2013

We only were able to stay a couple days but this is one place we will come back to. Great location and close to everythng esp the muni line (transit system). You can get anywhere in the city just from out front if you want or just a short walk to Fisherman's Wharf piers and Ghiradelli Square. From the time we checked in (and they let us in a little early) the staff was very friendly and helpful. Got a room looking toward the wharf and it was clean and nice. Took us a minute with the TV remote because it was an older TV and you had to push the button to turn it on really hard but once we figured that, it was fine. The staff answered our questions any time (even though we probably got a little annoying asking so many) but they helped us with bus routes and places to eat and we thoroughly enjoyed speaking with them. I hate that I didn't get their names because I usually try to so I can give them props but they were all nice and helpful. The continental breakfast was a big plus to help us save money but it was also very good with plenty of choices... eggs, bacon or sausage (changes from day to day), cereal, bagels, toast, muffins, cinnamon rolls, biscuits and gravy and a variety of beverages. It was very nice and clean area to eat with lots of room! We will be back!!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ladybug881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,578)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,236 - 1,242 of 2,579 reviews

Reviewed January 10, 2013

Two family members and I stayed here for two nights in November on our way back to New Zealand from Europe and found the hotel to be excellent, the rooms were nice and clean and quiet, the staff were very helpful and the breakfast was fabulous. The location was great, within walking distance to the famous Fisherman's Wharf and Alcatraz.
A great place to stay, would definately come back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 770david
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 6 nights , from 18th Dec to 24th Dec and i would say it was a rather comfortable stay. It was just a few minutes walk to cable cars, fisherman's wharf, shops, eateries, restaurants and many different piers, making it very convinient indeed . The check in was relatively quick and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. They were always ready to share with us the must-sees and must-dos in the city and even patiently offered us many routes/transport that we could take to reach our destination. The room was relatively clean and free of any stench/insects or whatsoever. The only problem is that the furniture did look a TAD old however it wasn't such an eyesore as the beds were very comfortable and the room was rather spacious. However, i was also quite disturbed by the fact that you could hear the doors of other rooms slamming shut and even intermittently, you can actually hear the cable cars zoom right past the street next to the hotel. It was very bearable though (: We were surprised though by the relatively wide spread of choices for the breakfast, considering the fact that it was free. On the whole, it was a very pleasant experience in this hotel and i would consider coming back here if i were to visit San Francisco again !

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bingeul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I spent six days 12/6 to 12/11 at the Holiday Inn Express Fishersman's Wharf, San Francisco and it was absolutely GREAT. Great staff, clean room, quiet, wonderful breakfast buffet and outstanding location to visit many great tourist attractions. I would stay there again in a second!

Room Tip: We were on the 4th floor, a room in the back and it was sooo quiet!
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tad1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

You could spend more money and probably find a nicer hotel in the same neighborhood, but there is no need. The Holiday Inn Express had everything we needed for our week-long stay in SF. It is perfectly located, within walking distance to Pier 39, Ghiardelli Square, two cable-car rides and all the seafood places. We chose this hotel because it offered a buffet breakfast every day. It's the standard HIE breakfast; not too fancy or anything, but it sure beats shelling out extra bucks in the morning for the same type of food somewhere else. The room was good, but perhaps not the cleanest, especially when we checked in. We had a microwave and a fridge, a big plus. We did not use the microwave since it still had someone else's food splattered on the inside. It was never cleaned while we were there.

The beds were comfortable, we didn't notice any undue noise, and the staff was friendly. We used the exercise room almost every day: 3 treadmills, a bike and a couple other machines. It wasn't too crowded at 5:30 am.

The beds and the room, overall, were comfortable. The free wi-fi is available only in the lobby, which was a little annoying. There are two computers available and they worked well, too.

Overall, there is some room for improvement, but I'd book again.

Room Tip: The mini suite has a fridge and microwave.
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Camundongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear Camundongo,

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing our hotel. We certainly do our utmost to make your stay comfortable and pleasant, so we are very pleased to note that you were satisfied with the level of service, facilities and the location of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to improve and continually provide the best experience possible. I would also like to apologize for any inconvenience the housekeeping services may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us as this assists us in continually improving the services and facilities we offer to our guests.

Once again many thanks for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel had a great location in Fisherman's Wharf, we chose this hotel due to its proximity to Pier 3 as we were booked in on a Hornblower Cruise for NYE. On check in, the staff were very friendly and amended our booking quickly as it had been reserved in the name of our friend.

The hotel was a little dated and although our room was spacious with a comfortable king-sized bed, the furniture and decoration did not look like it had been given any attention in a while. We had two lamps in the room that after being turned on when we arrived, would then not switch off when we wanted to go to bed. The view from the room was not great, we were facing in onto a courtyard with a view directly into another room.

Fresh filter coffee was available in the room, but the coffee machine was located in the bathroom which didn't feel very hygienic and although wi-if was available this was only in the lobby, not in the rooms. I was also disturbed during the night with the slamming of doors along our corridor.

Overall I think this was an average hotel and on my next visit to San Francisco I will look to stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFS83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2013

Dear SFS83,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. I'm very sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas. We welcome any opportunity to improve.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Ferdinand G
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I booked a hotel in san francisco for a night 25th dec - 25th dec with name holiday inn. I reached to the hotel and checked in comfortably. Around 11 pm someone knocked at the door and claimed its his room as he was holding the key with same number. In the middle of the night this is quite annoying and too disturbing. I said the person to check with reception and then after an hour when we are slept again then got a call from reception asking when we checked in etc etc. which i think is their responsibility of the hotel staff to know about rather disturbing the guest. In the morning, front desk wasted our another half an hour in trying to figure out all this and realizes that they accommodated us on the behalf of some other person and so will be charging our credit card even though it is paid to expedia already. This is such a big harassment to chose hotel via expedia and face so much of problems and disturbance. Hotel doesnt know themselves that who they are dealing with, not good enough even to verify the itienary of the guest. This is quite bad on the behalf of hotel as well as expedia to recommend such pathetic hotels. This is just the management part. On the facilities side, around 2 am the thermostat starting making noises after every few seconds and trust me any noise is disturbing that time. Hope expedia can help us to fix this bad experience and wastage of money

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank VikCeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear VikCeo,

Thank you so much for your recent comments. It is regrettable you were not satisfied with the service you received. I would like to address this with you further. I have sent you a private message to obtain more information about your stay. I look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Karen C
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Fisherman’s Wharf
Holiday Inn San Francisco Fishermans Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#47 of 230 in San Francisco
2,215 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Courtyard San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
San Francisco Marriott Fisherman's Wharf
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hyatt Centric Fisherman's Wharf San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf

Address: 550 North Point Street, San Francisco, CA 94133-1312
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Francisco > Fisherman’s Wharf
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#55 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#76 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: $188 - $571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether for business or leisure, reserve a stay at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites in San Francisco Fisherman s Wharf. At a top option among San Francisco hotels near Fisherman s Wharf, delight in a locale with easy access to attractions including: Pier 39, Ghirardelli Square, Alcatraz and Bay Cruise Ferries while cable cars nearby provide transportation to Union Square, Chinatown and Moscone Convention Center. Experience the Bay City from the comfort of our San Francisco lodging. Enjoy a complimentary continental breakfast at our downtown San Francisco, California hotel before exploring the area. At day s end, retreat to our San Francisco hotel and unwind in a spacious room appointed with our plush Simple Smart Bedding Collection and complimentary Wi-Fi. Upgrade to our San Francisco suites providing wet bars with microwaves and refrigerators. Complimentary amenities include local phone calls, a business center and a fitness center. Travel San Francisco and book your room at Holiday Inn Express Fisherman s Wharf hotel for unrivaled comfort and value. Check our specials for superb savings on San Francisco, California vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, IHG, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites San Francisco Fisherman's Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites San Francisco Fisherman`s Wharf
Holiday Inn Express San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Fishermans Wharf
Holiday Inn Express Fishermans Wharf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing